OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3680 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Stall / Warung | Yong Tau Fu


I rarely comment Chee Cheong Fun as tasty. But this one is one of a kind whereby the chee cheong fun sauce looks like Pasembur sauce.I guess the sauce is the reason behind the super long queue, which I joined. I rarely like to queue, but thinking it is Yong Tau Foo, it should be fast. While queuing up, my friend from Holiday Tours came to call me and asked whether I was doing the closing ceremony. She said that the place is closing down and moving to Imbi Plaza soon.

 
There is a variety of Yong Tau Foo ingredients such as foo chuk, fish balls, ladies fingers, pig's skin, etc. I feel that dish is just ok. Only the sauce made the difference.

 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 10, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM11

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Le' Garden Smile Apr 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Business Dining | Private Party

I wonder why it is named Le Gardenz whereas each of the container has a different concept. For instance, the exterior has fake grass on the wall and the outer area has a garden cafe area which most bloggers have featured in their blogs leading to me thinking that's the only thing here.

 
As I walked further, there was a Okinawa Coffee Container and also a container for cooking only pasta.

 
There is a bigger container whereby the decor is more like Teddy Bear and Knights and decorated in old fashioned design with old antiques inside and long wooden tables and old type lights. Entering this container is akin to being transported to a era of a few centuries ago. We could walk up a spiral staircase, and found ourselves inside an elegant looking dining room. There are 2 of such rooms that we could rent out to our friends.

 
Another dining area has laidback seating and also a love tree featuring love locks and roses around it.

 
Next to it, is London Double Decker Bus whereby we could dine inside. Dining inside a container means every movement can be heard on the shaky 'bus'.

 
Here and there, there are creative displays of giant Transformers Figurines inside the Double Decker and also beside the Old-Fashioned Dining Hall. As for the food, they serve Western Food like charcoal burgers, steaks, spaghetti, pasta, pizza and a wide range of drinks to be chosen. Since it was already 6 pm, I didn't want to risk having insomnia by ordering coffee but I am definitely making a comeback to try out the Cotton Candy Espresso. I ordered Yam Latte and also Iron Man Fruit Juice instead.

Hot Yam Latte (RM 9)

There is a beautiful perfect heart on the foam. The drink has a slight yam taste that was not too overpowering.

Iron Man (RM 12)

This is the best fruit juice ever made with banana, pineapple and strawberry whereby all the fruit taste is distinctive. They serve it inside a special bottle that looks arabic or looks like those hard liquor bottles.

 

 
Australian Ribeye Steak (RM 36)

Initially my friend wanted to order Norwegian Grilled Salmon with Herbs but I thought the steak looks better with garlic sauce. It was not bad and done medium rare. I like the grilled potato and carrot that are made to be not that hard and soft enough to be chewed.

 
Braised Lamb Shank (RM 38)

This is by far, much better than any I have had in the past. The huge lamb shank is boiled till very soft and tender and succulent. The thick sauce goes very well with soft smooth mashed potatoes that looked homemade instead of coming out of the can.

 
Lollipop Sumiyaki Coffee Ice-cream (RM 3.20)

I could not resist myself when there is something this special. The ice-cream is rich is coated with white chocolate on the outside.

 
Inside of the Sumiyaki Coffee Lollipop Ice-cream The range of special food here really makes this place lives up to its creative hangout area. Must I mention that even the washroom in container had star wars painted outside?

This place is the best to chillax, relax, have gatherings from small to big from friends and family and also enjoy photo-taking to the max! Details:

Address: Jalan KPB 5, 43300 Seri Kembangan, Selangor, Malaysia

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  yam latte,sumiyaki coffee lollipop,iron man,rib eye steak,lamb shank
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 16, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM109.30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Interlude  Smile Apr 04, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant | Bar & Pub


Interlude is a place that serves trendy gastro-bar food. It also proudly proclaims itself as the first international tapas bar in Malaysia.

Out of curiosity, we asked why this name. According to Rabin, the Director/Chef, he has a long and short version of the reasons behind it. I am someone who loves stories so I asked for the long version. He said, long time ago, after graduation in Melbourne, he harboured dreams to work for a famous chef in a French restaurant, called Interlude but they did not have vacancy at that time so he looked for another job elsewhere. He told himself that "One day he would work for Interlude." After he has signed contract with another place, Interlude Melbourne contacted him but he has accepted the other job offer.

 
Fast forward 2 years, whereby he came back to open a restaurant, naturally the name "Interlude" came back to him as it bore significance for him, with a certain nostalgia.

So in this relaxing place, 7 of us friends actually spent a total of 4 hours to wine and dine.

