OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3711 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 51 to 55 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Cantaloupe  Smile Jun 27, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Fine Dining

My dream is to enjoy fine dining at Cantaloupe at Troika Sky Dining. I personally love fine dining, well, who doesn't? Finally, I got my dream fulfilled when my  BFF brought me there for my birthday eve on 23rd June 2015. I was amazed by Cantaloupe. It looks way better than the photos in blogs. 

There are 3 fine dining restaurants there : Cantaloupe, Strato and Fuedo. I chose Cantaloupe because my other wish was to taste French food. I forget even eating french food in Paris though I have visited this place. 

I fell in love with the sophisticated ambience. It was like I was transported to another land high up in the sky of Kuala Lumpur. Even the ground has pathways leading to the tables. There was also a top to toe wine cellar in a special room. At the side is water hence making it a very wondrous sight. They did not have enough tables indoors. I didn't want to dine alfresco as there is only the scenery in the hot weather. 

Even though it was a weekday on Tuesday, the tables inside are booked. Finally, after waiting for a while, there was an empty round table facing the sky view of KLCC and KL Tower.

The waiters are not very clever because when I told them my friend is lactose intolerant, he said his chef cannot make changes. Luckily, one Burmese Chinese waiter was kind enough to check with the chef for us on the food that is lactose free. 

My friend ordered a Trimbace French Pinot red wine which has 13% alcohol. It was very strong. No fruity taste but quite tasty. My friend said it is a must to drink red wine when fine dining in the sky and overlooking this great scenery and she is definitely right as usual. 

We had 3 complimentary appetizers. First up was Lemon Ricotta with lemon foam, clam in 2 shells. The lemon was so fragrant and the lemon taste permeated the entire tiny ricotta that had a blackish pastry as the base. French fine dining seems to be all about using foam so you can see foam in almost all the courses. Biting into this Lemon Ricotta is biting into lemon heaven. I totally love the tangy feel. 

Next was Almond Jelly with mushrooms and beetroot sauce and herb soy. It looks like yam balls to me as it truly tasted like it. I wonder where was the jelly. The ball is very crunchy too. 

The third appetizer was grilled prawn with foam and some carrot sauce at the side. Totally amazing and not over baked. 

The main dish, called Three Bites, came next. My friend was lactose-intolerant so she got a Barley Soup  which consists of barley, herb consomme, zucchini, carrot, celery and shallot. I loved the clear soup of consomme which was so smooth. My friend did not like the smell of the food because she said the smell was too strong. I was ok with it. 

The Oyster Risotto with tsarskaya oyster, lemon, parmesan, beurre noisette, arborio rice and egg yolk foam was simply amazing. I am a fan of risotto. Thank god it was too creamy like how risottos normally are made. The oyster is so fresh and oyster pairing with risotto is totally amazing. I did not smell the egg yolk inside which was great. I did not like egg smell normally. 

The second main 'Bite' was Mushroom Custard for me which was made of grilled eringgi mushroom, hokkigai, chinese melon, shitake consomme, green pea and micro leaves. This dish is simply amazing. The eringgi is so fresh and there is not a tinge of overpowering mushroom smell inside. The fusion of natural colours is also interesting. 

My friend's second main dish was Grilled Asparagus with Mango Puree. It is a welcome change from the normal way we fry asparagus. They grilled with skill that it was like overly black though there are some remnants of blackness on the outside.

My Third Bite was Scallop Smoked Eel Burger which comprised of scallop, smoked eel, gazpacho vinaigrette and black sesame paste. When we think of 'burger,' we mistake it for breaded ones like MCD, but it was a healthier burger whereby the burger bread is replaced by scallop and the sliver of eel in the middle was great accompaniment. I totally love the eel and this is a combination of both my top most favourite Japanese dishes. The egg yolk foam at the side and the black sesame paste were great matches.

In between, they served us a greenish sorbet each in a shot glass. There is some sourish taste too. It was refreshing for the throat and body to have this. They actually used a gun like equipment to put in the foamy sorbet. I totally fell in love with this. 

