OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3688 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 96 to 100 of 579 Reviews in Malaysia
Hamasho Smile Oct 22, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Seafood

This is a very busy place. I chanced upon it in some blogs. This place is completely, originall Japanese. Never have we been to a Japanese restaurant in the whole Malaysia where the chef and more so, waitresses are also Japanese! Imagine how it feels with cute kawaii Japanese waitresses serving you? 

You feel like you are in restaurant in Japan where there are Japanese everywhere from the chef, waitresses to the Japanese customers who come here due to the authencity. There is smoke of BBQ everywhere too. 

We ordered the giant squid that cost RM 25. It was the best giant squid I have ever eaten. It was soft and springy and nicely barbequed. It was brushed with sake before cooking hence the great taste. 

The Alaskan Mackerel (about RM 25++) was amazing but a tad too salty for me. Probably they have put too much salt when marinating. The flesh was very tender and soft. The waitress almost fainted when my friend split the fish into half as probably it is taboo to do so.

We regretted ordering the expensive tempura (RM 35) which was too soggy and not as crispy as I thought it would be. 

The Salmon Okomoyaki (RM 15) was quite ok but the salmon is very little inside. 

I love the Passionfruit alcoholic drink (RM 16) which so tasty and had a slight alcoholic taste. 

Kawaii

Kawaii

 
Mixed Tempura

Mixed Tempura

 

 

 
Giant squid

Giant squid

 

 
Salmon Okomoyaki

Salmon Okomoyaki

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Alaskan Mackerel,squid
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 11, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM160

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Mukha Smile Oct 22, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Middle Eastern | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops

We were planning to have lunch at Topshelve but finally we ended up eating here since it was closed for Deepavali. 

I first went into Mukha to survey it and fell in love with the fittings and interior. I returned to the place and ordered the Aussie Lamb (RM30) which I initially intented to cancel due to worry of the large portion since the greedy part of me wanted to try the cakes there. 

Thank god I did not cancel the lamb because it is the best I have ever tried in my entire life. The meat was so tender and for the first time in life, I sacrificed my diet and ate all the fats as it was so fragrant as it was infused with honey so much that the whole thing tasted of honey. Normally when people marinate with honey, one can hardly taste the honey. I praised the chef personally. The grilled potato cubes and carrots and sweet pumpkins were the most amazing I have ever tried. 

The Kofta Meatball (RM 16) was the best I have tried. Seriously, I never really liked  meatballs but these were amazing. The meatballs were soft and small compared to the normal ones. It costs just RM 1 extra to add in spaghetti. It was served with tomato and basil sauce. Totally meatball heaven like one cartoon, called "Meatball."

Now it comes to the coffee review. The Gahwa (RM 9) is Mukha's very own blend of coffee, or would I say, very unique experience of drinking coffee. When it arrived, the chinese-styled teapot and teacups made me think they got my order wrongly and I even questioned the waiter twice. The strangest thing is that the coffee is blended with ginger! 

Shahi (RM 10) is Arabian tea boiled with mint leaves. The good thing is that bitterness of the tea is retained. 

The Hazelnut Torie (RM 10) is fantastic. The chocolate cake is so soft. The best part is the chocolate on top with a big hazelnut inside. It was also the last piece in the fridge! I was too late for the peanut butter pie as I was undecided on what to order. The cakes were freshly made there compared to those commercial franchises out there. I so wanted to taste Pavlova but the cream and sugar deterred me. 

The prices of food here is very reasonable as most items cost less than RM 20 except for the Aussie Lamb. 

The ambience is incredible, very quiet and suitable for hangouts, gatherings, reunions and family outings. Halal is also in the shots. 

 
Cake and pastry area

Cake and pastry area

 

 

 
Aussie Lamb

Aussie Lamb

 
Gahwa

Gahwa

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  gahwa,hazelnut torre,aussie lamb
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 22, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM75

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dining Hall  Smile Oct 07, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops

It was raining so heavily and since by the time we reached here, it was too late to watch my movie at AEON Jusco Kepong, so went to Dining Hall in Manjalara. The place is superb as there were so many framed motivational words on the wall. The owner is probably Christian as those words talk about god too. 

