OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3711 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Yoshinoya and Hanamaru Udon  OK Jun 28, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen/Udon/Soba

I have seen this place opened for quite a while and noticed that the price of the food is quite reasonable at RM 12.80. The place is designed in a food court style. We could not even get a table despite paying RM 55.60 for this type of food in an environment like this. Mum said they don't even have a waiter bringing us to the table and we had to look for own table. Mother was complaining about the expensive price whereas for me, I think the price is quite reasonable, that is, if you compare it to other Japanese restaurants. 

We could not even find an empty table and had to wait at least 5 minutes for a table. I wonder why the place is so packed. I personally did not like to eat Udon because I prefer soba which is thinner. I do not like udon except when it is fried. 

Me and dad ordered the Curry Udon at RM 12.80. The curry is thick enough and one thing is for sure, it is not as powdery as some others that I have tried. There are only a few meagre pieces of carrots and onions and 2 potato chunks inside. I could even count the toppings inside! Seriously! 

Mum ordered the Spicy Miso Chicken Udon (RM 12.80). The miso soup was thankfully not as salty as the ones elsewhere. There was a watery half-boiled egg for this. This is mother's words as I did not get to try it. 

The most expensive is the tempura which costs RM 4.80 each. We ordered two which costs RM 9.60. It is terrible as it is too expensive and the air has gone inside making it soggy. It is not particularly soggy but more to the air going in. A word of caution: Do not order tempura here unless you are willing to pay RM 4.80 for sogginess.

The tempura vegetables cost RM 3.80 but this is better than the tempura ebi as this is crispier and has more ingredients such as seaweed and carrots.  

The Chawanmushi costs RM 3.80 each. There was no topping inside at all. I still prefer Chawanmushi in normal Japanese restaurants especially at Sakae Sushi which comes with fake shark's fins. 

The tea costs RM 1.50 per pax. We spilled ours when trying to pour the tea. 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 28, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM55.60

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Starbucks Coffee  OK Jun 21, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Burgers / Sandwiches | Halal | Bakery / Cake / Kuih

It can be said that I almost never or rarely visit Starbucks as I feel that the coffee is over-rated. Anyway, since I had a Buy 1 Free 1 voucher, I decided to use it before it expires. 

I came to this branch in Paradigm Mall as it is on our way after our Kuala Selangor trip. The barrista was so sweet to do a special favour for me but she heard my name wrongly and wrote my name as "Patry" instead of Catherine. 

I reluctantly ordered the Triple Coffee Jelly  Frappuccino (RM 16) for Tall Type simply because it was the latest. To me, it has lack of the coffee taste I desire in most coffees and had too much milk. 

Luckily I ordered the Java Coffee frappuccino (RM 16) which has a lot of coffee taste inside and was stronger than the other one. I guess I am loyal to mainly coffee beans only. 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 20, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM16

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Maiu Japanese Restaurant OK Jun 21, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Buffet | Seafood | Group/Family dining

Since today is the weekend before my birthday this year, we celebrate by having a Japanese Buffet Lunch at Maiu which was recommended by my colleague. I am not sure what  to expect since I have never heard of this place before. The place was fully booked so I could only reserve a sushi bar which I just agreed since everywhere was booked due to Father's Day. I was not in a very good mood as I had a a headache due to not being able to sleep the entire night.

The place is easy to find, and you just need to go round The Place behind Public Mutual but it is not at The Place. It is located opposite The Place. 

The buffet lunch costs RM 48.80 per pax for Adult and RM 25.80 per Child. The place was brimming with people due to Father's Day. Thankfully, there was an empty table which they gave to us. Every table is given a piece of menu where each item has 5 boxes to be checked. My years of buffet experience since I was a child taught me that I had to always order the non-rice items so that we can fill out tummies more. The good thing about this place is that there are choices of ocha or pepsi compared to some other places like Seoul Garden where there are no drinks included for the buffet.

As appetizers, I ordered Idako Kyuli (Red Octopus) and Jellyfsh which were both disappointments. The Chuka Kurage/jellyfish was too limp whereas the octopus has too much of the preserved sauce which they should have cleaned away. The octopus also does not look as fresh as the ones in other places.

The Kani Salad which looks so different from the photo that shows a big crabstick turned out to be an even bigger disappointment as it was just very thin slices of fake crab filament stick found in the malls' freezer. The portion of salad is too big compared to the rest so never order salad here unless you have the space to fill in. 

The only thing we like about this place is the small portions which make eating buffet a pleasure compared to other order-to-eat buffets. Mother was very happy with the small servings. 

Of course, sashimi is a must in any Japanese dining experience. I ordered the only 3 sashimi available that are salmon, shiro maguro and also maguro. I feel that the sashimi here is too thin and not thick enough. I feel it is not fresh enough too compared to the one at Kampachi and Umai-ya or Jogoya. I guess it is not right to compare. Perhaps I should try Xenri to have a fairer comparison since it also have buffet at RM 48.80, if the price has not increased. 

