OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3678 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
The Carpenter's Daughter  Smile Jan 05, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Sweets/Snack | Bakery / Cake / Kuih


I have passed by this small cosy-looking cafe a few times whenever I am in USJ Taipan. This time round I decided to google and find some blogs about this place to check out what is cooking here.

The moment I entered this cafe, I was mesmerized. At the front is a bakery whereas the back side is converted in a cosy restaurant that is vintage and also has a mix of old British look with the paneling at the sides fully decorated with teapots, frames and photos and some knick-knacks and decorative items.

 

 
The tables are ladden with minnie mouse inspired white polka dots on red backgrounds, instead of the conventional red and white chequers. At the right side are a few comfortable and soft velvet sofa sets with lamp and lamp shades that were so inviting I had to make it a point to take a photo there after filling my tummy. According to the story, the owner is indeed a carpenter's daughter and all the wood work here is made by her father, The Carpenter.I actually spotted the carpenter's daughter, going around like a tauke. There was a young girl baking bread and slicing bread using the bread slicing machine at the end of the dining area. This shows how fresh the bread here is. After seeing this scene, I made it a point to buy a fresh half loaf of soft fluffy French Brioche bread for RM 6. Moreover, all the bread here are said to be baked daily which means there are no preservatives. Since I saw a lot of newspaper articles talking about the carbonara and cream soup here, due to the fresh cream used by the owner. I did not hesitate to order one too. Furthermore, the owner would not use flour to thicken the soup but used potato and cream instead, which means everything used here are original natural ingredients.

Carbonara with Smoked Salmon (RM 23.90)

The carbonara is the thickest I have ever eaten and beats those served in local franchises. I could not believe how generous the cook or owner in putting in so many pieces of salmon with oyster mushrooms and 2 types of capsicum to add some colour and crisp. The sauce is super thick, hence coating the spaghetti really well and would have been great with fettuccine too.

 
Quiche of the Day (RM 15.90)

My friend was just about to order this at Ben's Grocer on New Year's Eve as he loves quiche so much but since I told him not to order as RM 23 for a small piece of Quiche is not worth it. This time round, they gave us a big round of leek quiche. It was my first time having leek quiche instead of the ubiquitious spinach quiche. The ingredients are a lot. One can see a lot of leek inside. Most importantly, the crust is very crispy despite being a little thick.

 
Red Berries Tea (RM 8.90)

The tea was served in a very tiny tea pot that could not last more than 2 refills and started discolouring. The Red Berries Tea reminds me of Winters Warmers' Tea which is sourish and has a lot of ingredients to come up with the beautiful berry tea aroma.

The total price came up to RM 54.70; and RM 4.87 Service Charge, and 6% GST of RM 3.21 which means the nett price was RM 62.80.

They also have Tea Party Set at tea time that includes British scones, tea, cakes and pastries.

 
Details: Address: 46, Jalan USJ 10/1E, Taipan Business Centre, Subang Jaya, USJ.
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 03, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM62.80

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles


As per mentioned earlier, whenever I am in a rush, this is THE PLACE due to the reasonable price, tasty food and near distance.

Today is the first in a long time that I left office at 6.30 pm and reached home at 7.40 pm after a very terrible traffic jam near assunta roundabout and the mosque nearby. It was because I was feeling that I was on the way to getting sick due to overload of blogging marathon last night till about 1.30 am! Can you believe it that I wrote 17 food reviews in a span of 3 days (not the whole days, duh!) and then got sick? Crazy? Haha for sure!

 
Anyway, today I ordered the dish that I saw some customer ordering, that was the stir fried yee mee (RM 11) with a lot of black soy sauce and some lettuce and slices of pork. I removed all the pork out as well as the minced pork on top of my Sizzling Tofu.

Do you know two big dishes here cost merely RM 23? Believe it or not is up to you. And the dishes are served in 5 minutes!