Lemon Chicken Salad (RM 16)

This is mixed fresh raw lettuce tossed in lemon vinaigrette with a few slices of chicken breast. All the lettuce are the type that are imported instead of the local ones and come in purplish and greens. On top, there is a light sauce on top, which is just nice compared to the mayonaise or Thousand Island.

 
Nachos (RM 28)

Though the name itself looks so simple, it's the bestseller here, and great to go with beer. I urge you that this is something you MUST ORDER, if you are into Mexican food like me. I even sacrificed my ulcer to eat this! It contains tortilla chips with pork or chicken, guacamole, sour cream and cheese. 

 
Nantua of Spaghetti with Seasonal Seafood (RM 30)

Initially, when we ate this, Wendy Lee and I thought that this is curry based sauce with spaghetti. Today, I learnt a lot of new terminologies from talking to Chef Rabin and am glad I spent some time to drain him with questions together with the rest.

 
Nantua is actually made from bisque and napoli sauce. Bisque based sauce is cooked using lobster or prawn shells and the second option is chosen by Interlude to keep the price reasonable. We rarely see nantua in restaurant menus because it takes 6 hours of preparation. Bisque is made before it is mixed with Napoli sauce and added with a cream. Napoli is called marinara sauce in American language. The seafood-2 pieces of mussels, calamari and prawns are then grilled separately.

For me, Nantua is a welcome change from the ubiquitious spaghetti bolognaise and carbonara.Crispy Pork Belly (RM 24)

 
If you can ever make me, who used to give away every piece of Siew Yoke (Chinese style roasted pork) or the minced pork on my plate, to ever eat this pork and after that, proclaim it as delicious, then you are great! For that, bravo to Interlude for their success!

The Crispy Pork Belly is marinated with five spices then the flesh is baked for the first time to cook it. After it is cooled down the next day, it is then put back into oven to make the skin crispy. When there is something with high medium of fat, we need something with high level of acidity and vinegar to help the person appreciate the fat. That is when the pickled cabbage comes into place. The kilkenny glaze is drizzled slightly on top to add sweetness to the overall taste. The result? Spectacular, and believe me or not, am I converting to someone who eats pork belly? Haha!17 Hours Slow Cooked Pork Belly (RM 26)

This is the highlight of the day! Interlude actually cooked this for 19 hours, for real!

 
From afar, I was almost conned by the squarish cube shapes, making me think, is it cheese cake for dessert? When my teeth sinked into these cubes, it connected to all my senses, from the smell to the delightful sin that I have just committed by slowly savouring it. Since I was told that the fat has been removed, I persuaded myself that it is alright to eat this. For women who are not into pork belly, it is advisable to share this with another friend.Interlude's Crispy Pork Fried Rice (RM 18)

Don't let the name of this dish fool you into thinking it's just something you can eat at the hawker's stall or kopitiam! It looks simple but it is very fragrant, the aroma coming from the deep fried siew yoke (roasted pork), the same texture like the Crispy Pork Belly. Another thing I don't eat much is fried rice but when I do eat it, that means it is tasty!

 
Ultimate Interlude Pork Burger (RM 26) served with chips

I kept haunting the chef, asking "what's the difference between Ultimate Interlude Pork Burger and Pulled Pork Burger?"

 
Ultimate Interlude Pork Burger - patty is made from minced pork. I really love the burger here as it does not have the oily taste of burgers.

 
Pulled Pork Burger (RM 26) is braised pork shoulder which is then flaked. I like the fact that it was not flaked till dry like how others do it. Some moisture is still retained here. It is heated on pan with Guiness Babi Sauce. Currently, there is a promotion for Pulled Pork Burger Set with Guinness Float for RM 46 nett. Each of this cost RM 26 separately.

 
Both burgers are served with chips sprinkled with paprika and also oregano.

....

DESSERTS

According to Chef Director Rabin, he once received a sentimental birthday present of a book of handwritten recipes for desserts from his dearest friend but could not use much of it as Interlude is more of bar whereby people don't usually come here for desserts except for families or women who like to turn to the last page of the menu and see how dessert can fit into their menu plan.

Cheese Cake (RM 22)

According to Chef Rabin, there are two types of cheese cakes, one is set by gelatine whereas the other is baked and he only sells baked cheese cakes for now. The one we tried had cream cheese, grated dark chocolate, biscuit and berry puree.

 
Caramel Triple (RM 22)

This has Mediterranean flavours such as dates and pomegranate molasses (reduction), custard, ice-cream and biscuits.

 
.....

Beverages

For those who don't drink, they have wondrous mocktails such as what we ordered below to refresh ourselves at any time of the day.

