OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3688 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 76 to 80 of 579 Reviews in Malaysia
The Gravy Factory  Smile Feb 07, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Western variety | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops | Group/Family dining

I have always wanted to try this place since I first saw it in Empire Damansara. Since I saw it again today, and since the rest of the places were not that special other than Melur and also Puffy something which sells local food, this seems like the better choice. 

I had their signature Hainanese Chicken Chop Set with iced-lemon tea at RM 21.90 which was just ok, probably because I am not a big fan of fried food. However, people who love fried food would love this as the chicken was fried till super crispy. I could not finish the crispy wedges as there was too much of fried stuff for me to handle in a day. The Pineapple Sweet and Sour gravy disappointed me as I expected more taste of the pineapples but it did not have this. 

My friend ordered the Black Pepper Grilled Chicken Chop with Rice and Pappadam (RM 20.90) which was quite tasty and very tender indeed. 

The food prices here are very affordable or shall I say very reasonable. I thought the bill would come up to more than RM 70 but both of our meals for two pax only cost slightly more than RM 30. It was fantastic that they actually have set lunch on public holidays too! Kudos to them. 

The al-fresco dining on the roof top overlooking the city of KL was quite refreshing and not that hot after all. Quite a great place to hang out for travellers. 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 02, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM38

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Alexis @ Jalan Telawi  Smile Feb 02, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Bar & Pub | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops

I wondered why I have never been to this branch of Alexis. Probably because I had the preconception that Alexis is usually expensive ever since I tried the one at Gardens where 1 plate of pasta cost at least more than RM 40. But I admit I love the food here. 

Anyway, since my friend wanted dessert and we were sharing, so I figured it was ok. Anyway, he made the decision for this place in split seconds so I had to agree and I had no other place in mind in Bangsar area which serves delicious desserts and he seemed to know better since he is a Bangsar boy. 

He ordered his favourite Tiramisu which came with a lot of nuts and a scoop of vanilla ice-cream and watery strawberru sauce. But it was a little too creamy for my palate so I just ate a little. 

I drank the Lavender tea while he drank Camomile. Each pot of tea costs RM 13. But I think the tea is not that great because it was not fragrant enough and by the second refill, the taste ran out. This is worse than the chinese tea at the kopitiam. 

The ambience won me hands down. The atmosphere is very romantic and dark upstairs with a Monalisa screen in different attire and done creatively. The sofas were very comfy and made for romance. 

So I guess this more like a place for drinking alcohol instead of tea. But fantastic place for romantic evening for couples. 

 
Tiramisu

Tiramisu

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  tiramisu
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 28, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM60

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Elephant Thai  Smile Jan 22, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles

Every time I come here, I take a long time to find the place. I wonder why. 

Anyway, I like the cafes here as they are located in a residential area. Very quaint, unique and cosy. 

This time I come to Elephant Thai, which I have visited once for a birthday lunch after church.

We ordered the Seafood Green Curry (RM 28) which was so amazing. I love the curry here. The prawns, cuttlefish and fried fish fillet, thinly sliced brinjals and chick peas were fantastic, coated in thick curry. 

In fact, all the food here is incredible which explains why there is always a crowd here. Moreover, if you come on weekends, you have to wait quite long, almost 30 mins for a table. 

The rice is brown rice, which is healthier and makes me less guilty. So from a person who never eat rice for dinner ended up eating rice. 

The Fried Chicken pieces were crispy and fragrant yet the meat was tender. It has changed my perspective of fried chicken. It is something  I might order again. 

I also ordered the Mango Lemongrass Drink (RM 12.90) which was so fragrant and refreshing and cooling. 

This is a great place to eat the best Thai food especially with a big group so that we could try all the varieties. The menu is also very creative with things like pomelo prawn and etc. 

The ambience is also great for hanging out with family and friends. The decor is very creative, made of "E" to represent "Elephant". 

Tantalising, amazing, sexy

Tantalising, amazing, sexy

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  fried chicken pieces,green curry,mango lemongrass
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 19, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM110

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Magnum Cafe Smile Jan 11, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Ice Cream / Froyo / Gelato | Desserts

Finally I am here at the much talked about Magnum Cafe in Mid Valley! I have been wanting to come here all the time ever since I saw my friends post photos in facebook but when I was told how long the queue is and that the wait is not worth the ice-cream which is normal vanilla ice-cream dipped in chocolate and toppings like what Stickyhouse does, I was not that eager to go, especially since I saw a long queue outside the cafe today. 

Finally, since I had some time to kill in between my movie marathon, I decided to try the plated ice-creams to make my experience better. 

It seems like I only had to wait for 10 minutes and my turn reached! Voila! There was not much variety for the plated ice-creams. They also sell food. 

They gave me my best corner at one corner with the sofa cushion. I always like this type of seat. 

Since I am not one to settle for the ordinary Magnum Stick ice-creams, I ordered the Magnum Triflle (RM 25) which was the same order of many customers too. The difference is that I have changed my ice-cream to chocolate flavoured inside and still coated with while chocolate on the outside with raspberries. There was not much taste of the raspberries. There was a tad too much mascarpone inside. I would have preferred it with more chocolate base and nuts. 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 11, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

O banhmi Smile Jan 04, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Vietnamese | Restaurant

I came here with my girlfriend, Wai Cheng to watch the movie, "Paddington Bear" which was incredible. We ended the New Year night 2015 with a fantastic and affordable Vietnamese meal. 

Vietnamese food is usually quite pricey in Malaysia since it is considered an international food but this place provides Viet food at reasonable price in clean and Vietnamese traditional ambience. 

My friend ordered the O'Roasty which was Vietnamese Baguette (RM 11.90) with roasted pork and also a lot of vegetables and  pickles. It would have tasted even better with charcoal baguette. My friend ordered the Iced Lemon Tea which looks nice too. 

I ordered the Dry Grilled Chicken Vercimelli (RM 11.90) which was the most delicious dry vercimelli that I have ever eaten. The big portion makes the price so worth it. There were so many pieces of chicken inside that I worry i would turn into a chicken after eating it. Thankfully, they gave me the thigh and drumstick parts which were my favourite. There were a lot of bean sprouts, carrots and raw vegetables too. When eaten with the Vietnamese diluted chilli sauce which lent the sourish sweet taste, the fusion was amazing. The Viet Chilli Sauce made in Perak was also so tasty and spicy enough. 

The warm lemongrass drink (RM 5) was so fragrant and refreshing and best of all, at half the price we normally pay at Vietnamese and Thai restaurants in Malaysia. 

I bet the Vietnamese Drip Coffee is amazing too but could not drink coffee at night. Maybe next time together with charcoal baguette. 

The ambience is also cool and great for hang out with friends. 

 

 
Superb

Superb

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  o roasty,lemongrass drink,dry vercimelli
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 01, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM18

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0