OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3678 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Tipsy Brew O'Coffee  Smile Feb 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Burgers / Sandwiches | Sweets/Snack

 
Tipsy Brew is where I hang out in during my movie marathon at TGV when I received so many free TGV tickets for the food reviews I have done. It seems like watching movie became a 'job.'

The ambience is very warm with friendly staff and also artsy drawings on the wall depicting coffee types and how to make siphon coffee. Hi-tea treats are available at 3-6 pm.

Afternoon Tea with Old English Scones (RM 15)
Afternoon Tea and Cake (RM 17)
Afternoon Tea with Berries French Toast (RM 19)

This set includes any tea or coffee

Afternoon Tea and Cake (RM 17)

I ordered the cappuccino which was so tasty and fragrant. They only use Farmhouse milk.

I was spoilt with choice with alcoholic cakes like Bailey's, Whiskey Caramel, Black Forest Rum Mousse etc. We need to add RM 10 to the set to order alcoholic cake. I finally chose Whiskey Caramel which has a balanced combination of bitterness from whiskey and sweetness caramel. There was also not much cream on top which is better.

We also ordered berries infused tea which was so fragrant.

 

 

 
Details:

TiPsy Brew O'Coffee

C-07-G, Block C, Setia Walk,

Persiaran Wawasan,

Pusat Bandar Puchong,

47160 Puchong,

Selangor Darul Ehsan,

Malaysia.

Tel: +6 03-58790790 / +6 012-3011583

Email: tipsybrew@gmail.com

Facebook: @TiPsy Brew O'Coffee

Instagram: #tipsybrew

Operating Hours:

Monday : Off day

Tuesday - Thursday : 11.00 am ~ 11.00 pm

Friday - Saturday : 11.00 am ~ 12.00 am

Sunday : 11.00 am ~ 11.00 pm

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 24, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM40

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Crab.B  Smile Feb 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood


It's Chor 13 of Chinese New Year 2016 and we had a CNY Dinner Gathering at Crab.B. My friend had a hard time looking for the place. My friend kept making rounds around the ioi Boulevard and finally he listened to my advice to go to the area around the Pulau Ketam steamboat and found it after 2-3 rounds.The place is very crowded, something like Tak Fok but the price of crabs is more expensive here. It is difficult to even get the attention of the waiter. Do make a booking before you come as the restaurant is too small.

The Crabs' cost RM 166 for 2 kg of Tiger Crabs, French Bread Crab for RM 108 per kg and RM 98 per kg of Indonesian Meat Crabs. We had the Indonesian Meat XL Crabs for RM 98 per kg and RM 158 per kg for XXXL. For only crabs, we spent RM 413! I have never spent that much for a food item before. Anyway, here are some photos of the highlights of the day:

The mantou are normal, not that much to shout about, at RM 4.50 for 5 pieces.

 
Marmite Crabs

This is simply amazing, the way the marmite encover the entire crab so thoroughly, with some stickiness on it. The sweetness is just superb.

 
Cheese Crab

The cheese coating is something any cheese lover would love, thick and gooey and not that salty like how some others do it.

 
Curry Crab

This is served in a large claypot with the curry sauce underneath, not that thick but thick enough to go with bread with really thin pieces of onions. I saw quite a number of tables ordering this.

I had difficulty taking photos of this one due to my dirty hands from eating the crabs.

 
OK enough with the highlights which actually came last. Now let me get back to the first dish.

Naturally, we started the evening with Yee Sang, for the most expensive price and the worst taste, that I did not have a second helping. It was too sweet and sour in an artificial sense.

 
Sizzling Seafood (RM 38)

This is something unique - a combination style of the 4 Mixed Sambal Vegetables and also sizzling seafood like 3 big mussels, octopus, prawns, petai and long beans which was superb.

 
Sweet Potato Leaf (RM 15)

This is just normal but at least it changed my perception of potato leaves which I used to dislike due Malaysian kopitiams normally cooking it with chilli oil.

 
Lotus Leaf Tofu (RM 18)

This is served like a dim sum. The silky tofu is so soft and cooked with minced meat, prawns and thick corn flour and some spring onions. My friend preferred this tofu compared to the Shark's Fin Tofu (RM 30) but I think both are tasty too.

 
Shark's Fin Tofu (RM 30)

The tofu is soft and lightly fried and has thick corn flour sauce on top with some fake shark's fins. At the two ends were few flowers of broccolis.

 
BBQ Pork Ribs (RM 28 each)

We ordered two of these for RM 56 which is cheaper than Paradise Inn anytime. The taste is fantastic, not too hard, not too tender or oily and just nice. The best part is the fragrance and sweet taste of the sauce and marination. A side sourish sambal chilli paste is served but it is not that necessary because the meat is already sweet.

 
Squid (RM 28)

The squid is cooked in Thai Style with chilli and a lot of lime, whereby eating it seems to bring back memories of thai cuisine. This cafe must be well known for its spices and sauces which were all incredible. The seafood such as this squid is so fresh. Two lime were served to be add to the sourness.

 
Even the Chrysanthemum herbal tea (RM 2.50) is just nice, not that sweet.