Sizzling Tofu (RM 12)

The Japanese tofu is so soft and when eaten with the sizzling egg was amazing. If you like sizzling food, you should give this a try. The result is ultimate smoothness of tofu blended very well with non salty sauce and egg. Usually people like to add in too much dark soy sauce for the sizzling plate but thank god they do not do it here.

 
Details:

Address: Fatty Chong Restaurant, 39-41, Jalan Sri Sentosa, Taman Sri Sentosa Jalan Klang Lama, KL

 
Recommended Dish(es):  sizzling tofu,fried yee mee
 
Date of Visit: Jan 04, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM23

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Hound  Smile Jan 04, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Desserts

There are a few coffee hangout places in OUG, just that we have to have some luck in searching while driving or read the few blogs that talk about this.

This place is conveniently located above a medicine shop, Kedai Ubata Ban Kar Sing which is strategically located along the main road for Taman OUG.

As per written in the blogs and in reality, the customers can bring in their dogs.

 
I saw a super hyperactive beagle, OK, I mistaken it for a hound, and thought it belongs to the owner. It was the most busybody hound ever as it tailed every dog in the place and chased and played with the dogs there. It kept sniffing very loudly due to its excitement. I have never seen any dog like that. It shifted attention from a shih tzu to a bulldog and hound. Later I found out it belongs to a male owner who came all the way from Cheras to this place for the first time. I guess his dog was elated at the chance of meeting so many other dogs in a cafe. I thought it would grow bigger to a the size of a rottweiler but the owner said that was his maximum size.There is another enclosure where the dogs can drink some water and owners can relax with them. Since the windows are opened for ventilation here, I presume it is a smoking zone. The beagle owner finally locked him together with the owner inside this area to prevent it from disturbing the other customers.

 
Me and my friend ordered Cappuccino for only RM 10. The taste is strong enough. I guess Cappuccino is the bare minimum for me as flat white that I had the day before was not strong enough.

 
We sat at a cosy chaise sofa lounge at the corner which is good for chatting and hanging out. The beagle and bulldog was playing so much that they knocked the wooden table over.

 

 
I did not order any cake because seemed to have too many Mille Crepe Cake the night before and thought a diet from sweet items is good for my calorie for the new year. I did not order Creme Burlee because I am not much of a fan of creamy food.Details:

Address: 44-A, Jalan Hujan Emas 4, Taman OUG, Kuala Lumpur

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 03, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM10

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Paradise Inn @ Sunway Pyramid  Smile Jan 04, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles | Business Dining


Coming here makes me and mum reminisce about our times here with someone long ago. Mother has some superstition so she insisted that we do not sit near the wall, somewhere I like to sit at usually.

The food here is quite pricey but not as pricey as fine dining but of course, too pricey for our budget. So I just ordered the items with lower prices. The cutlery and cockery are very shiny and beautiful all in god and black design that makes it exquisite.

The service here is impeccable to the extent of the burmese waitress keying in the words, "Less Oil" as per my request for my food though it still turned out to be oily for us. At least she took the effort. The waiters kept pouring our Guan Yin tea (RM 14 for 4 pax) for us too. 3 bowls of rice cost RM 6, Peanuts for RM 3 and towels for RM 2.40. These miscellaneous items cost RM 11.40 which is unnecessary spending.

Pork Belly with Lotus Bun (RM 11.80 for 2 pieces, RM 5.60 each)

I always like to order this type of dish ever since I tried a similar one but the vegetarian version at Olive Vegetarian restaurant in Section 17. The pork belly is like a sliver of goodness plus sin for me as I am on a diet. I for one, was a Pork Hater and used to pick ever single morsel of pork in my food to the extent that my friend jokingly called me a non-Chinese, but then again, what's so great about pork? I still never like minced pork and still pick every morsel out of my plate but this pork belly, was so inviting that I made it a once-in-a-while eating item. After all, most of the time I do not eat pork and it's no harm eating a little, especially when it looks so salivating to me, with the pork marination sauce dripping off the meat when I tried to sneak it in between the soft sliced lotus bun. Pork heaven? Perhaps?

