OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3678 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
The Good Batch for New Year 2016  Smile Jan 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Burgers / Sandwiches


Coming here makes me reminisce about my last New Year 2015 whereby me and another single friend attempted to come here for New Year lunch which falls on a weekday, at 1 pm. We were too late as there was a long queue outside and me being the principled person who never queue up for anything, moved to Frisson Cafe a few shops nearby which turned out to be a disaster with hardened baked eggs that are not runny and also coffee with the heart shape incomplete that kinda caused me to be heartbroken the whole year through.

So I guess it was safer to come here on 2 Jan 2016. Initially I was worried of the queue but it seems that most customers patronize this place for brunch and lunch due to the amazing brunch and all-day breakfast menu.

The interior is very simple, similar to most coffee places but the cocktails here have price labels of RM 25 above. There was a deal of RM 60 for 3 cocktails.

We ordered the Cranberry Juice (RM 8) and also Marrakesh Mint Tea (RM 9). The hot tea is just a white mug with the tea sachet but the tea is very fragrant and of top quality.

Angmoh (RM 29)

This is actually a big breakfast, named in a cute way. It consists of a lot of food such as a small bowl of canned beans, tender sausage, 2 pieces of ham, tiny chopped potato wedges (ok, this is the first time I see people dicing the potato wedges which made me like this place even more!), fresh mushrooms, half a baked tomato, a slice of baguette which is made without oil in sight, and runny scrambled eggs done just the way I like it. If you like big breakfast, then this is THE PLACE.

Portobello Road (RM 25)

This is a very special dish because I expected the mushrooms to be served just like that, without thinking that they would serve the mushrooms on top of hashbrowns and having runny egg benedict on top of the mushrooms. What an awesome combo for a person like me who loves every item involved in the combination! The mushroom is large, sweet and juicy and cooked without an overload of olive oil. There is also a special mustard and parsley sauce on top of these and fresh non-sweet blueberry at the side. I never thought people eat blueberry with this but it is amazing - not sweet or sour, just perfect. When the runny yolk burst out, it was akin to the burst of happiness for me.

Norwegian (RM 25)

I was busy browsing the entire menu for the Egg Benedict that The Good Batch is famous for and finally asked the waitress who pointed to this. There were fish roe, followed by cheese, salmon, egg benedict and lastly, toasted baguette from top to bottom. When the egg benedict popped, it signifies the fireworks in myself, whereby I have been living my 2-3 years dreaming of coming here, but always having a challenge to come to this place like my friend thinking it was too expensive etc. I have harnessed that dream ever since I saw The Good Batch published in a local residential newspaper featuring food outlets in Solaris.

I am coming back here for the popular coffee using Fei Hong Beans was tonight I do not want to risk having insomnia. Also since, I was going to Nadeje later, I stopped myself from ordering the banana cake or lychee cake which looks amazing.

The service was very good from the waiter and waitress who attentively poured plain water for us.

There is also a corner for latest magazines such as Female, Women's Weekly, etc. 

So I guess if you want to come here without having to queue up, try coming at night at about 6.30 pm even on weekends. 

Details:

Address: No. 53, Jalan SS21/1A, Damasara Utama, Selangor, 47400 Petaling Jaya, Malaysia

Phone:+60 3-7733 2303

Opening Hours: 10 am - 1 am

 
Recommended Dish(es):  norwegian,portobello road,angmoh
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 02, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM111.95

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nadeje at One Utama  Smile Jan 02, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Sweets/Snack


This is a fun fact : Catherine has never been to Nadaje before! OMG seriously?

Alright, I admit previously I tried Nadaje's famous crepe cake at the office but to me, it was just normal perhaps because I was too fussy over cakes. Anyway, this time round, I was in 1 Utama and decided to try Nadeje there in the old wing.

The open air style cafe in the middle, is very inviting. I like the blue font of the signboard. There were quite a number of customers on a Saturday night tonight.

Seeing the alcoholic menu, my eyes was awe struck. I like alcohol in food. I immediately stopped my friend from ordering the Gula Melaka cake which was under the non-alcoholic category.

All cakes cost RM 12.60 per slice, much cheaper than another well-known franchise which I would not mention here.

1 kg : RM 95, 1.5 kg : RM 137, 2 kg : RM 158 Cafe Mocha

I fell in love with this cake. If you ever ask me which mille crepe cake is my favourite, this is definitely THE ONE! The taste of mocha is rich together with chocolate chips, and when coated with the layer of cream, shall we call this THE DESSERT for every occasion, be it for good times with friends and family, or a binge-eating time for girls after a break up (seriously? kidding), or just plainly for enjoying cakes.

