OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3711 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 61 to 65 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Quar Tet at TTDI  Smile May 10, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Steaks / Chops | Burgers / Sandwiches

I was so tired from the night before so I wanted to take a rest today. However, I have a friend who thinks that waking up late is so unproductive and he wanted to go to Penang for a cycleton in the afternoon. The fact that he made time to meet me on 1 May since I was busy on most of the other days meant that I had to wake up at 8 am on a public holiday just to go out for breakfast with him. Early breakfast is definitely not my usual practice but I had to it by force. Hence, I decided not to go so far till Yellow Brick House in Bukit Damansara but opted for somewhere I know like TTDI and searched for some coffee places in TTDI since both of us like coffee like crazy. 

As described by bloggers, the place has a very hippy feel to it, with pictures of rock star and abstract pictures on the wall. I felt like I have transported myself to the times of the 50s. There is also one cosy corner where there are a lot of old records. 

The counter for coffee is right smack in the middle. If we download the Quar Tet app in our phone, we can get 15% discount for an order of the day. 

My friend ordered the Salmon Bagel which is not bad although my friend said that the bagel at Yellow Brick House is much better. I am not a big fan of bagels anyway and am ok with any. The salmon is quite fresh too. 

I liked my Eggs Hemingway which was actually Egg Benedict which doesn't look that pretty with Hollandaise Sauce on top. But the egg is delicious as it really pops out. There were small pieces of baked potatoes around my eggs too. The 2 eggs are placed on top of muffins that are non-sweet, instead of what I thought earlier. There also 2 asparagus that came together. 

The Flat White is just normal for me. I guess I am not much of a Flat White person. 

I like the Raspberry Latte which has a tinge of raspberry infused into the coffee. 

Simply delicious and great place for a hang out with friends, dates or gatherings and reunions. I am definitely coming back for sure! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  raspberry latte,egg hemingway,salmon bagel
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 01, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM78

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Verona Trattoria Smile Apr 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta

We were supposed to go to Bistro A Table but when we went inside, my friend said, "Wow the price is VERY CHEAP!" (meaning too expensive). So I told him we could just go next door whereby the price is slightly cheaper and I already knew the price range of Verona Trattoria. 

My friend ordered the Spaghetti Olio (RM 37.90) which was quite delicious. The best part is that it is not as oily as how Plan B or any other place cook the olio. I do not know why people like to cook olio with oil overload. Anyway, the al dente way that they use here is incredible and it results in the spaghetti not being overly soggy or soft the way Asians normally cook spaghetti and pasta, overcooked. The bacon is also cut in small pieces and are not too oily or hardened like how some places cook it. 

I could not stand not ordering risotto even though I usually never order rice at night, especially at 9.30 pm as it is unhealthy to ear rice at such a later hour. I finally decided to throw caution to the wind and ordered the Cheesy Risotto (RM 39.90) which was cooked with a lot of shitake and mushrooms. The result is the best risotto of all, which is super cheesy and definitely something any cheese lover can never say no to. One thing is that the portion of the risotto is too big for a girl like me. I think I have put on 2 kg extra after that meal. 

I ordered the San Pellegrino black orange (RM 15.90) soft drink which was contained in the smallest bottle in the world. The colour of the drink is crimson red, which is the colour of blood. It was not too sweet like most orange juice and also not too sour. 

I always enjoy eating as it is like bringing Italy to my door step because the fat chef is an Italian who hails from Verona. The paintings on the wall also evoke my memories of Italy. 
Cheesy

Cheesy

 
Amazing and  not too sweet

Amazing and not too sweet

 
Non-oily olio! Yeah!

Non-oily olio! Yeah!