The fourth dish was Black Olive Crusted Cod for my friend. The cod was the most succulent I have ever had. There were dried black olive tapenade, cilantro puree, garlic, leek fettucine and also celeriac fondant. Even the presentation of cod fish was so creative and the cod looks flowery. I totally like the cute celeriac fondant at the side. 

The Lobster and Beef Tendon was quite interesting. It was a mix of of a red lobster with beef inside. I totally love the concoction. The losbter was succulent and juicy. It is so far my favourite dish. 

My duck confit came next made of duck confit, mashed potato, mustard sauce and crispy potatoes. My personal favourite is the potato crisp that is made like cup to contain the mashed potatoes. The duck confit is made like a Danish pastry surrounding it. The dark black chocolate brownie type on top was not tasty. The duck confit was too salty for my liking. 

Lastly, was the dessert I have been waiting for. The French is well known for its dessert. The signature dessert here is the Rhubarb and Beetroot which comprised of rhubarb cream, beetroot ice-cream, crispy sourdough, burnt ginger meringue and black orange gel. I was surprised and was looking for the ice-cream but could not seem to find any and guessed it was probably the one that looks like cream. Overall, I just liked the crispy sourdough which was so crispy and delicious. The other parts of it seems like garnishing. I was told that the Pistachio Cheese Cake which consists of frozen pistachio cheese cake, spiced caramel syrup, feuille de brick and pistachio moss is another signature dish but we could not have too many desserts in a night. 

5 courses costs RM 250, 8 courses for RM 360 and 10 courses for RM 450.

Our bill came up to RM 836 inclusive of the French Pinot Red Wine. In KL fine dining costs really expensive. 

We could not finish our wine and the waiter kindly offered to let us drink it in the bar since the restaurant is open till 12 am only. The bar has cosy cushioms for chilling out. 

My wish is to try Strato and also Fuego the next time.

 

 

 

 

 

 
Incredible relish

Incredible relish

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Absolutely cod fish heaven

Absolutely cod fish heaven

 

 

 

 

 

 
The waters surrounding

The waters surrounding

 
The Bar

The Bar

 
The bar

The bar

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  black olive cod fish,lobster and beef tendon,scallop smoked eel burger,mushroom cilantro,oyster rissotto
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 23, 2015 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately RM836

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Roost  Smile Jun 21, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Seafood

This place is simply amazing, from the moment I reached the doorstep whereby there is a creatively painted timber staircase where it was written the name of the restaurant. I fell in love with the staircase and regretted not taking a photo of myself sitting on the step. It was like stairway to heaven because at the end of the staircase there was light penetrating through. Right at the door of the restaurant, there was a beautiful wooden bench with a Film Director Action Clapper Board on the seat. On the wall is a pretty painting of a tree. 

The ambience is wonderful and very cosy. At one corner are some gnome figurines and a vase of flowers. The interior is minimalist and modern. At one end there is a bar and the other end there is the open concept kitchen where one can see the chefs in action, that is, if you were not too busy chatting away. On every chair, there is a colourful round mat which is hard but interesting to look at. 

Appetizer was Duck Live Pate (RM 16) which was awesome to be eaten with the thin crispy bread. There was also an accompaniment of chilli sauce. 

Our main dish was Chicken Roulade which consists of soft-&-smooth, sous-vide chicken breast, skin & paste with polenta & browned onion puree (RM35). At first, I was hesitant about ordering this as I thought it was deep fried and I never am a fan of deep fried food. I really like the presentation and garnishing here. It seems like it was fine dining and it could pass as fine dining with so beautifully made food. The greenish item in the roulade reminds me of the duck liver pate. This is also similar to French Dining. The chicken skin is prettily preserved right on top of every one. The onion puree is also so delicious to eat together. It is suitable for people who like sauces like me. 

The Cured Duck Pasta was quite tasty too but we were so full by then to finish this. There was a dollop of cheese at the side. The duck was  shredded. The sauce was reddish but not bolognaise. The pasta reminds one of the pan mee which is cut using machine and it was served in long strips. I would have finished it had I not been that full. 

