OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended18 Recommended
Popularity3661 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2045 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 579 Reviews in Malaysia
Yeast Atelier  Smile Aug 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Café | Sweets/Snack

 
When I first saw many blogs detailing the great French food at Yeast, I have kept a wish to try the food here one fine day. But it seems the price is quite expensive here till I decided to walk in today to check out the price, when my friend wanted to treat me for my belated birthday lunch. I was bored of Mid Valley that he wanted to go originally.

 

 

 
Cappucino-Hazelnut (RM 14)

They actually sell the best cappuccino I have ever tasted in my life. It is very dark full of chocolate taste.

 

 

 
Duck Confit (RM 36)

This duck confit is much better than the one at Alexis. It is so much more tender and the skin is also soft. The salad has light dressing too and not as thick as mayonaise or thousand island. There are a few pieces of roasted potatoes to eat together. There are also some deep fried onions, fried till crispy and fragrant.

 

 
Cocotte (RM 20)

The Filipina waitress recommended Cocotte to us. The boiled egg inside is so fluffy and soft. The egg tastes so well with the french bread albeit too hard to be bitten. The egg here is better than some others.

 

 

 

 

 
Chocolate Lava Molten Cake (RM 27)

This seems to be the only dessert in the menu that comes with pistachio ice-cream so I ordered it though I felt that molten chocolate lava cake is quite normal nowadays and not that great. Yeast has a lot of other pastries that are freshly made too. Nevertheless, the pistachio ice-cream was did much consolation for the normal cake as normally people only serve this cake with vanilla ice-cream.

 

 

 

 

 
Fancy hearing me say that what I like most about Yeast is the French music inside the washroom! The washroom also looks classical french!

 
The food is cooked fresh here. The small cafe is teeming with patrons all the time whether it is dinner or breakfast time as they have food for all timings.

The only disadvantage is that you pay for a high price but sit at hot humid cafe as the air-condition is not powerful enough also due to the open door concept.

 
Details:

Add: 24-1 Jalan
Telawi 2 Bangsar 59100 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Tel: +603 2282 0118

Fax: +603 2283 3118

 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 08, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM120

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Potion Factory  Smile Aug 07, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Stall / Warung | Juices & Smoothies / Bubble Tea / Tea


After finishing our high tea at Daan Daan, we went to Potion Factory which is right beside.

The decoration is quite special with potion bottles.

 

 

 
All the juices here are 100% cold pressed, 200% natural, with no sugar, preservatives and additives added.

All the juices here are made using the cold press method whereby coldpress is a revolutionary method of extracting nutrients and liquid out of raw fruits and vegetables. Unlike other extraction methods, cold press doesn't generate heat, which means extraction preserves most of the taste and essential nutrients. Every bottle of potion is concentrated with maximum amount of essential nutrients and bursting with living enzymes to provide instant health hit to the bloodstream.

 

 

 

 

 
The potions available are:

1. Bless - Detoxifier - with spinach, apple, wheatgrass, lemon

2. Orange - Boost Immune System - with 100% Valencia oranges

3. Energy-Energy Booster - with banana, pineapple, pear, chia seed.

4. Immunity Potion-orange, apple, carrot, lemon

5. Ice Potion-Guava, apple, lime, chia seeds.

- This is one of the best drink as the mix of sweetness and sourness was amazing.

6.Health Potion-Detoxifier - Beetroot, apple, lemon, ginger

-I also like this as beetroot has a lot of vitamins and nutrients. Ginger taste is quite strong so those who dislike ginger would not be able to stand this.

Details:

Add: EV-F-K07,Evolve Concept Mall, PJU1A/4 Ara Damansara, Petaling Jaya, Selangor Malaysia.

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 06, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM9.99

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sakura Sakura  Smile May 22, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen/Udon/Soba | Private Party


We run out of Japanese places to eat! OH NO!!!

He came to rescue and brought me to this place called Sakura Sakura even though we were having some conflict at the moment. I guess I am the world's luckiest girl!

This place is brimming with Japanese and locals alike. Many Japanese frequent the Japanese restaurants in this areas that are opened and operated by Japanese.

Appetizer was mashed potato . I wonder why Japanese restaurants serve mashed potato as appetizer. Doesn't this make people too full to eat the next item? Luckily it is not too creamy like how others do this.

 
Sashimi Set (RM 42)

All the sashimi costs RM 80 and above so I didn't order those in order to save money. Luckily I found a cheaper version of Sashimi Set that even comes together with Japanese white rice, miso soup, a piece of watermelon and honeydew.

