OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3680 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 530 Reviews in Malaysia
Fatty Frog Porridge @ OUG  OK Jan 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food court | Porridge


My colleague, Sally once brought me to this area for frog porridge. I am very grateful she brought me that day as it helped me to discover this new area which has a lot of cafe and kopitiam which spells FOOD.

I came here for a revisit of the porridge as it was quite late and we were hungry. We ordered a plain claypot of thick congee and ginger with black sauce frog that was very fragrant.

 
You can come here if you are not scared of eating along the drain which is not bad at night.

Details: Address: 2, Jalan Hujan Rahmat 2, Taman OUG, Kuala Lumpur, Seputeh, 58200

 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 07, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM40

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Kim Lian Kee OK Jan 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles


Do you know there is a cafe specializing in selling KL style Hokkien Meein Sunway Pyramid? Well, I didn't know till I came here with my friend who loves Hokkien Mee. For those Penangites, this is not the Prawn Mee but what Penangites call "Hokkien Mee." Initially, when I first came to KL, I was confused over this.

The prices here are quite reasonable at RM 12-13 per plate which is somewhat similar to what we have at the kopitiam outside except that the portion is less here.

The weird thing is that my friend's brother doesn't seem to like Hokkien Mee so we had fried bihun Hokkien Mee style. It has big prawn and cabbage.

My favourite was the eggy Claypot Lao Shu Fan which was fragrant and delicious. The egg is is simply amazing as it covers the noodles.We also order the Sui Kow (Prawn Dumplings) which was filled to the brim with meat. I did not taste much prawns though. Most importantly it was not oily.

 
The belacan fried chicken is quite ok, but a little too salty for me as I hate salty food.

 
The Cantonese Noodles was quite ok but admittedly I didn't like too much hor fun.

 
Details: Address: Ground Floor, Sunway Pyramid (Ground Floor), 46150 Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya, Malaysia

 
Recommended Dish(es):  lao shu fan
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 16, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM60

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Thai Express  OK Jan 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles


We were trying to find dinner place at Jaya Shopping Centre and ended up eating here again though I was not that keen to eat here. After all, the price here is the most reasonable among all the other restaurants at the top level in this mall. This is the third time I come here. The second time was with another friend whereby we ate white tom yam served in very small portion and lacking the spiciness and sourness of tomyam and the kangkung being too sweet. Anyway we came here because my friend wanted to fulfill craving of beef noodle soup. I think the only edible food here is the curry with chapati.

The Beef Noodle Soup at about RM 17.90 was something I have never seen before with the soup being too dark as though they poured the whole bottle of black dark sauce inside. The few thin pieces of beef were just normal. I prefer Vietnamese Pho in any vietnamese stall or cafe. My friend poured the whole plate of dried chilli flakes inside and ate till he was sweating all over.

 
I had the Siamese Laksa with green curry for about the same price of the beef noodles. The curry had too much santan and I am not a milk person and am too health conscious. There were potatoes, brinjals, carrot and chicken inside. The rice flour noodles were hardened and crumped or balled together.

 
The Thai Herbal Drink (RM 6.90) : Has a little weird taste for my friend but for me it was quite ok just that it was a little sour.

 
Details: Address: Lot 3-15, Jalan Semangat Section 14, Level Three, Jaya Shopping Centre, PJ 46100 Malaysia

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 13, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM48

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Rakuzen at Tropicana Mall  OK Jan 02, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Seafood | Ramen/Udon/Soba


I have never been to Rakuzen and only heard that it is a most expensive place so I did not bother going there. This time round due to a pre-New Year gathering with the girls from Cell Group, I had the chance to see what is the rave about this place.

As per expected, all the prices are over the top especially the sashimi.

S.Miso Zen (RM 48)

The miso soup in a special claypot, is just simply fantastic with the great taste, kept at a position that it was not overly salty like other miso soups. There a few super tiny oysters and mussels inside with mushrooms and cabbage.

 
Yakinuku Zen (RM 40)

The thin sliced beef is quite delicious. The salad at the side is quite tasty. I love the Chawanmushi is amazing, very smooth with ginkgo, mushroom and fishcake. My friend said that she has never eaten so much chawanmushi in her life!

 

 
Dragon MK (RM 38)

My friend ordered the Dragon california roll because she mistakenly thought that there are only 4 pieces inside instead of 6 pieces as served usually in other restaurants. The deep fried prawns are also deliciously tucked inside.

 
SSM Tempura Zen (RM 55)

There were 3 pieces of tempura ebi inside and also brinjals and also vegetables, all beautifully coated with tempura flour. The cooking is not overdone and the tempura does not have small crumbs on it like what I had at Mid Valley Food Court. This set also comes with sashimi like maguro, salmon and another special fish in white that was Hamachi. The sashimi are all very fresh and thick.

 

 
Hama SSM Mori - Sashimi (RM 55)

We thought the portion is as big as the one shown in the photo in the menu but when it arrived, instead of in a boat, it came served in a small Japanese side dish plate! We were so shocked that one of my friends who has big eyes, the eyes popped out, well almost, silently! It consisted of meagre slices of thick salmon, maguro, octopus, scallop, hamachi which were all no doubt fresh.

 
My friends end up still wanting to order by opening the menu to browse for more food.

Suzune Wabi (RM 99)

Since it was a New Year celebration, we ordered the sparkling sake for RM 99 which turned out to be fantastic, and much better than the traditional sake I have tasted for my first time recently. I guess I am more a cocktail person after all.

 
Details:

Rakuzen

G-41/42 Ground Floor

Tropicana City Mall

3, Jalan SS20/27

47400 Petaling Jaya

Tel: 03-7710 7000

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 29, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM335

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood

My friend have always liked the food here. This cafe is opened by China owners. 

There were not many people here despite it being 7.30 pm on a Saturday night. 

It seems like all Sichuan food here are served in mini works.

Fried Mushrooms in Mini Wok (RM 26) has a wonderful mix of 2 types of mushrooms that are the wood mushrooms that come in strands and also white abalone type mushrooms that are cooked together with chili oil, onion, spring onions and sliced garlic. I love this dish the most. 

Stir Fried Wok China Duck (RM 36) is also served in a wok. The duck are a bit too hard for my liking. It is cooked with a lot of red and green chillies and also chilli oil and onions and strips of radish. 

We ordered the Sichuan Spicy Fish (RM 43) that is not as spicy as expected by my friend who ate here before. Previously, it was so spicy to the extent that it burns the lips. The fish pieces are inside in a sea of soup. I felt the fish was ok but I guess my friend had higher expectation due to previous eating experience there. The price is also much more expensive that the Sichuan restaurant in SS14. 

The Pig Stomach in Mini Wok (RM 30) is one that we had never ordered in the first place but the waitress forgot and still served it to us. Luckily 2 of my friends like to eat pig stomach hence they did not feel the smelly smell of the organ. For me, I like pig stomach cooked in Bak Kut Teh but not this as the horrible smell still lingers. 

Our dessert was Deep Fried Yam cooked with Maple Syrup (RM 17.60). The deep fried yam are dipped into iced water to melt the hardened maple syrup so that it tastes better in the mouth. This is the other dish that I liked as the chef has a specific way of making this.

Sichuan food should not be consumed every day due to the load of chilli oil used in the cooking which makes it less healthy.  

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  deep fried yam,mixed wooden mushrooms
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 14, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM169.10

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0