OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3680 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 66 to 70 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Restoran Lan Chey Smile Nov 08, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant

I have always wanted to try this place ever since I saw this but my colleagues said that this place is quite expensive. Today, I thought of giving this a try hence I brought my parents here to try the food. 

We ordered the famous Lan Chey Steamed Fish (RM 18) which is very delicious, soft and has a lot of flavours in it. It is also spicy with dried chillies and ginger. 

The bittergourd egg (RM 8) was very special as it was sliced very thinly. The taste is very special and tasty, thank god I ordered it as earlier I thought it is too normal. 

The other worthy dish was the Fried Tofu with prawns (RM 11) where the tofu is so soft and delicious. 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 05, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM41.40

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Maria's Steak Cafe  Smile Nov 08, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops

Maria's Steak Cafe is a hidden gem in Damansara Perdana. It is the main original HQ before the other Maria is established in Bangsar so this has a better ambience. It is quite difficult to see from outside. My friend googled about this place as she is crazy over steaks and lambs in sophisticated ambience. Finally we had time to come today. There are not many people here today. The waitress is very friendly and was ready to recommend the food to us. 

The food here is quite pricey as people have to pay for the taste and sophistication and elegance. 

I ordered the mussels with tomato salsa sauce on top. It was quite fresh. 

Next was the Rib Eye done medium rare with red wine, baked potatoes and vegetables. The rib eye is quite delicious and fresh and succulent and juicy. Now I know why this place is famous for steak. 

The Aussice Chilled Black Angus was spectacular. The meat here is very tender and juicy, proof that the meat is well marinated and cooked very well. 

The grilled vegetables of chick peas, cherry tomatoes, broccoli and cauliflowers were quite tasty. 

We ordered the Cape Dreams red wine which was a little fruity and very strong. Red wine with steak is a good pairing. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 20, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM400

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Toridoki  Smile Nov 05, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant

I for one, have been scouring Sri Hartamas for food and have tried some of the eateries here like Dirty Duck Naughty Babe, the Italian pizza place and another tasty Japanese place. Today, I find myself here in Toridoki, a Japanese franchise from Tokyo, that is a 4-months’ old baby. In Tokyo, there are already 3 branches. I was curious why Malaysia became the first Southeast Asia branch and Kuta Fusuya, the Manager in Toridoki, said that, perhaps there are many races in Malaysia. Kuta has been living in Malaysia for 4 years before becoming the manager here. They have hired a popular local chef, Joe who has made a name for himself in local Japanese restaurants since 1981, that would mean, many years before I was born! I felt compelled to praise the manager who is so systematic to have given us a printed menu for the first time, something rarely done by most restaurants. The food also came out one by one according to the recommended menu. The menu is changed every few months.

We can choose to sit on normal dining table, counter table or tatami mats right at the back without folding the legs (good news for people who cramp easily like me).

The Chinese name of Toridoki contains the word “chi” (chicken) because this restaurant’s USP lies in chicken. The signature dishes are Yakitori (Japanese grilled chicken satay) and also roasted whole chicken. The official logo is a chicken too.The Yakitori is done using different parts of the chicken such as chicken breast, gizzard, thigh, wings, liver and every edible part of chicken.

Potato Salad 

Any order would come with a complimentary appetizer of the day which is subject to change from salads to today’s Potato Salad. The potato salad is quite tasty as it is made from mashed potatoes in a scoop mixed with carrots, onions, and also purple cabbage. The best part is that there was no overload of mayonnaise, the spoiler of any Japanese meal.

 

 
Konsai Salad (RM 18)

Next was the Konsai Salad (RM 18) which is root vegetable salad. To me, it is less vegetable except for the cabbage but more on potatoes. Calling all potato lovers out there, this is so for you! It contains orange potato/sweet potato, purple potato, lotus root, pumpkin, broccolis and carrots. On top, is a generous squeeze of mayonnaise on a bowl of carbs. Kota actually helped to grate fresh cheese on the top so you can feel the freshness of everything made here. This dish is unique and please do not order rice due to the heaviness of potatoes.