 
Smoke Coffee Pork Ribs (RM 22.90)

OK, fancy me ordering another pork dish? Can I assure you by saying that actually ever since I joined my colleagues for lunch and dinner gatherings which involved da chao, I learnt to eat deep fried pork ribs and developed a unique liking (in my record of eating) to deep fried pork ribs cooked with marmite, butter and etc sauce that makes the result fragrant. Mum did not like this and thought of this as weird but being a coffee lover, I was addicted to coffee taste on my meat. It is like having rose perfume on your most hated item. I guess coffee is a perfect camouflage in this case. The pork ribs turned out to be so fragrant from all the coffee.

 
Tea-Smoked Duck (RM 14.90)

I have always liked duck cooked in thin slices, smoked the Western way instead of the Chinese Duck Rice method. Though I could not admit having tasted any tea taste, I still liked the duck with lightly drizzled sauce on top. It would have gone well with the paper wraps for Vietnamese food and also salad wrap.

 
Steamed Fillet Garoupa (RM 35.90)

We rarely order fish at a Chinese restaurant due to the exorbitant price. After consideration, it is much more worth the money to order big whole steamed fish at the local kopitiam as it would cost almost RM 100 to do this here. The fish is not that soft, probably due to the breed. There are black fungus, with lots of soup and also parsley for this dish.

 
Drumstick Mushrooms and Chick Peas (RM 24.90)

This dish comes served with chick peas that are blanched beforehand and looks so fresh and crispy, The mushrooms are the more expensive type and has high quality. The dish is shiny due to too much oil used. I secretly hoped it is olive oil.

 
Bean Sprouts with Vercimelli (RM 16.90)

Since we were still hungry, I ordered this dish as I like bean sprouts and glass noodles a lot. I mistaken it for being glass noodles but it turned out to be bihun. Anyway, thank god there were a of ingredients so I did not complain though we were all awe-struck at how small the plate was.

 
THE BILL:

Food: RM 152.70

10% Service Charge : RM 15.27

6% GST: RM 10.68

Details:

Address: OB3, LG1 & 1.8, Lower Ground One, Oasis Boulevard, Sunway Pyramid Shopping Mall, Jalan PJS 11/15, Bandar Sunway, 46150 Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia

Phone:+60 3-5637 8822

Hours:

Open today : 10 am - 10 pm

 
Recommended Dish(es):  coffee pork ribs,smoked duck,garoupa
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 23, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM178.05

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fatty Chong Restaurant  Smile Jan 04, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles


Nowadays, ever since we discovered this incredible place, we always come here whenever I have a lot of work to rush at home. The speed of cooking, the reasonable price and the amazing taste are the combination of reasons. Can you believe it that I had the below curry and 2 vegetables for merely RM 40 and RM 3 for 2 rice and RM 5 for 3 herbal drinks? It is even cheaper than the nearby kopitiam that is stuffy with very long duration of cooking taken.

 
Fish Head Curry (RM 25)

The portion was so big with so many ingredients such as ladies fingers, tofu pok, fish head etc. The curry is also thick enough to satisfy my fussy palate and managed to score very high in me. The best part is that all this great taste is attainable at less than RM 30, much cheaper compared to a diluted version in a supposedly famous Fish Head place in Puchong.Paku-Pakis

My top favourite vegetables are definitely Paku-Pakis / Midin except that they always put in too much salt.

Tofu with Pumpkin Sauce

Though the portions are smaller, the tofu are super soft and delicious. It is swimming in pumpkin sauce, a delight to even pumpkin-haters like me! I dislike eating steamed pumpkin or pumpkin in its original form but discovered I am ok with it in soup or sauce or deep-fried tempura-style.

Details:

Address: Fatty Chong Restaurant, 39-41, Jalan Sri Sentosa, Taman Sri Sentosa Jalan Klang Lama, KL

 
Recommended Dish(es):  curry fish head,paku pakis,tofu
 
Date of Visit: Dec 06, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM48

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0