OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3678 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 579 Reviews in Malaysia
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Stall / Warung | Yong Tau Fu


I rarely comment Chee Cheong Fun as tasty. But this one is one of a kind whereby the chee cheong fun sauce looks like Pasembur sauce.I guess the sauce is the reason behind the super long queue, which I joined. I rarely like to queue, but thinking it is Yong Tau Foo, it should be fast. While queuing up, my friend from Holiday Tours came to call me and asked whether I was doing the closing ceremony. She said that the place is closing down and moving to Imbi Plaza soon.

 
There is a variety of Yong Tau Foo ingredients such as foo chuk, fish balls, ladies fingers, pig's skin, etc. I feel that dish is just ok. Only the sauce made the difference.

 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 10, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM11

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Le' Garden Smile Apr 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Business Dining | Private Party

I wonder why it is named Le Gardenz whereas each of the container has a different concept. For instance, the exterior has fake grass on the wall and the outer area has a garden cafe area which most bloggers have featured in their blogs leading to me thinking that's the only thing here.

 
As I walked further, there was a Okinawa Coffee Container and also a container for cooking only pasta.

 
There is a bigger container whereby the decor is more like Teddy Bear and Knights and decorated in old fashioned design with old antiques inside and long wooden tables and old type lights. Entering this container is akin to being transported to a era of a few centuries ago. We could walk up a spiral staircase, and found ourselves inside an elegant looking dining room. There are 2 of such rooms that we could rent out to our friends.

 
Another dining area has laidback seating and also a love tree featuring love locks and roses around it.

 
Next to it, is London Double Decker Bus whereby we could dine inside. Dining inside a container means every movement can be heard on the shaky 'bus'.

 
Here and there, there are creative displays of giant Transformers Figurines inside the Double Decker and also beside the Old-Fashioned Dining Hall. As for the food, they serve Western Food like charcoal burgers, steaks, spaghetti, pasta, pizza and a wide range of drinks to be chosen. Since it was already 6 pm, I didn't want to risk having insomnia by ordering coffee but I am definitely making a comeback to try out the Cotton Candy Espresso. I ordered Yam Latte and also Iron Man Fruit Juice instead.

Hot Yam Latte (RM 9)

There is a beautiful perfect heart on the foam. The drink has a slight yam taste that was not too overpowering.

Iron Man (RM 12)

This is the best fruit juice ever made with banana, pineapple and strawberry whereby all the fruit taste is distinctive. They serve it inside a special bottle that looks arabic or looks like those hard liquor bottles.

 

 
Australian Ribeye Steak (RM 36)

Initially my friend wanted to order Norwegian Grilled Salmon with Herbs but I thought the steak looks better with garlic sauce. It was not bad and done medium rare. I like the grilled potato and carrot that are made to be not that hard and soft enough to be chewed.

 
Braised Lamb Shank (RM 38)

This is by far, much better than any I have had in the past. The huge lamb shank is boiled till very soft and tender and succulent. The thick sauce goes very well with soft smooth mashed potatoes that looked homemade instead of coming out of the can.

 
Lollipop Sumiyaki Coffee Ice-cream (RM 3.20)

I could not resist myself when there is something this special. The ice-cream is rich is coated with white chocolate on the outside.

 
Inside of the Sumiyaki Coffee Lollipop Ice-cream The range of special food here really makes this place lives up to its creative hangout area. Must I mention that even the washroom in container had star wars painted outside?

This place is the best to chillax, relax, have gatherings from small to big from friends and family and also enjoy photo-taking to the max! Details:

Address: Jalan KPB 5, 43300 Seri Kembangan, Selangor, Malaysia

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  yam latte,sumiyaki coffee lollipop,iron man,rib eye steak,lamb shank
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 16, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM109.30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Xenri OK Apr 17, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops | Seafood | Ramen/Udon/Soba


Ever since I heard of Xenri from my mother's friend in Bandar Baru Bangi during university, I have been wanting to visit this place but simply didn't get a chance. When this thought came to me again during my birthday and father's day, the place is fully booked. A few weeks ago, we kept booking and canceling it due to my busy schedule. Then this weekend I am free from my work that was cleared up last week.

When I reached here today to celebrate my 3 Years' Anniversary at Work with my family, we were shocked. Perhaps because we were used by Jogoya or Shogun style whereby the food is displayed outside at the front pavement. All the cooked food are salty and does not look inviting. There is a small place whereby fruits, 3 types cakes, sashimi and sushi were displayed.

 
I was disappointed that there was no unagi or ebi at all! I mean that's the basis of Japanese food, or so I thought!I only seek solace from miserable oysters whereby the size is smaller than my last finger and cooked with with small mushrooms and cheese. The cooking method is good just that the oysters are not refilled fast.

 
It is undeniable that the sashimi is very fresh and served thick for the butterfish, salmon, maguro. One compliment is that the sushi are served in very small pieces like maguro, sweet beancurd skin, salmon etc.

 

 

 
Every once in a while, there would be new sushi such as triangular ones, fake crabstick and cheese. I like the small sizes of these sushi especially the mango ones.

 

 

 
For the salad bar (do you even call it this since this is not separated from the rest?), there are cheap vegetables like mashed potato with carrot, butterhead salad, cucumber, my other favourite which is jellyfish and green wet seaweed. The tomatoes are cut into too big sizes, in quarters! Seriously, such big sizes?

 
The Chawanmushi has only 2 pieces of miserable mushrooms.

The fish like grilled salmon, mackerel, gyoza and saba are normal. They also have the world's smallest mussels that are shrinked. So was the prawn tempura whereby it was no longer crispy and soggy. I like the vegetable karaage which was the only crispy item. All the cooked food are cold except for the stew.

