OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3678 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Fushou Lou Nyonya Curry Mee  Smile Mar 06, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles


We happened to be in USJ this morning on 6 March and finding a place for healthy and cheap breakfast is quite a challenge. Suddenly, I suggested my friend bring me to try the famous curry mee. It's called Fushou Lou Nyonya Curry Mee. My first spoon of the soup, that has a sourish taste, I can tell me was simply fabulous. Since young, I never drink soup of curries for the noodles and also laksa soup because I was worried about the MSG inside.

The Curry Mee (RM 6.50) reminds me of photo of Selayang Curry Mee that my blogger friends went to eat. I did not join because I could not wake up at 4 am to reach there at 6 am to queue up! Both curry mee are similar in the sense of having Siew Yoke, sliced into small pieces to ease eating. They also have long beans, 3 pieces of chicken and 2-3 pieces of Tau Pok. Adding Siew Yoke cost RM 2.

This one is so awesome that I finished every morsel!

 
There is also a Seafood Nyonya Curry Mee for RM 20 that includes sting ray and lala of all things! I did not try that as I could not imagine spending so much for a bowl of curry mee.

 
Nyonya Curry Mee in USJ 2

VSSelayang Curry Mee

Details:

Address: Kedai Makanan USJ 2, Jalan USJ 2/2c 47620 UEP Subang JayaGPS: 3.057137, 101.591065Hours: 10 am – 2 pm

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 06, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM8

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Restoran Simon's Cafe Smile Mar 06, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood


I have been wanting to come here like 3 thrice but failed each time. I later deduced that probably the owner closes on Sundays in order to go to church. Today is a Saturday and I came here to try my luck again and discovered I was half right because they are opened only after 5 pm every Sunday.

When I did a quick google check, I realized this is very famous and have been frequented event by journalist from The Star. (URL: http://www.thestar.com.my/lifestyle/food/eating-out/2012/09/24/homecooked-nyonya-and-thai-dishes/ )

It has even been operating in Taipan for the last 14 years! Now I learn how long and 'historical' Taipan is! I think the main feature that draws in a lot of regulars and enables it to face the stiff competition from so many other restaurants and food chains in Taipan are the reasonable price and of course tasty food! The cook also do not stinge on ingredients.

Since the Claypot Curry Fish Head is the most famous dish here, I did not hesitate to order it in small portion for RM 35. At least the amount of ingredients did justice for the price tag compared to the Fish Head Curry in Jalan Puchong or in Bandar Puteri which charges the same price a few morsels of fish head parts, a lot of tofu pok and not many varieties of ingredients. The curry is also thicker than the other two mentioned and so full of flavour too. There were a lot of thinly cut eggplant, long beans, ladies' fingers and tofu pok that leaves me so satisfied. The special claypot retained the heat till the last morsel of rice was finished.

 
Sambal Petai with Prawns (RM 16)

The sauce is so tasty, thick and flavoursome. This is way better than the petai in Melaka which was so oily comparatively. This is also not that spicy. There are many Petai to be seen together with prawns, onions and fresh tomatoes.

 
Melaka Cendol (RM 5)

Is it over the limit if I sat that this is by far, the best cendol in my life? Even beats the ones at Jonker 88 and any of those in Jonker Street or the supposedly famous cendol near Kelana Jaya LRT station and the cendol at Penang Road in Penang or Penang Road Famous Teochew Cendol franchise everywhere ! I used to dislike cendol as I am not a big fan of santan or the frozen cendol they usually use. I also dislike overly sweet food. This one is just nice, and the cendol is fresh and soft, for the first time in my life! The Gula Melaka are generously poured all over yet not overdone as it was not overly sweet.

Both of us could not finish these two dishes so we Tapao the petai as I planned to cook for dinner.

At least now I know I need not travel 2 hours to Melaka and undergo traffic jam for the weekend food journey as the food here beats the Nyonya food I had in Melaka or my very own Penang!

(Call me Penang traitor if you like but I don't seriously care! After all, convenience matters!)

Details:

Address: Restoran Simon's,

4 Jalan USJ 10/1B,

Taipan, Subang Jaya.

Tel: 03-5636 7466

Business hours: Mondays to Saturdays

(noon to 2.30pm, 5.00pm to 10.30pm),

Sundays (5.00pm to 10.30pm),

closed on alternate Tuesdays).

Pork-free.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  claypot curry fish head,petai prawn,cendol
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 05, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM59.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Doors Cafe Smile Feb 29, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café


I have found this great place in a secret enclave in Taman OUG. It has very beautiful and creative art painting on the wall. There are doors painted on the wall too.

 
The front entrance has a bar with earphones for customers to listen to music from their phone.

 

 
Hot Chocolate

This is very thick and tasty with a few small marshmallows sprinkled on top.

 
Big Breakfast

This contains sausages, stir fried button mushrooms, fresh wedges cut into quarters, smashed pumpkin, and garlic bread. There is also scrambled egg cooked in milky way.

 
Grilled Chicken

On top of the chicken slices are cream sauce and at the side is salad. The chicken is just normal and not that great.

 
Snapshots of myself shooting at this cafe: 
http://catherineseeyenleng.blogspot.my/2016/02/doors-cafe.html

Details: Address: 51, Jalan Hujan, Taman Overseas Union,
58200 Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  hot chocolate,big breakfast
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 13, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM60

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Panchos  Smile Feb 28, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Mexican | Restaurant


We ordered the chicken, beef and also fish soft tacos whereby 3 pieces cost RM 21 whereas 1 piece cost RM 7 plus. To my friend, he thought that the tacos is just normal as we could not differentiate the chicken/fish/beef fillings as from the outside, all look the same with the onion and tomato salsa.

More stories in http://catherineseeyenleng.blogspot.my/2016/02/panchos.html

 

 
I like the fact that we can eat nachos with a myriad of sauces like mandarin orange, jalapeno and original. We could also have sliced preserved jalapeno.

 
Details: Address: T-041B Level 3 Mezzanine. Mid
Valley Megamall, Mid Valley City, 59200 Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala
Lumpur, Malaysia

 
Recommended Dish(es):  tacos
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 21, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM40

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pasta Zanmai @ Main Place USJ  Smile Feb 28, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops | Seafood


We ordered the Mini Pasta Set 2 for less than RM 30.

Mini Tempura Gomadare Pasta

The Spaghetti with sesame sauce,. prawn tempura and vegetable salad were quite tasty though the sauce would have been better if thicker.

 
Mini Teriyaki Chicken Pizza

The pizza is cute and crispy and has deliciously baked teriyaki chicken on top with a lot of bonito flakes and seaweed sprinkled on top. The best part is the soft boiled egg placed on top that made the pizza really delicious.

 
Unagi Tortilla Roll

This is quite special and we ordered the small one whereby only 2 pieces were included. I like the fresh raw vegetables.

 
Salmon Sashimi

The sashimi is quite fresh and thick but I could not remember its price.

 
More info and personal story at http://catherineseeyenleng.blogspot.my/2016/02/pasta-zanmai-main-place-usj.html

Details: Address: L2-20, Second Floor, The
Main Place Lot No.20, Second Floor, Jalan USJ 21/10, Persiaran Kewajipan, 47630
Subang Jaya, Selangor Darul Ehsan.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  sashimi
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 09, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM70

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0