My friend ordered Corona Beer whereas I ordered Virgin Mojito (RM 12) which is quite refreshing and cool. 

The service is impeccable as the waiters kept asking us how was the food and how were we feeling. The only thing is that I wished that they had closed the sliding door as the cigarette smoke reached us non-smokers. Another disadvantage is that the menu has too few varieties. 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  virgin mojito,chicken roulade,duck pasta,duck liver pate
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 17, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM120

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nosh Up Smile Jun 16, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Pizza/Pasta

Each time I came up from the escalator at Jaya Shopping Centre, I would stare at Nosh and wonder what is so great about it. I googled about it and found out that the menu is quite unique. This time I get to try it. 

I have fallen in love with the simple art on the wall and also on the sofa seats. Everything was so colourful in the interior that it is so inviting and once you stepped in, you feel like you do not want to leave this place. On the left hand side of the wall, were my favourite words, "Eat. Enjoy. Satisfy." with empty bottles on the shelves. 

There is a promotion for dinner where every pasta or sandwich is entitled to a minestrone soup. I love the minestrone soup so much. First of all, I am a big fan of minestrone. It would have tasted good with pasta included but that would add to my weight. There were celery, carrot, potato, tomato and zucchini inside the minestrone. The soup was sour and intense enough which was to my liking. They have beautiful presentation where the soup was served atop a beautiful rectangular flat plate. 

I ordered the Lamb Ragu Pasta Spaghetti (RM 22) which was so tasty. The taste of the lamb was not that strong or perhaps it was covered by the bolognaise sauce which tasted like there was curry powder cooked together with it. The lamb was very tender and soft and easily melt. 

The other main dish was the Duck Comfit with Orange Sauce (RM 35). The photo of this was enough to tantalise me and perhaps I should blame it on the photographer. Anyway, the duck is slightly fried, and I am not a fan of fried food but thank god it was not fried till crispy and oily. It does remind me of Ayam Penyet in Indonesia. I did not taste much orange. I expected Duck Comfit to be lightly grilled. All in all, the overall taste was great. 

For any main dish, by adding RM 12, we can get a soup, mocktail (worth RM 12) and a dessert. 

The mocktail was just normal and a little too sweet. Luckily it has some sourish taste to balance out the sweetness. 

I preferred the Iced Strawberry Tea (RM 8) which came with a few squashed strawberries that made it a little more authentic than the Strawberry Vanilla Ice-Cream which I only had a small scoop. I do not fatten myself with these items.

I am definitely coming back here again to try the Salmon with Hollandaise sauce. 

 

 

 

 
Superb and amazing

Superb and amazing

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  duck comfit,lamb ragu pasta
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 16, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM70

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Little Wonton at TTDI  Smile Jun 07, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Café | Noodles

I have stumbled upon a blog on Wonton and wanted to go one fine day and today happened to be it. The place looks more beautiful than the photos in the blogs. There were inspirational pictures along the staircase. At the top of the staircase, there was a small side table with some decorations, mainly Nyonya style decorations such as tiffin carrier, old fashioned maroon flask, tea pots and even dim sum baskets. Entering the restaurant brings back memories of yesteryears though I have never been through those times for real. It was like in old Shanghai. There were potted plants in tins hung on the wall at the right and left. There was a seat which allows leaning too or what you call a lazy chair. At the far end, there are sofa sets and lounge chairs for a cosy seating amongst friends and family. That is my favourite corner as there are pillows and cushions and also beautiful artistic old style portraits and posters hung on the wall. On the other lounge seats, there are pillows with inspirational words. The total ambience is completely warm, cosy and works of art.

Considering the reasonable prices and big healthy air-fried wontons without oil and MSG which makes it guilt-free, I will definitely make a comeback. They claim the Charcoal noodles to not cause indigestion, reduce uric acid, cleanse blood and contain no sugar or egg. 

My friend ordered the Creamy Roasted Sesame, dry style, charcoal noodles (RM 7.90). It was quite tasty but I dislike creamy sesame sauce as it is too sticky for my liking. The side dishes are hreds of chicken meat, spring onions, half a hard-boiled egg and also fresh corns.

