OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3711 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 579 Reviews in Malaysia
Sushi Tsen OK Sep 20, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Seafood

We were walking around trying to find something to eat at Dataran 3 Two Square. Finally,  I decided to try Sushi Tsen since it was the most reasonably priced Japanese food available. 

My friend ordered the Cha Soba which only costs RM 8.80. The soup was so clear and soothing. The money paid is well worth the price too. 

The Salmon Toro (RM 8.80) was quite ok and a little thick but not that thick. Just average in terms of thickness. Perhaps for that price, you cannot expect it to be as good as the one in those fancy restaurants whereby you pay RM 38 for sashimi. It came with Butterfish and also Salmon which were quite ok though incomparable to places like Kinpachi and Gyu Raku. But then again, for this price, what can you expect? 

The Salmon Wrap (RM 11.80) are basically salmon and rice skin roll. The rice skin is paper thin which makes this tasty and easy to chew. This is recommended if you come here. 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 21, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM60

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Roti Babi @ Pulau Tikus Market OK Aug 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Stall / Warung

Frankly, I have never eaten roti babi for ages, ever since my grandmother was around. My grandmother used to cook this at home when she was still alive. I am not really a big fan of his as I dislike minced pork. Anyway, since my uncle from UK has never tried this before, we ordered this for his sake. 

The roti babi is deep fried bread with egg sandwiching minced pork. But this stall mixed the minced pork together with sengkuang hence making me feel that I was eating jiu hu char or stir fried sengkuang. So for both mum and I, this is not really what roti babi is. 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 07, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant

Being a Penangite, I am a little embarassed to say that I do not know much about the hawker centres here whenever my KL friends ask me for recommendations. So this time, for my Penang trip, I decided to make it a voyage to my heritage of food. So here I am at this food court for the first time in my life, after 'forcing' mum to bring me to somewhere I have never been! (cheeky grin!) 

Since I have never eaten loh bak yet, I decide to try it. Alright, I admit I ordered it due to the inviting octopus that I love. Of course, I added in one century egg, 1 short roll of loh bak. 

The loh bak is just normal, shall I say, edible? Haha...

As for octopus, quite ok and great that they sliced it into smaller portions, for my small mouth and to make it more palatable. 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 07, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tsukemen & Izakaya Ieyasu  OK Aug 04, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Seafood | Ramen/Udon/Soba

We were going to watch La Bayadere ballet at Istana Budaya so we thought of going somewhere nearby to eat. My friend brought me to Avenue K since it is the nearest mall. 

Since I am having a craving for Japanese food, I decided on the most difficult to pronounce restaurant which was Tsukemen and Izakaya Ieyasu at the top level. The place looks quite alright in terms of ambience but there were few people eating there.

My friend ordered his favourite Tempura Moriawase (RM 18) which was just normal and not that great. I felt that the batter was not nicely done. 

The 3 kinds of sashimi (RM 48) with octopus, salmon and butterfish was not fresh enough, compared to even the ones at Sakae Sushi. I think I have eaten too many of the better ones. 

The Goma Ramen (RM 25) which was ramen with thick sesame soup was lives up to its name and to the recommendation of the waitress. There was half an egg, vegetables and a very thin slice of pork. The soup was delicious and we almost finished everything. 

The Yakitori Moriawase (RM 28) was the worst I have ever eaten in my entire life. The worst is that all the meat and items were deep fried instead of barbecued to tenderness like what we normally eat outside. In fact, the chicken liver was also too hard. The chicken skin was too hard too. The pork has too much fat and also too hard. The BBQ garlic and also celery which we did not touch as I was afraid of making my mouth smelly. It is also weird that they serve this together with raw egg yolk. 

The green tea costs RM 2 each. 

After the meal, they gave us complimentary red bean soup with sago. It was just ok as I am  not a fan of red bean.

The entire bill costs RM 121 which was quite expensive and not worth the price for the terrible sashimi and also Yakitori. 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  goma ramen
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 25, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM121

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Yoshinoya and Hanamaru Udon  OK Jun 28, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen/Udon/Soba

I have seen this place opened for quite a while and noticed that the price of the food is quite reasonable at RM 12.80. The place is designed in a food court style. We could not even get a table despite paying RM 55.60 for this type of food in an environment like this. Mum said they don't even have a waiter bringing us to the table and we had to look for own table. Mother was complaining about the expensive price whereas for me, I think the price is quite reasonable, that is, if you compare it to other Japanese restaurants. 

We could not even find an empty table and had to wait at least 5 minutes for a table. I wonder why the place is so packed. I personally did not like to eat Udon because I prefer soba which is thinner. I do not like udon except when it is fried. 

Me and dad ordered the Curry Udon at RM 12.80. The curry is thick enough and one thing is for sure, it is not as powdery as some others that I have tried. There are only a few meagre pieces of carrots and onions and 2 potato chunks inside. I could even count the toppings inside! Seriously! 

Mum ordered the Spicy Miso Chicken Udon (RM 12.80). The miso soup was thankfully not as salty as the ones elsewhere. There was a watery half-boiled egg for this. This is mother's words as I did not get to try it. 

The most expensive is the tempura which costs RM 4.80 each. We ordered two which costs RM 9.60. It is terrible as it is too expensive and the air has gone inside making it soggy. It is not particularly soggy but more to the air going in. A word of caution: Do not order tempura here unless you are willing to pay RM 4.80 for sogginess.

The tempura vegetables cost RM 3.80 but this is better than the tempura ebi as this is crispier and has more ingredients such as seaweed and carrots.  

The Chawanmushi costs RM 3.80 each. There was no topping inside at all. I still prefer Chawanmushi in normal Japanese restaurants especially at Sakae Sushi which comes with fake shark's fins. 

The tea costs RM 1.50 per pax. We spilled ours when trying to pour the tea. 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 28, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM55.60

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0