OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3678 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Zhia Kitchen @ Sunway Pyramid  Smile Jan 25, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles


Initially my friend's family wanted to dine at Kim Gary but the a/c was spoilt so I suggested we eat here instead whereby the price is quite reasonable. Furthermore, I found a private corner with a table for 10 pax, cooling a/c and also comfort.

These are what we ordered for dinner:

 
1. Egg Fu Yong (RM 10)

This is actually egg omelette with some ingredients inside such as vegetables. I find it a bit too salty.

2. Broccoli with Scallops (RM 28)

I was attracted to the photo showing big broccolli and scallops like how people eat in weddings but in actual fact, they were very small.

 
3. Village Chicken with Ginger (RM 17)

The chicken is similar to what we have at the chicken rice shop/stall. The greenish ginger was delicious to be eaten together.

 
4. Pineapple Seafood Fried Rice (RM 14.90)

This is the best of the lot. In fact, this restaurant is popular for its fried rice variety. It is very fragrant and the smell of pineapple emits out. The pineapple cubes, cashew nuts, egg, and a few big prawns and octopus make this dish very well worth the price paid.

 
5. Fried Soft Shell Crab (RM 11.90)

The soft shell crab has some chilli taste inside and crispiness is retained.

 
6. Mongolia Beef (RM 18)

The beef is quite tasty and sliced thinly. The flavours infused are very strong.

 
I had Hot Chrysanthemum Ginseng which is quite tasty and not sweet at all.

Details:

Address: Lot OB2-G-U3A, Ground Floor, Oasis Boulevard 2, Sunway Pyramid.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  pineapple fried rice,soft shell crab
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 21, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM143.55

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pho Vietz Smile Jan 25, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Vietnamese | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles


I meant to go to Atria Shopping Gallery to buy a lot of dresses at the F3 Warehouse Sale of Topman, Topshop, Dorothy Perkins but then when I browsed through the clothes, the prices were higher than expected even after 60-70% discounts. I guess maybe it was not up to my budget so I decided to focus on enjoying myself today with my mother. Atria has a lot of unique boutiques with names we rarely hear about and even a street that looks like mini London.My mother came here with her classmates before so she kept insisting that I try the Pho Vietz vietnamese food, located at top food zone. There are a lot of people eating here especially family and friends even on a Friday to the extent that I wonder how come all these people do not need to work.

The ambience is very happening with oriental Vietnamese traditions inherent. In fact, once we walk in, we are welcomed by a traditional frame with photos of old Vietnam. At the right,is the place where the drinks are made. It looks like I were really in a Vietnamese kopitiam. Inside, the walls and furniture are very colourful.Vietnamese Drip Coffee with Milk (RM 7.90)

I ordered cold coffee but we were served a glass of ice, condensed milk and the drip coffee. I kind of put in too much milk that it became too milky and it covered the strong taste of coffee.

 
Caramel Fish and Spicy and Sour Soup Combination (RM 30.90)

The catfish is the most amazing I have ever eaten. The flesh is super tender, soft and fresh, At first glance, when I looked at the menu, I thought it was the normal hard fish that the caterer used to give me when I was young but boy was I wrong as it turned out to be superb. The sweet and salty caramel sauce that engulfed the fish is awesome, especially for people like me who likes my food with strong taste.

 
The sourish and spicy soup with 4-5 big prawns were just delicious. It was served in at traditional tom yam style steel pot. The soup is very fragrant and has strong intense flavours.

 
Both fish and sour soup went to well with plain white rice and also the additional pho that I ordered.I would love to come back to try the other choices of dishes if I ever come to this area.

Details :

Address: Pho Vietz Restaurant, T8 & T9, Third Floor, Atria Shopping Gallery, 47400 Damansara Jaya Petaling Jaya Selangor

Tel: 03-77313020

 
Recommended Dish(es):  caramel catfish,sour soup
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 22, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM43.80

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

myElephant Thai @ Happy Mansion Smile Jan 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles


Till now, after trying several thai restaurants around PJ area, I and many PJ residents are adamant that Elephant Thai serves one of the best Thai food in many varieties.