 

 

 

 
There are 2 types of stew:

 
Salmon Fish Head Kimchi Stew Claypot with Glass Noodles.

 

 
Beef Stew Claypot with Glass Noodles

 
The only cakes available are the sweetest in the world such as Red Velvet Cakes with raspberries, Chocolate Cake and also some banana cake.Two drinks available are peach tea, orange juice green tea and cheap Nestle ice-cream.

As for the coffee, I never expected that people would serve such sweet coffee. Based on my experiences of hotel buffets in the whole Malaysia and certain parts of the world, including 4 and 3 star, normally they serve plain black coffee instead of 3-in-1 coffee!

I needed a drink to cool down so I ordered separately, Sakura Shochu (RM 14.30) which was served with very artfully with cute sakura flowers but the taste turned out to be too bitter for us.

 
The final price was RM 56 (before GST) and RM 68 after GST per pax. I guess the price is ok if we just forget about everything I have mentioned above and just come here to stuff yourself silly with sashimi and that would be worth it?

The Setting

-If you do come here, don't be fooled by the waiter to sit in the front area because later I discovered there is this Japanese Traditional setting to dine which is much cooler than the front portion.Details:

Address:
Xenri D'river View, 10, Lorong 4/137c, Bedford
Business Park, 58200 Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Tel: 03 7783 8118

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 17, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM68

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Kimmana Bento  OK Apr 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese

Nowadays, most of us are so health conscious. My male colleague even go to gym during lunch and went on a detox diet. My new colleague even went to the extent of cooking his own food consisting of salad, grilled chicken and things like that for lunch every day
for 2 weeks! He was so hardworking in that segment. No wonder I never get thin
because I kept going for food binges and cannot withstand myself from eating a
lot during a buffet.

Since I am already feeling guilty for not eating healthily and failing my slimming programme, I was so delighted when I chanced upon Kimmana Beauty Bento which focuses on healthy food in bento, format. The word Bento is the slang term for Chinese word 便当 or Bian Dang,meaning conveniently boxed.They have found that although there are similar form of box lunches in many countries, most of them are plain and simple. It is only in Japan, Korea and Taiwan where bentos had really flourished and aesthetically prepared. In their opinion, there is no reason why these great looking, healthy, convenient and time saving boxed lunch cannot be a hit among our Malaysia working class.

 
They had different range such as Gumiho Beauty Bento (RM 17.90), Club Bento (RM 9.90) and Dutch Bento Pizza. I admire the fact that they also have Veggie Club delivery to cater for the vegetarians.

It's very convenient to order a bento. Here are the steps:

1.Choose your bento meal at http://kimnanabento.com

2.Pay online or cash on delivery

3. Receive SMS when bento is about to arrive.
(I received my message the day before)

4. The delivery person will call you when he is arriving.

5.Meet the delivery person at the building entrance

When I brought my bento to my pantry, all my colleagues came to see what I was eating. They admired the pink packaging for my Anti-aging Gumiho Bento and separator for the food.

 
Some info on what is Gumiho Anti-Aging Bento;

GUMIHO
Anti-Aging Bento is a combination of many
super anti-aging and antioxidant foods that are jointly recommended by various nutritional experts and doctors. Famous Taiwanese nutritionist – Wang Hailing mentioned “Woman could become immortal by eating the right food”. The statement may be exaggerated but possibility of slowing aging does exist. Woman should start the action of anti-aging from 25 year-old because that is the critical point of a woman’s body.

Each Gumiho Bento comes with standard rice with sesame, corn and peanuts, Korean Brown Rice Tea.

I chose mine due to its grilled seabass that is lightly cooked with fresh oranges, tomatoes, grapes and other ingredients that resulted in a slightly sweet and sour taste. It fondly reminds me of how my mother cooks, which is the healthy Aussie Jamie Oliver way with natural ingredients.The side dishes are Japanese soft-boiled egg, Taiwanese eggplant cut into small slices, Japanese cucumber and cherry tomato and also boiled broccoli. The food is guaranteed not to be oily at all. But the point is that for bento, we have to ensure we get used to not so hot as in piping hot food unless we warm up using the microwave but do remember not to put the plastic cover over.
 
Delivery Wait Time: 30 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 31, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM17.90

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Rayong Thai  Smile Mar 28, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Seafood


After a whole week of having luxurious international buffets in Langkawi mainly in Westin Hotel and Pelangi Hotel, I am left with not having much appetite for too much varieties. So I decided to whet my appetite the cheap way at Rayong Thai for Saturday dinner. There are many people even at 7 pm due to the cheap and tasty food served here by original Thai cooks.

Set Dinner (RM 18.90)

This time round, I opted for Chilli Seafood gravy set, that almost looks like thick red curry to us. This is well worth the price paid as there are many prawns, octopus, onions and parsley inside. Also included are the basic 2 pieces of deep fried fishcake, 1 glass of cold lemongrass drink and 2 pieces of santan corn dessert wrapped in leaves.

 

 
Stir Fried Asparagus (RM 9.90)

When my friend sent this photo to his mother to guess the price, she could not guess correctly. No one would have thought it would cost merely RM 9.90 for asparagus which is usually an expensive food. The asparagus is not oily and crispy, cooked with onions and carrot till fragrant.

 
Details: Address: Thai Kopitiam, 19G Plaza Danau 2, Jalan 4/109F Taman Danau Desa

 
Recommended Dish(es):  chilli seafood curry
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 26, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30.53

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0