I realized they do not have ebi sashimi or sushi here which is weird. Scallops and oysters were also missing. 

The Soft Shell Crab Handroll has no garnishing at all. So that meant I would never order another handroll here. 

The Crunchy Salmon Maki which came in 6 pieces were just ok. The salmon has a little blackness on top so I am guessing whether they are not fresh or is it naturally like this? Overall, the taste is quite ok. 

The Yaki Tori is something I would sing praises for. The Chicken Yakitori is quite tender and served in small pieces. I guess it is the drumstick or thigh part of the chicken. The Beef Negi which were a slices of beef wrapped around many kangkung is unique to me. The Gyuniku Enoki Yaki which were beef bacon wrapped around straw mushrooms were also awesome. I am someone who likes food items being wrapped. 

The Tempura Mori was not a disappointment. Luckily the tempura batter was smoothly coated. I liked the deep fried ladies fingers and and ebi albeit the ebi was a little small. 

The Maguro Tempura (4 pieces) was quite special. So please remember to order this if you are here. 

The Saba Shioyaki is a must-order here. It is very big and fresh and the flesh is very soft and tender. The way they grilled it has retained its succulence. Absolutely amazing. In fact, do not order the Saba Steak which is too hard in comparison though served better in a sizzling hot plate and also with my favourite brinjals. 

The Salmon Head Shioyaki pales in comparison to the one my mother grills because it was too black and overburnt. I felt like I had a lot of carbon in my body after eating it. When my mother grills this, usually it is half baked so that we can still feel the juice oozing out. 

The Salmon Shioyaki was just normal. Thankfully, the skin was crispy. 

The Shishamo is quite fat, crispy and tasty. It is not that thin and super salty like the ones elsewhere.

The Grilled Shitake is average though I feel that the mushrooms are too small and the size is a bit too 'kecut' or shrunk and lack the juiciness of grilled mushrooms.

I ordered the Edaname last, something like a finale as it is good to munch on something. It must have been boiled for too long as I felt it was overly soft. 

I wanted to order fried tofu but I did not because there was too much to eat already. I could not find the chawanmushi which dad wanted but after the entire meal, I noticed the next table had a the remnants of chawanmushi but dad was too full by that time. 

The green tea or chocolate ice-cream with red bean was a good finale. 

For the price of RM 146.40 with Service Charge of RM 14.64 and GST of RM 9.66, I wondered how GST is lower. Anyway, for the total nett price of  RM 170.70 for 3 pax, I think we are definitely not revisiting this place as it does not reflect the true Japanese cuisine, whereby the sashimi are over-rated and there are too few varieties of sashimi. Of course the yakitori and grilled items are delicious and not that salty like the ones elsewhere but then again, I would have just saved a more money eating Yakitori elsewhere ala-carte. I guess it is ok as a first try for those with less demands. The only good factor here is the small portions and the taste is quite ok and not too salty especially when it comes to shoyu and also shioyaki and also Yakitori. Also, if you come on an empty stomach and are in a very hungry condition, it is great because the food serving time is very fast and the service is quite good despite the crowd. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Tender, juicy and succulent

Tender, juicy and succulent

 
Star beef!

Star beef!

 

 
Salmon Shioyaki

Salmon Shioyaki

 
Overburnt

Overburnt

 
Crunchy, juicy and fat!

Crunchy, juicy and fat!

 
Don't order this

Don't order this

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  yakitori,saba shioyaki,beef negi
 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 21, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM170.70

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A Pie Thing OK Jun 11, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Sweets/Snack

This place is so difficult to find. It is located behind the famous Hokkien Mee place. The music is quite loud and a bit difficult to hear your friend talking.

They only sell pies : savoury and also sweet ones. The special thing is you can add gravy and also mashed potatoes on top.

My friend ordered the Chicken Pie as he is a traditionalist. The chicken is quite tender. After trying a few pies, I think that I am not a fan of pies currently.

I ordered the Green Curry Fish Pie which has quite a unique taste. I like the tanginess of the curry and preferred this compared to the other pie. 

Perhaps next time I should try the S'Mores which is famous here. 

The Earl Grey Latte (RM 11.50) is quite tasty. The taste is not too strong but the earl grey permeates throughout. 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5  minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 10, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM53

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mei Loon Sing Kee  OK Jun 10, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood

I like the fried bihun with bean sprouts, prawns and also onions. Somehow it was too dry and too oily. 

The Hokkien Mee was just normal. I am not a fan of hokkien mee either. 

My favourite vegetables is the brinjals, long beans, ladies fingers and petai. This is the best dish ever though a little oily. 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 05, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0