 
Nagaimo Garlic Butter (Japanese yam with garlic and butter) (RM 12)

After this heavy meal, we moved to Nagaimo Garlic Butter (Japanese yam with garlic and butter) (RM 12). When I first saw the name, I was wondering whether I would be served just plain butter blended with garlic which was a little silly of me! It turned out to be crispy yam made with Nagaimo Garlic Butter that is pan-fried mountain yam mixed with garlic powder, soya sauce and black pepper. The garlic makes it fragrant. Since I am on a diet and too health conscious, I refrained from eating too much of this. To me, it was nice to dip this in the sweet Toridoki sauce. Later, I had a second bite and felt it tasted a little like radish.

 
Teba Age (RM 10) Deep Fried Chicken Wing

No one dine in a chicken-based restaurant without trying the fried chicken which to me, is better than KFC. Kota told me this is KFC. So here comes the Teba Age (RM 10) Deep Fried Chicken Wing which is very crispy and fragrant. In fact, it was so crispy that one can easily break off the chicken wing. It was marinated with Japanese soy-based sauce and also Japanese pepper. Like most Japanese style, there is not much sauce. In fact, the Japanese prefers to have yakitori marinated with sea salt and do not like much sauce. I guess I am the only one who likes my food laden with a lot of sauce.

 
Sunagimo Ahijyo (RM 18)

Then, comes my favourite dish – Sunagimo Ahijyo (RM 18) which is special as it contains chicken gizzard with 8 kind of vegetables including garlic slices and black pepper. It is served in a hot plate with crispy thin French loaf at the side for dipping in the olive oil. It is meant to be oily to match with sake.

 
Maruyaki (RM 45)
After that, comes the famous dish of Maruyaki – grilled whole chicken (RM 45). It takes 1 full day of margination of 1 whole chicken with red wine and Bamboo salt because Bamboo Salt is less salty and healthy. We need to order in advance, minimum cooking time of 45 minutes. There is a special grilling machine with special glass to absorb the heat. It takes 1 hour of grilling with 6 burners on top and bottom of the place. The chicken is very fresh as it is ‘daily chicken’ (meaning it comes into the shop daily from the market) and is just below 1 kg, hence the small size. I almost got fooled as I mistaken it for a roasted bird! 3 types of sauces are served together that are Rock Salt, Gara Tare (Japanese spicy spice) and Ponzu (Japanese citron sauce with soya sauce and lemon). The result? The chicken has crispy skin on the outside, akin to Peking Duck and juicy meat on the inside. I felt that it was a little dry for my liking and would have done better with more moisture inside.

 

 
Yakitori-Tsukune (RM 11)
Yakitori is marinated using rock salt and pepper. The different parts of the chicken is grilled using sweet sauce till medium cooked then sweet sauce is added again. I prefer the yakitori than the maruyaki which is drier and less succulent.
Tsukune is my favourite chicken dish here because of its unique combination of chicken thigh, soft bone, chicken breast meat, onion and Japanese perilly leaves (ohba).

 
Yakitori– Negima (RM 5)

“Negi” means “leek” so naturally this is chicken thigh with leeks grilled to perfection, resulting in tender loving cared chicken.

 
Yakitori – Toridoki (RM 8)

Toridoki contains chicken thigh wrapped in chicken skin, chicken breast wrapped in chicken skin and a repeat of these. To me, I will still go for Toridoki as I dislike chicken breast.
Tamago (RM 14)
My friend, Ru Xyn was so eager to eat Tamago so finally we ordered this. Compared to the tamago I am used to see in Korea. They are usually cold but to my pleasant surprise, this Tamago is served hot with smoke coming out. It is made fresh whenever customers order it.