The guys drank Carlsberg at RM 16 per bottle.

The receipt is :Details:

Address:

Restaurant Crab B, No. 85, Jalan Kenari 20, Bandar Puchong Jaya, 47100 Puchong, Selangor

Tel: 03 80708659

 
Recommended Dish(es):  sizzling seafood,marmite crab,cheesy crab,curry crab,lotus leaf tofu,squid thai style
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 20, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM798.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Taiwan Dami  Smile Feb 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops


I was so sick, having terrible sore throat and also flu on the first day of work due exhaustion from hectic CNY celebration and too much going out. So I had to come to the only clinic that would cure me - Mediviron in Bandar Puteri Puchong.

But before that, some dinner first! I decided to try out Taiwan Dami.

There were not many people today probably because it was a weekday. The place is quite cosy and airy.

Braised Beef Noodle (RM 14.05)

This is the best of the lot! We have never had any beef noodle as good as this. The beef bones permeates into the soup so thoroughly that the result is amazing. The carrots and radish were just nice.

 
Braised Minced Pork Rice (RM 6.13)

The pork is so fragrant and the sauce is incredible. There is a half-boiled egg and also salted vegetables on top.

 
S11: Egg, dry tofu, Japanese cucumber and Pig Ear (RM 8.95)

This is a big platter that has braised half-boiled egg, soft tofu, crispy Japanese cucumber and pig ears. All of these are fantastic!

They even gave us 15% discount out of the total price, in conjunction with CNY.

 
Rose Tea (RM 12.17)

The Rose Tea is fragrant and rosy.

 
Details:

Address: B-G-13A , IOI BOULEVARD , JALAN KENARI 5 , BANDAR PUCHONG JAYA , SELANGOR., Malaysia

Phone:+60 3-8074 8285

Hours:

Open today · 11:30AM–11PM

 
Recommended Dish(es):  beef noodles,pork rice,rose tea
 
Date of Visit: Feb 15, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM39.80

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0

Nyonya Colors at KLIA 2  Smile Feb 13, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant | Sweets/Snack | Nasi Lemak


Nyonya Colors has the best and cheapest food in the whole KLIA 2. In fact, one can eat the breakfast set at less than RM 10 before 10 am.

So as usual, we went there for a most hearty meal.

First up, if my favourite Half-Boiled Eggs. Mind you, I only take half-boiled eggs from this kopitiam as theirs do not have the yolk hardened. The egg white is fluffy.

 
Dad ordered Nasi Kunyit and Curry Chicken nyonya style. The curry is thick enough with delicious chicken thigh.

 
Yellow Laksa

This comes with bihun. The kuah is super thick and fragrant. There are many pieces of tender chicken drumstick and radish.Mee Rebus

Mum ordered this upon my recommendation with thick sauce and lots of ingredients.

Details:

Nyonya Colors

Lot no. L3-34 & L3-37, Level 3

Gateway@KLIA2

KLIA2 Terminal

 
Recommended Dish(es):  yellow laksa,mee rebus,nasi kunyit
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 10, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM55

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

NSK Citarasa Seafood Steamboat  Smile Jan 31, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hotpot | Seafood | Porridge


We had a pre-Chinese New Year (CNY) gathering with my cell group on 29 Jan 2016, Friday. I have never heard of NSK having a steamboat restaurant. I did a quick search on some blogs and found out that this place is famous for fresh steamboat.

It is akin to a supermarket with even more varieties than the conventional market. All the items are shrink-wrapped. Whenever we ran out of food or ingredients for the steamboat, we would take a basket to go shopping for more.

 

 
The prices of food is very reasonable, whereby if compared to most places, eg Bone and Pot and etc, a small plate of mushrooms would definitely cost at least RM 8 but it merely cost RM 5 for all the types of mushrooms. The greens like yao ma, spinach, salad vegetables etc only cost RM 3.80 per plate.

 
Everything here is fresh, reasonably priced and have high quality.

There was even a deep fried fish head set with bihun, salted vegetables, tofu etc whereby the whole set only cost RM 10.90.

 
There was also a big fish set with cuttlefish costing only RM 23.90.

 
My favourite item is the yellow and white dome-shaped ball with fish roe inside. There is something similar but the outside is totally white in colour.

 
The quail egg (5 in a stick) costs RM 2 whereas the century egg costs RM 3 for a stick of 5.

Our Yee Sang has very fresh and thick pieces of raw salmon and costs RM 55. The salmon is so fresh and cost only RM 15 for 2 big slices and RM 10 for a smaller portion.

 
The scallops and mussels only cost RM 5 for five pieces! I felt like taking a basketful of those.

The only downside is the soup has too much MSG that caused me to be dehydrated. The worst was that the tom yam soup was tasteless and did not contain any taste of sour and spicy at all.

 

 
This is our final bill for almost 16 pax was merely RM 29 per person.Details:

Address: NSK Trade City, L 01, L 02, Jalan 1/127, Wilayah Persekutuan, 58200 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Phone:+60 3-7980 0874

 
Recommended Dish(es):  dome shaped
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 29, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM29(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0