OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity3711 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2047 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 61 to 65 of 579 Reviews in Malaysia
Tomoe Japanese Restaurant  Smile Nov 11, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen/Udon/Soba

FINALLY I got the chance to dine at Tomoe. My university roomate once told me about how great the sushi in Tomoe is. Suddenly, today, my friend decided to bring me there.

Tomoe has genuine Japanese food as the chef is Japanese. Hence, many Japanese guests come due to this originality. Due to Japanese culture whereby they can smoke everywhere so it was a little disturbing for my nose when there were people smoking inside an exclusive restaurant.

My friend ordered the Awayuki Sashimi (RM 60) that contains Jyo Akami (Special Tuna), Kanpachi (Amber Jack), Salmon and Tako (Octopus). The sashimi slices are very thick, fresh and air-flown from Japan. In fact, Amber Jack melts in my mouth very easily. 

After that, we ordered the California Maki (RM 15) - the only cheapest maki in the menu as it only has vegetables and avocado. I felt there is not much to shout about for this dish. 

My personal favourite is the Double Boiled Soup (RM 25) which was served in a small antique traditional teapot together with 2 small teacups. Inside the soup, there are shitake mushroom, shimeji, chicken, 1 big prawn. This is very sweet and natural from the chicken being cooked for a long time. 

The only downside is that the portions here are a tad too little. I felt that Yuzu has a wider range of food with huge portions for the set meals and is sold at almost only RM 45+++. 

We also ordered the Kimuchi Itame (beef) (RM 25)  that is sliced very thinly and stir fried together with onions, cabbage, carrot, mini xiao pak choy. It would have been better if they gave us more sauce as per shown in the photo. We ordered white rice (Gohan) for a whopping RM 6! 

The Hirame Karaage (RM 15) is actually deep fried flounders' fish which has a lot of bones.  Moreover, my friend even choked after eating this due to too many small bones. The fish flesh is very tender and soft and fresh. The fish is covered with salt. One has to be very careful when eating this. This is actually seasonal and is written with hand on their whiteboard menu. 

The Mixed Ice-cream of matcha and also black sesame (goma) is sold at RM 18. The black sesame is very intense and has a strong flavour. This is served with a little red bean paste. This is the best combo of Japanese ice-cream as it combines two of the most famous Japanese flavours that are Goma and Matcha. It is considered a match made in heaven. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  double boiled soup,kimuchi itame,awayuki sashimi
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 10, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM194.70

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Olive Garden  Smile Nov 10, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Seafood

I just discovered the Olive Garden Restaurant in Mid Valley mall. I was drawn inside by the waiter who informed us that any main dish can get free unlimited soup or House Salad. Everything is served together with grated cheese. 

I ordered the Five Cheese Ziti Pasta (RM 29.90) which is very cheesy with tiny minced meat sprinkled on top with grated cheese. The pasta is simple yet quite good. 

With this al dente pasta, we could get a free soup that comes together with soft bread. The bread is even better than the one at Dominos and Pizza Hut. The best part is also the bread is not oily. 

We could have a choice of 3 soups but of course me being the food reviewer, I tried all of them that are Pasta e Fagioli, Alfredo Chicken and Gnocchi and also Minestrone. If not for this promotion, each soup would have cost RM 11.80 per soup. The Pasta e Fagioli is a tad too salty for me with beans, onions, beef, tomato and pasta. 

Alfredo Chicken and Gnocchi soup is just normal with a bit too much cream. There are pieces of chicken and carrot inside with cream. 

The Minestrone is so delicious with no cream. There are shell type pasta inside together with capsicum, carrot, carrot. The soup is not as salty as the first one. 

I thought that every Italian place has great coffee so I ordered the Cappuccino (RM 8.90) but it turned out to be terrible that I could not even finish it. There was simply too much foam and bubbles inside and not taste of coffee at all. 

The other main dish I ordered is the Shrimp Aglio Olio (RM 28.90) which was done al dente and not even oily. There are cooked it together with capcicum cubes and has 4 big prawns. 