 
Strawberry Chocolate

This cake has a special thin layer of jelly and thin slices of strawberry on top. The bottom are full of lovely black chocolate crepe and cream alternate layers.

I am definitely coming back for the Rum and Raisin and Tiramisu alcoholic cakes, Nadaje, you wait for me!

 
Details:

Nadeje 1 Utama Petaling Jaya, Selangor. GK 101 Ground Floor, 1 Utama Shopping Centre, Lebuh Bandar Utama, 47800 PJ, Selangor

 
Recommended Dish(es):  cafe mocha
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 02, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM25.20

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tek Kee Noodle House at USJ  Smile Jan 02, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles


We went around USJ Taipan searching for rice places. Our initial stop was at Simon's Nyonya House but the shop was closed so we tried going to the famous Malay nasi lemak which was closed as well. So finally we relented and I came here since there were noodles as well. Moreover, Tek Kee seems to be very famous amongst the locals and nearby residents.

I ordered the Herbal Duck Meat Wantan Mee (RM 10.60) which turned out to be wantan mee instead of mee sua that I usually have in Penang. The herbal taste is very fragrant and the meat tender.

 
My friend ordered the Roasted Duck and Pork Fats rice (RM 10.50) whereby the pork skin is super crispy. For a non-pork lover, I actually ate the skin!

 
I could not have any meal without vegetables so I ordered bean sprouts (RM 4.25) which were not bad just that the portion was too much for both of us.

Details:

Address:

39 & 41, Jalan USJ 9.5s Subang Business Centre, 47610 Subang Jaya, Selangor

 
Recommended Dish(es):  herbal duck noodles
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 27, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM29.65

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Go-Gung Restaurant at Gardens  Smile Jan 02, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hotpot | BBQ


We were doing a lot of shopping at the International Food Convention at Mid Valley Convention Centre when we finally had time for lunch. We had lunch at Gogung Korean Restaurant which serves delicious food at affordable price and wonderful quiet ambience.

We ordered the Kimchi Jeon beef soup with rice set. There are 5 Banchans consisting of spinach, preserved white fungus, ladies fingers, the ubiquitious kimchi and bean sprouts.

The Kimchi soup has straw mushrooms inside and also tofu, my favourite glass noodles, egg and mushrooms. The soup is so thick and tasty, simply superb!

 

 
We also ordered the Yuk Gae Jjang (RM 24) which is the best Korean Pancake ever. I specially requested for it to be super spicy. Amongst all the Korean Pancakes I have tried, this is admittedly THE BEST.

 
The Green Tea (RM 9) for 2 pax is quite tasty, clear and smooth.

 
I wonder why every time I come here, there were not many people but the food is quite reasonably priced. Probably because of the misconception that the restaurants here look expensive.

Restaurant Details:

Go-Gung Korean Restaurant (managed by Koryo-Won)Lot 212, Level 3,The Gardens, Mid Valley CityGPS Coordinates: N3 07.145 E101 40.538Tel: 03 2287 2981

 
Recommended Dish(es):  kimchi soup,kimchi pancake
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 20, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM61.50(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Character De Coffee  Smile Jan 02, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops


What better way to start the new year with coffee to keep one awake. So here I am at Character De Coffee which is again, obviously my first time here.

Character de Coffee is a small coffee place, 1 shop lot, in Kuchai Lama. Inside, you find yourself in an environment whereby a few teddy bears welcome you. On the wall are decorations that are vintage and reminds one of childhood or the scene in the old classic English movies.The food here is very reasonably priced. Can you believe it that the price of Western Food only costs RM 13-15 per plate?

I ordered the Seafood Aglio Olio for a whopping RM 13.90, which is a difficult deal to get nowadays. The spaghetti is not overly oily like how people normally do it. There are three big prawns, 2 pieces of octopus and some small dices of capsicum inside. The taste is just ok.

 
My friend ordered Hainanese Chicken Chop (RM 13.90) which came in the smallest portion ever. My friend was not very happy with the portion but then again how much can one expect from a RM 13.90. As for me, I like the sauce which is thick and sweet and sour and have a lot of capsicum and tomatoes.

 
The Avocado Juice (RM 9.90) seems to be more expensive than the food here. The taste is not strong enough and has too little avocado inside, and incomparable to Avocado Juice in Philippines.

 
The Flat White (RM 8.90) has too little coffee taste inside. The leaf design is very beautiful on the foam. The Flat White has very little flavour inside too. I think it is safer for me to have cappuccino.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  hainanese chicken chop
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 01, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM48.95

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0