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  risotto,spaghetti olio,san pellegrino black orange
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 24, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM110

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Owls Cafe  Smile Apr 22, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Pizza/Pasta | Sweets/Snack | Bakery / Cake / Kuih

I have wanted to go to Owls Cafe ever since I saw it in some blogs. I wanted to go with my friend who stays in Bukit Jalil but we were not inclined to go because many bloggers say that patrons have to wait for almost 45 mins to 1 hour to get a table. I figured this usually happens only on weekends and since I am on leave today, I decided to give it a shot with my friend. I was taken aback to see such a big crowd there on weekday which is a Wednesday. It was a little difficult to look for the place  because it was located at the second floor and is facing the main road. We only found the place after taking 2 rounds around it. Even the sign board is so small. I wonder why these popular or themed coffee places like to have small signboards and are located in places that are difficult to find like at the second floor etc. 

The ambience is so cosy and great for hanging out with friends and family. A lot of youth are there. Even families  have gatherings here. There is a small cosy corner with sofa and pillows right at the end, corner, hidden away. There are pictures and figurines of owls everywhere on the shelves, wall, floor etc. On the floor, there are also big owl soft toys. This place is famous for cakes, waffles and lattes. 

I ordered the famous Rose Latte (RM 10) which is so fragrant. The shape of the heart on the foam is perfect. I love the finishing of rose petals on top, just like how Winter Warmers does it. The latte blend is amazing. 

The Rebecca Waffle (RM 18) is fantastic. The flower shape of waffle is so unique and creative. I liked the fresh blueberries and sliced strawberries on top together with very little maple syrup, that is not too much that it would drench the entire thing. The waffle's crispiness is maintained and that is a plus point for me because I hate non-crispy waffles. The best part is the scoop of my all-time favourite Earl Grey ice-cream on top which was so blissful. It reminds me of the real Earl Grey. 

The States Bagel (RM 18), according to my friend, is the best he has ever tried. He said the bagel, even being eaten alone, was so tasty and even tastier compared to the bagels in Morning After. For me, I liked the soft and jelly-like bull's eye egg on top of the bagel. To me, the bagel here is too hard and chewy. I also liked the fresh European salad with just the right amount of sauce and an overload of mayonaise like how some other places usually do. The sausage salad with corn kernels and also capsicum were wonderful. The freshness of very vegetable could be felt. Later I saw people ordering the beef Waffle which looks so tasty and beautiful. I think that would be mine for the next round. 

The washrooms are very clean and the waitresses have good service. 

I was so surprised that the entire meal came up to only RM 48 which is much less than the one charged by coffee cafes in TTDI and PJ combined. In fact, I expected the bill to come up to about RM 100. 

 

 

 
Fantastic salad and egg

Fantastic salad and egg

 
Owl galore

Owl galore

 
Owl decoration everywhere

Owl decoration everywhere

 
Cakes and owls

Cakes and owls

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  rose latte,beef waffle,states bagel,rebecca waffle
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 22, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM46

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

JEQ in the House  Smile Apr 12, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Burgers / Sandwiches | Sweets/Snack

 The co-owner, Jason told us that they actually designed the entire place themselves. They have done a splendid job indeed because the moment I came in on that very Saturday, I was on a photo-taking frenzy! There was a rusty and old looking blue chest next to the door. Beside it, was a bar table with a guitar on top. 

There was also a bicycle in front of the shop which reminds me of Tous Le Jours' signature item. Naturally, I posed with the bicycle too. For me, no item on display shall be left unturned by my camera's lenses.

They use Coffee Man Roasters beans to make all the coffee here. We had the privilege to see Patrick, the barrista, at work. Patrick was so kind to oblige to my special request of making every single one of our coffee and even matcha come with unique design on the foam.
First up was my Cappucino (RM 9). The design on the foam is also quite special, something like those Indian flowers. The cappuccino is just nice. I could taste the coffee inside and there was not too much milk inside, which was like, thank god, since I hate milk.

My other friend, ordered the Flat White (RM 10) which to me, was like Valentine's Day in a cup. For coffee lovers like me, we love getting loved through our coffee.

Caffe Latte (RM 9) was also served in a yellow cup, this time in another special design, curvy and looks like Balinese design to me. It looks like leaf creating ripples in the water.

When the Hot Chocolate (RM 9) came with the world's cutest teddy bear on the foam, you could imagine the child in me was literally jumping with delight! The bear is so cute and reminds me of some cartoon or animation. 