We came her at 11.50 am for an early lunch with Singaporean colleagues as there is another meeting later. We ordered at least 5 dishes whereby the bill came up to about RM 160.

I think they are one of the only Thai restaurants that serve brown rice which makes it very healthy to eat here.

 
Pomelo Salad

The price is less than RM 20 and yet there are so much pomelo inside served with fried shallots, spring onions, a lot of peanuts and a few prawns. The tangy feel makes it a great appetizer.Green Curry Chicken

Am I allowed to repeat the word "one of the best" again? Anyway, people should never be stingy with praises. The chicken is tender whereas the curry has enough flavour and spice without tasting like we have just poured a lot of milk or santan inside that would have diluted it. Luckily it didn't end up tasting like the super creamy green curry chicken I had in Chiang Mai.

 
Tomyam Seafood

When the tomyam came, I almost fainted looking at the sheer size of the large bowl! It was kind of my first time seeing such a large bowl of tomyam containing seafood inside with big prawns. octopus, fish and thai green beans.

 
Paku-Pakis

If I were not mistaken, this costs RM 16.90. The paku-pakis were fresh, raw and deliciously cooked with belacan.

Deep-fried Squid

The squid was done just right and goes well with sweet Thai chilli. The squid lacks the crispiness but then it was ok when we were hungry.

 
Details:

Address: CG-4 Happy Mansion, Jalan 17/13, Petaling Jaya 46300, MalaysiaTel: 6-010-2201283

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 13, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM160

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tokyo Teppan  Smile Jan 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops


I have not been here for a long time. I think the last time I came here was with my ex-boyfriend, or so, I think...so it must have been a godzillion years.

Anyway, since my friend asked me to recommend a place here at Tokyo Street to eat fast, this seems to be the only one with the price a little reasonable. This restaurant is also child-friendly with the baby chairs provided for babies and the plastic cutlery included.

Teppanyaki seems to be the popular thing here since the name itself has the word "teppan".

Since we were too busy choosing food and talking, sorry I did not have much time to record down the names and prices of the food and it was a treat, so I could not take the receipt.

The Scallop Bento

 
The photo has 1 scallop missing so there were initially 6 huge scallops cooked Teppanyaki style which are tender and fresh.The teppanyaki stir fry cabbage and bean sprouts were delicious too. It was not too salty like how most people like to cook teppanyaki. There is also crispy fried sliced garlic that is fried till super crispy.

The small bowl of garlic rice is also fragrant. I think it was gazillion years ago that I ate garlic rice in my life. The last time I recall eating it was when I was a child in a japanese cafe near my house. At that time, even the set lunch at Japanese restaurants at the mall, had garlic rice as a package.

There were 2 small pieces of cold salmon as appetizer which was quite ok. At least it doesn't have a weird taste.

A slice of orange is served with each bento that costs about RM 37-39.

The chawanmushi is smooth with 2 slices of my favourite black mushrooms and a piece of tender chicken.

 
The salad with mango style or citrus taste sauce was amazing and something different compared to the conventional salad with sesame sauce.

 
Giant Squid (RM 27.60)

My friend's mother like squid a lot, and so do I but I refrained from ordering this due to the expensive cost involved. The squid is not as rubbery as the normal ones. There is a clever touch of chopped radish on top to make the squid less heaty. At the corner is a small dollop of mayonaise to be dipped. It is clever to put the mayonaise away because people like me do not like mayonaise much.

 
Bento with Sushi and Seafood Teppanyaki (RM 37-39)

There are salmon, cuttlefish, maguro, sweet beancurd and also california roll with avocado and crabstick filament. Also included are 2 pieces of tamago.

The teppanyaki consists of octopus, chicken and salmon. I truly like the chicken teppanyaki which is tender and soft. The salmon was just ok.

 
Details: Level 6, Pavilion 168 Jalan Bukit Bintang Kuala Lumpur

 
Recommended Dish(es):  teppanyaki scallop
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 17, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM200

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Seafood | Ramen/Udon/Soba


After trying the food here during a food review with Open Rice, I was so amazed that I brought my friend's family here today. We initially booked a tatami room but changed to the other room at the end and joined 2 tables together.