 
Virgin Alyaa (RM 18)

This is made of strawberry puree, banana puree, cranberry juice and soda water, all mixed together to become something sweet and sourish for sweet girls (peeps!) I recommended this to my cartoon blogger friend, Sin Yee.

 
Passionfruit Punch (RM 18)

 
Shirley Temple (Grenadine Syrup) (RM 18)

 
Frankly speaking, these drinks are ordered by my friends so I could not comment much except that judging from the first drink, it must have been tasty too.

Cocktails

Esmerald Island (RM 26)

This is a mix of vodka, midori melon, malibu and pineapple juice. The cocktails here are as amazing as the names! It doesn't taste like cough mixture like some others I have tried elsewhere. It is also not too sweet. It would have been better if served inside a triangular cocktail glass.

 
Pink Senorita (RM 26)

This contains tequila, triple sec, lime juice and cranberry juice served inside a triangular cocktail glass. The taste is also not bad, with a sourish taste to it.

 
Margarita (RM 24)

This frozen mixture of tequila and triple sec is quite refreshing, except that it would have been better with more sourish taste.

 
Guinness Float (RM 26)

For those who like a tinge of alcohol yet cannot take hard liquor, now this is a perfect alternative. The cream with chocolate sauce play a role to balance out the bitterness of alcohol.

 
Rabin is a man with big dreams. He shared with us that in future, there would be "Four Seasons Scale Fashion" shows on every Wednesday, 10pm-1am ongoing the entire year. The objective is to give an opportunity to local fashion designers to showcase their upcoming designs and market them. I just can't wait for this programme to launch as I am a big fan of fashion and modeling.

NOTE: For more pictures and details and personal stories, please refer to:
 http://catherineseeyenleng.blogspot.my/2016/04/interlude.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  crispy pork belly,17 hour slow cooked pork belly
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 03, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM100

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Rayong Thai  Smile Mar 28, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Seafood


After a whole week of having luxurious international buffets in Langkawi mainly in Westin Hotel and Pelangi Hotel, I am left with not having much appetite for too much varieties. So I decided to whet my appetite the cheap way at Rayong Thai for Saturday dinner. There are many people even at 7 pm due to the cheap and tasty food served here by original Thai cooks.

Set Dinner (RM 18.90)

This time round, I opted for Chilli Seafood gravy set, that almost looks like thick red curry to us. This is well worth the price paid as there are many prawns, octopus, onions and parsley inside. Also included are the basic 2 pieces of deep fried fishcake, 1 glass of cold lemongrass drink and 2 pieces of santan corn dessert wrapped in leaves.

 

 
Stir Fried Asparagus (RM 9.90)

When my friend sent this photo to his mother to guess the price, she could not guess correctly. No one would have thought it would cost merely RM 9.90 for asparagus which is usually an expensive food. The asparagus is not oily and crispy, cooked with onions and carrot till fragrant.

 
Details: Address: Thai Kopitiam, 19G Plaza Danau 2, Jalan 4/109F Taman Danau Desa

 
Recommended Dish(es):  chilli seafood curry
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 26, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30.53

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Artisan Coffee @ Section 13  Smile Mar 28, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Sweets/Snack


Today, being Easter, I planned to go to DUMC church Easter service in the morning despite sleeping so late last night due to my work. Since Artisan Coffee is nearby, I came here for breakfast. There are a few tables having breakfast here. I figured the owner must be very clever to have everything self service including the food and drinks pick up area as it saves on additional manpower for waitress. The place has some ventilation issue so it was not that cold. They are also clever in turning a plain warehouse into a sleek contemporary and artistic coffee place.

 

 
Egg Benedict (RM 10)

Egg benedict is my favourite so I never fail to order this wherever I see this on the menu. The 2 big eggs pop out, running all over a piece of ham and muffin. There is Hollandaise sauce spread on top of the egg, fooling me into thinking it was egg yolk. At least the muffin is softer than the one at AMPM. The 2 eggs kept me full till lunch time at 12.30 pm! The price of this is quite reasonable compared to those sold in other coffee places. Toast Butter & Jam (RM 7) and Scramble Eggs (RM 3)

My friend ordered this as he is a big fan of scramble eggs. If we were in my house, I would have said, save the money and I would cook the scrambled eggs. But this one is made soft and runny and quite ok. Dolce Mocha (RM 13)

Dolce Mocha is differentiated from conventional mocha by using white chocolate. Coffee here is made at room temperature so I have specially requested for it to be made hotter so that it is still hot after my breakfast.

 
Iced Chocolate (RM 12)

The chocolate is so thick that even though there was a lot of ice, one could still taste the chocolate.

 

 
Details:

Address: Jalan 13/2, Seksyen 13, 46200 Petaling Jaya, Selangor

Tel: 03-79318978

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 27, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM45

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0