With this main dish, we could order the unlimited House Salad which comes served in enormous glass bowl. The salad contains fresh green salad vegetables and croutons, shredded carrots and purple cabbage. 

The Hot Chocolate looks tasty but I was not sure about the taste because I have no chance to try it. The Lipton Iced Tea (RM 9.90) was too sweet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 10, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM87.10

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great Taste Hong Kong Dim Sum  Smile Nov 10, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles | Dim sum

My friend who lives in USJ always go to this Dim Sum place. The price is very reasonable. 

The pork ribs (RM 4.50) are quite sweet and tender. I am someone who never eat pork ribs in dim sum cafe but this time I did. 

The Bacon Dim Sum (RM 4.00) was a quite cold and hard so it was not that nice probably it was steamed too many times. 

The Shrimp Chee Cheong Fan (RM 5) was quite delicious, albeit the skin was not transparent and thin enough. 

The Sichuan Dumpling (RM 4.50) was quite delicious and not that spicy. The filling is quite soft and tender. The price tag of Sichuan Dumpling is much better than Din Tai Fung's dumpling if you don't want to pay for the ambience and special service. 

The Soyabean Sauce Dumpling (RM 4.50) was a quite cold when I ate it. I felt it was not that special though it looks tasty in the photo. 

Finally, I was so glad to have found the best Fried Carrot Cake / Char Koay Kak (RM 5) in the whole Klang Valley. Some hawkers actually make it in whitish colour instead of blackish for Penang style. There are a lot of bean sprouts and the cake is chopped into small pieces as per request. I am definitely coming back for this in future. 

When the Steamed Pao (RM 5) was seen in the photo, looks like it is fried but then looks are deceiving. It is actually healthy paos that are steamed and it contains pork with chives. The skin is very thin and done the way I like it. I usually dislike pastry because I do not like flour much. It is dipped into vinegar together with sliced ginger. The pao is the tastiest I have ever eaten. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
MUST-TRY

MUST-TRY

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  sichuan dumpling,steamed pao,fried carrot cake,chee cheong fan
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 07, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM39

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chu Cha Dan Fan  Smile Nov 10, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood

It is weird that I never knew this amazing place in Section 14 only. Even better is that they sell Sichuan food. 

The highlight here is the Sichuan Water South Fish (RM 25) which had the fish slices swimming in a lot of chilli oil. There are also long fresh bean sprouts and noodles inside. I particularly like the noodles inside. The fish meat is very tender, succulent and springy. The meat pieces are sliced very thin, so that it is easy to eat. 

The Dumplings (RM 8) are the best and cheapest I have ever eaten. The pork meat and cabbage filling are very soft and delicious. 

The Pu Er Tea (RM 6) is quite ok. 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  sichuan fish
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 06, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM39

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

My Espresso Cafe  Smile Nov 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café

My friend insisted I came to this place due to the awesome coffee made by the barista who is also the boss. 
I ordered the 6 oz double shot coffee with milk (RM 10) with some addition of macadaemia syrup which enhanced the flavour of my coffee. The coffee is served at temperature that is not overly hot yet just nice that it cannot burn your lips. It is also thick enough for me. They allow us to add any of the Monin flavours.

My friend ordered Scarlet Temptation (RM 11) which actually contains strawberry syrup, soda and also a scoop of vanilla ice-cream. It is a good combination of the creamy stuff from the ice-cream and different flavours. 

Any order of coffee enables us to order the Special Dark Chocolate Truffle for RM 2 per piece instead of RM 3. The chocolate is simply sinful and leaves you addicted to it. 

When I heard they sell alcoholic cakes, I did not hesitate to order the Opera Cake (RM 16), the most expensive of the lot and comes with coffee, chocolate and also alcohol. I absolutely like the top layer of chocolate on top of the cake. 

I would like to come back to try the pistachio latte.

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  scarlet temptation,special dark chocolate truffle,opera cake
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 07, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM41.40

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0