My friend ordered the carbonara which is super cheesy. There were 2 thin slices of bacon and supposedly a bull's eye egg but my friend said he did not want it. The carbonara is very thick and creamy and cheesy so many carbonara fans would like the way they cook it here. 

He also ordered a mixed combo sausage from different meat like pork, chicken and all sorts. Just normal to me as I am not a fan of sausage. We were too full to eat them and could not provide a fair review. 

I ordered the Mushroom Soup (9.90) which was amazing. It was very original and one could see the bits of mushrooms which were still visible. It entirely felt like blending the whole mushroom to make the soup. 

The Cucumber juice with honey was fantastic. I am a fan of cucumber juice and this was is just great and more importantly, as pure as real cucumber. 

The Red Wine Lamb Shank was finely roasted. Although my tongue or sense was not strong enough to detect the red wine or the red wine was not marinated enough to be infused into the chicken, the lamb is amazing. It was tender but not too soft like the lamb shank at Secret Recipe which was more similar to lamb stew. I felt that the price was well-worth the food here. 

I am definitely making a comeback here for the lamb shank as I love lamb shank a lot. 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Mushroom soup

Mushroom soup

 

 
Assorted mixed sausages

Assorted mixed sausages

 
Red Wine Lamb Shank

Red Wine Lamb Shank

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bacon carbonara
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 27, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM100

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

VCR Cafe Smile Oct 06, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Sweets/Snack | Desserts | Coffee

Since it was raining and we can no longer go to Janda Baik, we decided to go to VCR coffee since it is quite famous in KL area. We took quite a while to look for the place and finally parked at Swiss Garden Hotel KL for RM 5 which is quite reasonable in KL area. 

The place is painted in black on the outside. The place was crowded with people but surprisingly, it was very peaceful and not as noisy as other high-end popular coffee places. There were a lot of people coming here to do their work on their labtops. Some of the customers are anti-social and every youngster using their handphones to snap photos and then busy uploading them and not talking to each other much. 

There were award winning photographs taken by Alan James which shows issues like Typhoon Haiyan, flood in Thailand and also shark fishing. The ambience is great and perfect for doinng some work there. The music is light and not too noisy. There is a balcony lawn area for smokers too. The staircase is the main item that shows its rusticness. In front of the toilets downstairs, there was a wooden old-fashioned divider. 

I ordered the Cappucino (RM 10) which did not come with the peacock design but just normal heart design on the foam. The barista said that they will do any design that they wish for me. The cappucino is just nice and thick and the coffee flavour is strong enough. 

The Iced Mocha was amazing, and according to my companion, beats the ones at other cafes due to the strong coffee taste and not too much chocolate taste. One can definitely feel the coffee inside. 

We also ordered the King Cake (RM 12) which is the main highlight. It is actually Banana Peanut Butter cake with very little icing or even cream. The thin layer of peanut butter is not too creamy and the thin slices of banana in the middle was fantastic. 

There is free refill of water upstairs with cute sign like "Sharing water is caring." 

Now  I know why many bloggers and reviewers actually give good reviews for the ambience and coffee here. And I  am definitely coming back if I happen to be around Pudu area.

The King

The King

 
Cappucino

Cappucino

 
Iced Mocha, cappucino, The King

Iced Mocha, cappucino, The King

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  king cake,iced mocha,cappucino
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 05, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM32

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Bear Paw Smile Oct 04, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Café | Stall / Warung | Burgers / Sandwiches | Juices / Bubble Tea / Tea / Yogurt

As usual, I was rushing to watch a movie at GSC Paradigm and needed a quick bite. My friend did not want to come here because he thought it was not good but let me try in the end. 

I felt guiltless eating here as the bread is so soft and non-fried. The fried octopus patty is not bad too. I love the lots of salad that came with it. I also requested for more sauce. 

The passionfruit soda was also sour enough. 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 10, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0