 
Matsu Ni (RM 18)
This is chicken intestines with gizzards and also, ovary that look like chicken balls, were served in a mini pot. When my friend heard there are ovary inside, they dared not touch the meat parts anymore. There are also a few slices of tofu on top.

 
Tamago (RM 14)

My friend, Ru Xyn was so eager to eat Tamago so finally we ordered this. Compared to the tamago I am used to see in Korea. They are usually cold but to my pleasant surprise, this Tamago is served hot with smoke coming out. It is made fresh whenever customers order it.

 
Cheese Yaki Onigiri (RM 12)
This is actually camembert cheese with grilled rice balls. Frankly, I am not a big fan of rice in big amount so onigiri is small enough with less than the normal amount of rice, of so I believe. There is camembert cheese with very fine chicken slices in the middle of the onigiri. The garnishing is very beautiful whereby the 2 onigiri is arranged like a leave.

I was so full after eating onigiri that I told Kuta not to bring anymore onigiri. He said next dish is dessert and there is “surely extra stomach for dessert.” I chuckled.

 
Houjicha Pudding (RM 10) - order cancellation

This pudding is made from Houjicha (a certain part of the green tea). The Houjicha green tea leaves are boiled and strained and the juice is used to make the pudding. Gelatine and fresh cream is then added. Finally, caramel is added on top and burnt slightly. According to Chef Joe, Houjicha is good for the stomach as it cleanses it the way green tea does.

 
 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 04, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM100

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Gyutaro Yakiniku Restaurant  Smile Nov 03, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | BBQ

I am the type of person, whom, upon discovering a new place such as the 3rd Miles Square, I would have the goal of trying all the cafe there. So this time I tried this place which turns out to be quite expensive. My mum kept repeating that the food is too overpriced for normal BBQ food. The set meals here cost about RM 38-70. 

The Grilled Butter Salmon was quite tasty, juicy and tender. There are enoki mushrooms that are grilled together. The side dish of salad with sesame sauce was quite tasty too and quite different from the other normal salad. Every set comes with side dish of kimchi, bean sprouts and also shredded carrots. Fancy having kimchi in a Japanese restaurant! 

The BBQ Beef and seafood like prawns, fish, lamb etc are cooked on DIY stove. Each slice of meat requires only two minutes of barbecuing over binchotan white charcoal. Luckily the waiters did the BBQ for me because I am a lazy person when it comes to this. The BBQ is done just nice, and not overburnt. 

Udon Soup in Claypot was the next dish and quite tasty. The soup is warm, refreshing and cooling for the hot weather. 

There is also al-fresco dining but for the hot day, that is not my choice. The ambience is elegant, sophisticated and warm. 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 05, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM100

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Don's Diner  Smile Nov 03, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant

I thought this place is owned by the same Napolean Chef who owns Verona's Trattoria. But it seems to not be so. The interior is absolutely amazing and sophisticated because previously it was Cafe Vienna hence the vintage interior design. I thought it was supposed to be something like Johnny's Rockets but it was not that new fashioned. I also liked the ballet pictures on the wall with red and white wallpaper. 

The only weird thing is that diner's usually serve alcohol but they do not do so here. 

As usual, I am drawn to duck salad (RM 22) and naturally I could not help myself from ordering this. The duck is thinly sliced and served smoked with fresh imported rocket salad and vegetables, orange, and cherry tomatoes and balsamic sauce. Eating duck is akin to going mediterranean. 

The Grilled Lamb Rack (RM 55) was so tender, delicious, succulent and juicy. In fact, the juices from the lamb has been absorbed into the baked potatoes placed at the bottom of the plate. The lamb is perfectly grilled to exude juices all over that became even better when fushed with the sourish cranberry sauce. Also at the bottom are eggplants that glisten in the air. On top of the lamb is alfalfa. 

I am definitely coming back to dine here and try the other varieties. 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  lamb rack,duck salad
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 21, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM90

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0