I preferred my Vinegar Garlic Lychee (Dry) Charcoal Noodles (RM 7.90) which has a mix of sour and sweet taste. I am more towards a person who likes things with a combination and explosion of intense flavours such as this. Charcoal noodles are amazing, and not too soggy or oily. The taste of the lychee was completely infused into the noodles. There were other ingredients  such as shreds of chicken meat, spring onions and also half a hard-boiled egg. I was tempted to try the Spicy Peanutbutter Sauce Charcoal Noodles but perhaps I would keep that for another time. 

The Silk Tea (RM 5) was too milky for me. It contains a lot of froth inside and too much milk for my liking as I am not a milk person. So I did not finish it. Even my friend did not like the taste. 

We ordered the Mushroom Cheese Air-fried Wontons (RM 7.90) which is one of the star menu items. The wontons are not over-fried till burnt and hard in their attempt of the outside stalls and cafes to make it crispy. There was an explosion of cheese inside. 

The latest addition to the menu was the Cranberry Chicken Wonton (RM 7.90) which was quite tasty and unique. The fusion of the sweetness from cranberry and the chicken was amazing, like marriage made in heaven, and this time, this is guilt free since it does not use any oil at all. 

For this ambience and such awesome food, this place is definitely worth making few more trips with family and friends. 

 
Old Shanghai look

Old Shanghai look

 
Inspirational quotes

Inspirational quotes

 

 

 

 
Cosy and inspirational even to sit down

Cosy and inspirational even to sit down

 

 
Super cosy and warm and inviting

Super cosy and warm and inviting

 
Cheesy wonders

Cheesy wonders

 

 
Guiltless wontons

Guiltless wontons

 

 
Heavenly

Heavenly

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  cranberry chicken wonton,mushroom chicken wonton,Vinegar Garlic Lychee (Dry) Charcoal Noodles
 
Table Wait Time: 5  minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 07, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM49

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Yuzu @ Gardens  Smile Jun 05, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Seafood | Ramen/Udon/Soba | Fine Dining

I have been looking for Yuzu at Gardens for a long time but I do not why I kept failing to locate it whenever I wanted to bring my mother here. Now I know it is near Maxis and Pappa Rich at third floor of Gardens Mall. I really like the ambience here and never realized that there would be a better environment at the right hand side segment where there was a beautiful Japanese kimono hung on the wall. The owner seems to like material and framed it on the wall. The place is very cozy and relaxing and more spacious that the one in KLCC. 

Most of the ala-carte meals are quite expensive, costing almost RM 38 for a small piece. 

The set meals are well worth the price of RM 40-60 per set because there are about 8 items per set. 

I ordered a set meal that cost RM 58 which is so well worth it as it includes 6 pieces of thick sashimi of tuna, maguro and salmon. The sashimi is very fresh and thick and succulent. I

t also includes tempura of 1 ladies fingers, brinjal and also 1 prawn. The tempura is well coated compared to the one at the commercial franchises. There were 3 thin pieces of Japanese beef stone grill till quite tasty. The beef sauce is a tad too salty for me.

There were also 6 assorted sushi of ebi, maguro, tuna, salmon, scallop and also egg roe. The sushi is so cute with elss rice than usual. 

The chawanmushi was amazing and so smooth. The other side dish of steamed cabbage with some seasoning was also delicious. There was also meatball with some onions. Overall, the side dishes are healthy.

The salad is also light and the sauce not too much. The best thing about Japanese salad is the healthy salads. 

The soup in Yuzu is served in a teapot whereby my soup was mushroom with tender chicken meat whereas my friend's soup was served in a special pink pot. 

My friend ordered the other salad of stone grill seafood of 2 of each of these: octopus, prawns, salmon and also some shellfish. This seafood set cost RM 44 which I felt is not that worth it. The octopus were tender. The prawns were not fresh enough. I felt that my set is the most worth the price. 

There were also watermelon, honeydew and also papaya for each set.

I was so full from dinner that I ended up trying to digest with a lot of lemon tea the entire night. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  sashimi,tempura
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 04, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM121

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0