Ramen Salada (RM 16.90)

The Ramen Salada here has very fresh combination of vegetables like shredded cucumber, omelette, carrots, cherry tomato, bacon ham and seaweed. The ramen is perfectly boiled and not soggy at all.

 
Okonomiyaki (RM 17.90)

This is the Japanese version of pancake with pork and bonito flakes and fried till crispy. I kind of ordered the wrong one because I wanted to order the Tonpeiyaki that was omelette with cabbage and without rice.

 
Okonomi Fu Ika Tempura (RM 15.90)

The tempura giant octopus with bonito flakes are simply fabulous. The flour are just nice and enough and not too much. There was overload of mayonaise on top too.Hokkai Kamameshi (RM 36.90)

This rice inside a stone pot requires 20 minutes of cooking. The ingredients are crab legs, scallops, seaweed. It was quite delicious and not cooked till overly burnt.Nagashi Somen Setto (RM 27.90)

This is the highlight of the night. In Japan, they usually have the soba flowing down the bamboo. The soba is to be placed inside the machine to make it icy cold and eaten with the soy sauce and also chopped spring onions, shredded cucumber, baby mandarin oranges, cherry tomatoes and also sliced cucumbers that are made to so thin to be crispy. I think the price is very reasonable as it includes tempura containing 2 ebi, eggplant and another item.

 

 
Jumbo Kakiage (RM 9.90)

This is vegetable tempura which are fried till very crispy. I love this as it contains a lot of vegetables such as carrot, lotus root, greens and onions. It is way better than the one made by the Pisang Goreng Stall Hawker.

 
Dashimaki Tamago (RM 12.90)

I am not a big fan of tamago but this is served warm instead of cold like what the Koreans do. It is cut in smaller slice than the ones I had before. Very simple to please a simple person.

 
Torikawa Chicken Skin Skewers (RM 7.80)

This is done in a yakitori style resulting in crispy feel of oil.

 
Pork Belly with Spring Onion (RM 9.80)

The pork belly is quite ok though not as tender as expected but thank god it was not towards the oily side.

 
Potato Mentaiko Yaki (RM 13.90)

Despite not being a potato fan, surprise, surprise, surprise, this has become one of my favourite grilled potato. Probably because they grill it together with cheese and fish roe which when melted together, is a delight to the soul.

 
Salmon Teriyaki (RM 17.90)

We are a big fan of salmon so naturally we cannot avoid salmon in a Japanese restaurant. The salmon teriyaki is quite delicious and not too coarse or too dry. The tenderness is maintained. It is also not too salty.

 
Yuzu Shabetto (RM 9.90)

Whenever I frequent this restaurant, I cannot miss my favourite citrus sherbet. You can be assured there was no colouring used as the ice-cream is white in colour. I like the taste of the pieces of citrus inside which opened up the senses.

 
Matcha de Roru (RM 14.90)

I tend to like to eat anything in crepe so this is again one of my favourites. It is rice cake containing red bean and green tea ice cream. The folds are done very neatly and it goes nicely into my small mouth.

 
Our entire bill came up to RM 240.85 only with so many dishes! Definitely saved more money than eating elsewhere and leaving this place more than satisfied with the variety.Details:

Address: A2-UG1-9 Solaris Dutamas, No 1 Jalan Dutamas, 50480, Kuala LumpurA2-UG1-9 Solaris Dutamas, No 1 Jalan Dutamas, 50480, Kuala Lumpur

Tel (Reservations) :+603 6206 5526 , +6017 669 0060 (日本語可)

Opening Hours: MON - SUN : 11.30AM till 3PM, 5.30PM till closing



 
Recommended Dish(es):  ramen salada,Okonomi Fu Ika Tempura,Hokkai Kamameshi,Nagashi Somen Setto,Jumbo Kakiage,Potato Mentaiko Yaki,Yuzu Shabetto,matcha de roru
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 16, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM240.85

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0