The Coffee Bomb (RM 16) was the best of them due to the special frozen coffee which looks like a big bomb like a hiroshima bomb, in a glass. There was a small bottle of cold milk that comes with it. The entire bottom of the glass is made into a big dark bomb containing espresso and a chocolatey bottom. This ended up as my favourite coffee here due to the deep taste of coffee inside yet it is not as bitter as solely espresso.

Green Tea Latte (RM 10) finally arrived. At first I wondered what is it and after a while of staring, I realized is was Monster Inc.! Sorry couldn't blame me for being ignorant when it comes to cartoons as I am not real follower of cartoons! I was so happy that Patrick actually did the cartoon design to appease me due to, my longing to see the design on green tea latte, ever since I saw it done on the one at Strangers at 47 which is a few units away.

All the savoury items and food are made by Carol who is also the baker who makes all the cakes here by hand! Well, once you taste the food here, you can tell that she has done an amazing job!

Mushroom Chicken Pot Pie (RM 16) was the first main dish that came. I was delighted as it was my first choice off the menu. It consists of crispy pastry topping filled with warm and creamy sauce, savoury chicken, corn and mushroom.  It was my first time seeing Chicken Pot Pie done in a star design, I mean, how to design pies so creatively anyway?

After that bear delight, we were delighted even further by the Pizza of the Day (probably RM 19). For a person like me who is fussy on pizzas, this one has definitely made me really happy. According to Jason, Carol makes pizza with different toppings. I guess it goes with her feelings so it is kind of interesting this way rather than having a fixed menu all the time. This time round the pizza consists of turkey ham, capsicum, cheese and last but not least, Jason adds with a grin, LOVE. Love is the secret ingredient which makes any dish tasty and shall I say, supernatural? 

Whenever I see that a cafe menu contains Egg Benedict (RM 18), I could not help myself from ordering as it is one of my favourites. It turned out to be the best and comparable to another cafe which serves this too. The egg yolk oozes out like it was supposed to. There were slices of 3 tantalising turkey ham on top. I really like the way the chef has spread the sauce artfully around it. The price of RM 18 is well worth it.

Spicy Crivette Agio Olio (RM 26) is pan-fried spaghetti with fresh seafood, garlic, extra virgin oil and chilli flakes was simply satisfying. It was not too oily like what people normally do to olio spaghetti. The 2 big mussels and also prawns were amazing and so fresh. 

The Big Breakfast (RM 24.90) came after that. It came with a foot-long sausage, herb-mushrooms on top of french baguette, omelette, 2 pieces of turkey ham and also canned beans. The star item is the omelette, which was again, luckily, done the way I like it. It was soft and not overdone and too oily like how most people do it. I also liked the button mushrooms on the bruchetta which was cooked with herbs.
Yippee, it's finally dessert time! THE Tiramisu Cake (RM 16) arrived. For the first time in my life, I can safely say, I am addicted to this. This is due to the caramelized crushed almond and macadaemia which provide the crunch for every bite I took. I also liked the strong coffee taste which came from soaked espresso that formed the ingredients for the cake. 
The Macadaemia Cheese Cake (RM 14) was not bad. I liked the fact that the macadaemia on top was served whole instead of in pieces like how most businessmen like to cut cost. 

Finally, we were told they also have red and white wine sold here by the bottle. So this is not just a coffee cafe but it can easily be turned into a wine place. After all, wine and cheese cakes pair really well! There are also German beer and also Somerset Apple Cider which happened to be my favourite. 

I am definitely making a comeback for my Egg Benedict, Coffee Bomb, Heavenly Tiramisu and also Pizza of the Day. This is the perfect place to hang out with friends and family or also for organizing reunions and gatherings. Perfect for all occassions including photoshoots. If you like rustic and vintage environment, then you have landed yourself in the correct place. To top if off, spinning from the old records, the 1950s and vintage music are blasting softly. I was so happy to listen to my all-time favourite song, Cuando Cuando while sipping my cappuccino and thinking, what a fantastic way to kick off the day! 