The butterfish, salmon, tuna and prawn sashimi are very fresh and seems to melt in my mouth!

 

 
Curry Nabe (RM 32)

I thought my this is just a normal claypot stir fried pork slices but it turned out to be curry soup with chicken, cabbage, bean sprouts and cherry tomatoes! This is very appetizing for dinner.

 
Details:

Address: Sakura Sakura Japanese Restaurant, No. 4 & 4A, Jalan SS12/1B Subang Jaya Selangor

Tel: 03-5637 9185

 
Recommended Dish(es):  sashimi set
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 21, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM86.30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Xing Hot Pot  Smile May 22, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hotpot | BBQ


Usually we won't drive so far all the way to Cheras Selatan to eat anything. Initially I declined the offer then suddenly, I went because of fellowship. Thank god Saturday is Wesak Day so a lot of Malaysians are on leave on Friday.

Xing Hot Pot is located in a commercial area called C180, a bit weird for an area like this. I was surprised that the AEON Cheras Selatan that I used to go for movies in university, has developed into such a busy area with a lot of cafes. There is even an Ibis Style Hotel! Beside the Ibis Hotel, there is a staircase that leads upstairs to the commercial area whereby Xing is the only cafe.

Surprisingly, the seafood at Xing is very fresh. Unlike the description by other bloggers, that we have to be kiasu and stand beside the aquarium in order to get the live tiger prawns to be barbecued, I did get 2 chances. I admit I waited till an hour later before I saw it swimming in the aquarium and I even got the chance to eat it twice! The prawns are so fresh, swimming and jumping off the glasses! The taste is springy too!

 

 
The other blogs and facebook also described Xing waiters as not helpful but it turned out my experience was good whereby when I arrived, they gave me plates though they needn't do so since it's a buffet. They even helped me put the sticks through the live prawns and brought us 3 big plates of slices beef, pork and lamb.

 

 

 
Upon arrival, normally hungry customers can go to the cooked food corner and grab some noodles, salad, fried food like chicken wings, prawns, clams etc.

There were many choices of vegetables, fishballs, yong tau foo stuff, many varieties of noodles from ee foo mee to fish paste noodles, and also 2 refrigerators containing BBQ satay sticks made in very cute yakitori style and the other for steamboat items.

 

 

 
My personal favourite are the BBQ sticks such as my favourite snails, taiwanese sausages (mini version), BBQ fish and shimsamo. We can BBQ all that on mini BBQ pits on every table.

 

 

 
They just have too much seafood here like clams, prawns (normal and tiger prawns), scallops (smaller version), oysters (very small ones), bamboo clams, snails etc. I felt like I was in a seafood restaurant instead of plain steamboat.

 

 

 

 

 

 
For soup, there are choices of herbal chicken, clear, tomyam and pork bone soup.

There is also myriad drinks like chinese tea, lemon tea, sweet herbal tea, orange juice. As for desserts, there are red bean soup, green bean and also sweet glutinous balls. Most of them are super sweet.

 
There is even a fridge for ice-cream from Magnolia and Kings ice-cream sticks in flavours like lemon lime, orange, chocolate etc.

 
For the price of only RM 49.90 per pax, it is well worth the money. If you live around this area of Cheras or Balakong, then should not miss this steamboat!Details:

Address: E-UG-10, Centerstage, Dataran c180, Jalan c180/1, Cheras, Jalan Kasturi, Taman Kasturi, 43200 Batu 9 Cheras,
Selangor, Malaysia

 
Recommended Dish(es):  tiger prawn
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 20, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM49.90

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Rayong Thai  Smile May 02, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Seafood


I have been wanting to bring my parents here for so long and finally decided to do it tonight since they love thai food. The price here is very cheap and worth the originality of the food. These are our orders;

Pineapple Fried Rice (RM 11.90)

This is super fragrant and well worth the price with the amount of prawns, octopus, pineapples and vegetables used.

 

 
Mixed Vegetables (RM 8.90)

The mixed vegetables are just nice and tasty, not too oily too.

 

 
Tomyam Set (RM 18.90)

As usual the set comes with 2 pieces of fried fish cakes, 1 lemongrass drink, 2 santan corn pudding desserts, 1 white rice. The tomyam seemed to be cooked for 4 pax instead of only 1 pax.

 
Lime Steamed Fish (RM 35.90)

The lime is just nice and not too sour and the fish is superb with very tender flesh. Dad even drank every sip of the sauce!

 
Fresh Thai Coconut Juice (RM 6.90)

The coconut juice is very sweet and refreshing.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  pineapple fried rice,tomyam,lime fish
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 01, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM90

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0