OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3706 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Pang's Kitchen  OK Feb 28, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles


This is a gathering of all food bloggers aka foodies for Chinese New Year 2016 on the eve of Hokkien CNY on Chor 8. We had it in Pang's Kitchen, Hong Kong one-Michellin star restaurant at Taman Desa. We started the dinner with Yee Sang, the typical CNY way. It costs RM 68 for half a plate.

 

 
This is followed by the dishes below all in very small portions:

1. Braised Beancurd with Fresh Mushroom (RM 18)

This came with Xiao Pai Chai and also too thick sauce with a lot of corn flour. The tofu are ok but I cannot agree with over thick sauce. Do you know corn flours makes you fat?

 
2. Crispy Chicken with Garlic (RM 38) - Half

The chicken is the smallest and driest I have ever tasted and loses to even the normal chicken at the chicken rice stall, for usual price of only RM 6 even for drumstick. The price is also too expensive.

 
3. Scramble Milk with Scallop (RM 38)

When this dish arrived, I was taken aback. I mistaken it for stir fried rubbery egg white as it tasted like this. I even tried to remove all the curdled egg as I am not use to it. To me, expensive delicacy like scallop should be served steamed/grilled to retain its freshness rather than having its taste being over enveloped by milk.

 
4. Sweet and Sour Pork Rib with Strawberry (RM 33)

By then, my friend was frantically looking for the strawberry. When I was not looking for this, the strawberry popped up. There were tiny preserved strawberries sprinkled all round the sweet and sour sauce. The pork rib was not bad, just that it was too sweet with all the sweet and sour sauce.

 
5. Stir Fried Kailan with Shrimp Paste in Claypot (RM 25)

I rarely order kailan in restaurants because I thought it is a cheap dish. But this time, the serving style in a claypot retained the taste, freshness, crisp and also the fragrance of the frying.

 
The Pu-Er tea costs RM 24.50 and also RM 12 for five bowls of white rice.

More story at http://catherineseeyenleng.blogspot.my/2016/02/pangs-kitchen.html

Details:

Pang's Kitchen @ Voizsup

Ground Floor, Wisma Miramas, Jalan 2/109E, Taman Desa, Kuala Lumpur.

Opening Hours: Daily, 11am-10pm.

Tel: +6012-465-4147

 
Table Wait Time: 15  minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 15, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM300

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Yamagoya Ramen @ Setia Walk  OK Feb 28, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen/Udon/Soba


We went to Yamagoya Ramen for dinner. Unfortunately, the restaurant was super hot and stuffy that I cannot fathom that we are paying service charge!

There was CNY Promotion of RM 48 for 2 bowls of noodles, 2 drinks and a side dish. Initially the promo included beer but they removed this.

Spicy Tobanjan Ramen

The ramen is not that spicy as it is for all Japanese ramen. Just that the soup looks reddish. It has black fungus, bean sprouts, spring onions and also thin slices of pork. It's quite ok and not too salty.

 
Mukashi Special Ramen

This is plain miso soup with black fungus, egg yolk, thin pork slices. Quite ok.

 

 
Gyoza

This tastes like normal gyoza.

 
More info and story at http://catherineseeyenleng.blogspot.my/2016/02/yamagoya-ramen-setia-walk.html

Details: Address: C-8-G, Block C, Setiawalk, Persiaran Wawasan Pusat Bandar Puchong 47160 Selangor

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 23, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tsim Tung @ Setia Walk Puchong  OK Feb 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant


We were rushing for my movie titled "Unbelievable" at 5.50 pm at TGV Setia Walk then I was hungry so I went to the nearest coffee shop style restaurant.

I ordered French Classic Sandwich (RM 7.88) which came in a big thick french toasted bread topped with an egg benedict, ham and cheese. The ingredients seem simple but it led to something spectacular in the form of the runny yolk egg on top of the bread/.

 
Details:

Address: No. D-06-Gm Block D Setia Walk, Persiaran Wawasan, 47160 Puchong

Tel: 03 58821307

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 23, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM24

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Taiwan Recipe @ Mid Valley Mall OK Feb 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops | Ramen/Udon/Soba


We came here looking for food to eat and finally decided on this place because we were both heaty and it's cheaper here. My friend is very money conscious so we could not go to some expensive place to eat.

I ordered the Dumpling Ramen with 3 measly pieces of coloured dumplings. It has so few ingredients that I had to order the Warm Mixed Fruit Punch Tea (RM 12.90) which warmed out throats.

 
The hard boiled eggs (about RM 2.90) had runny yolk and was superb to be eaten.

My friend ordered the pork ball ramen with hard boiled eggs.

 
Details:

Address: T-023A,3rd Floor, Mid Valley Megamall, Lingkaran Syed Putra, 59200 Kuala Lumpur.

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 14, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM40

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Hotel Dining | Seafood | Dim sum


Dad was thinking of eating Dim Sum so we came here though I wanted to eat steamboat. Dad is not much of a steamboat person as he thinks the food is not cooked enough.

The place is quite a distance from Sunway Pyramid. The short cut which I discovered on my way home is to go up to Pasta Zanmai and then use the specially constructed pedestrian bridge linked straight to Grand Imperial.

There were many people here for CNY lunch. We opted for dim sum. I was a little disappointed by the quality and variety. There wasn't the booth for special dim sum choices cooked by the chef as it was a weekday. The prices here are exorbitant. The steamed peanut titbit alone cost RM 5. Luckily the tea was RM 2 per pax.

Har Kau / Steamed Prawn Dumpling (RM 11)

Just so-so but most expensive of the lot!

 
Steamed BBQ Pork Pau (RM 8.30)

Mum said it is nice. As I did not try it, I could not give you my personal comments.

 
Steamed Glutinous Rice (RM 12.80)

The rice is soft but there are only few ingredients like 1 miserable piece of chinese sausage and mushroom.

 
Prawn Dumpling with Szechuan Sauce (RM 9.80)

This is actually nicely done prawn dumpling (better than har kau) with soya sauce with cut red chillies.

 
Shanghai Xiao Long Bao (RM 8.30)

This is basically expensive Xiao Long Bao whereby the skin is too hard, tough and not thin and translucent enough. Loses to Dragon-i. Price is still more expensive and not worth it.

 
La Mian in Szechuan Style (RM 12)

The peanut sauce with la mian is just a weird combination and spoils the original taste of la mian. I thought sze chuan style meant clear soup with chilli oil? Mum said it is ok but I beg to differ, and it would have been better with udon or cheap yellow mee.

 
Details:

Suite 101, First Floor, The Pinnacle Annex, Persiaran Lagoon, Bandar Sunway, 46150 Petaling Jaya, Malaysia.

Tel: 03-5888 7222

 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 05, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM85.35

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0