Anyone should head here to chill and unwind after a long day at work. It is very tranquil and peaceful to sit by the glass window and enjoy the view of bamboo shoots opposite and also soaking the sights of passerbys in front of you.

Oh, and if you are too bored, you can chat with any of the affable barristas and who knows, he might make a beautiful design on your coffee specially for you! 
Tasty

Tasty

 
Thick, creamy and superb

Thick, creamy and superb

 
Crispy, fantastic and fresh ingredients

Crispy, fantastic and fresh ingredients

 

 
Not too oily. Splendid. Fresh seafood

Not too oily. Splendid. Fresh seafood

 
Incredible mushrooms. Turkey Ham is awesome. Omelette is not overcooked.

Incredible mushrooms. Turkey Ham is awesome. Omelette is not overcooked.

 
Monster Inc.

Monster Inc.

 
Tantalising

Tantalising

 
The best hiroshima bomb of them all

The best hiroshima bomb of them all

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  coffee bomb,pizza of the day,tiramisu cake,cappuccino,egg benedict,mushroom chicken pot pie,green tea latte
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 21, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pizza Brava Restaurant  Smile Apr 11, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Seafood

We were looking for Mei at Fatspoon restaurant but waze could not seem to find it. So finally I gave up. But dad said he did not want to eat at Japanese or Korean food whereby the restaurants were everywhere in Desa Sri Hartamas. So finally, we spotted this place called Pizza Brava Italian Restaurant. 

The owner is quite rich as he hires 11 pax of employees to cook and be waiters. 

I like the ambience which is cosy and cooling and relaxing. The pizzas are all cooked using Fire Wood which made it really delicious. I did not expect much ever since I tried the over burnt New York Pizza in Bangsar. So I was pleasantly surprised when the pizza was served. It is very crispy, fragrant even! I ordered the Casanova 10'' pizza (RM 19), with a hidden sly smile. Perhaps I am going to be Casanova, who knows? Haha....I initially though the portion might be too little but the cheese on top is the best I have ever eaten. 

We also ordered the Linguine Alla Brava (RM 22) which contains seafood, garlic, capers, olives, chillies, fresh tomatoes and basil. I do admit that the linguine is overcooked compared to the original Italian one but then again, I cannot complain much since most Malaysians' palate is this way.

The Filletto Di Manzo Funghi (RM 46) - grilled beef tenderloin is incredible. Dad orders it well done. There was not a tinge of oil on top of it or on the funghi. The Beef Tenderloin is so tasty, not too hard or harsh on the mouth, just the way I like it. The texture is so fantastic, and done just the way I like it. There was a rocket salad that came with cheese slices on top of it too. 

Nymph of the Nile tea (RM 7.50) served in a small thin pot is not bad, made of Egyptian and Persian ingredients with black tea. Not that fragrant but at least it still lasts for the second refill. It is good that they allowed me and mum to share the tea. Some places do not allow sharing for tea.

The iced lemon tea costs RM 4.50 but I always think it is healthier to drink tea without sugar. 

I felt that the portions here are a little small. So I couldn't help it to order dessert - Tartufo (RM 8) which was surprisingly reasonable. It is a ball fusion of chocolate and vanilla ice-cream with almonds and chocolate around it. I really like this ice-cream ball, which exceeds my expectation. 

Overall, the prices and service here is fantastic. In fact, I was surprised at such a reasonable for truly Italian pizza. I am definitely coming back again though the bill came up to :
Total:107
Service Charge : (10%) : RM 10.70
GST : 7.06
Total Inclusive GST : RM 124.76 

Spectacular

Spectacular

 
Fusion of Bliss Balls

Fusion of Bliss Balls

 
Firewood pizza

Firewood pizza

 
Many photos on the wall

Many photos on the wall

 
Now this is what I call pizza

Now this is what I call pizza

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  casanova pizza,linguine alla brava,filletto di manzo funghi
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 11, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM125

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0