OpenRice Index
  
Catherinesee
This is Catherinesee living in Damansara (KL). I am a Regional Sales I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Damansara Town Centre. Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Mexican are my favorite cuisines. I also love Food court, Restaurant and Steaks / Chops, Porridge.
Member 182 First(s)
No. of Review579 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended18 Recommended
Popularity3661 View(s)
Replies in Forum7 Comment(s)
Upload Photos3058 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant464 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲2045 Follower(s)
Catherinesee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 579 Reviews in Malaysia
Charlie's Cafe Cry May 22, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Café | Desserts | Nasi Lemak


After discovering this enclave of food heaven in Taman Bukit Desa, I have come back to try the rest of the cafes here. For today, I wanted to try the udon but it seemed that there a Gawai celebration at Charlie's. There was a canopy with stage set up for their festivalities such as traditional games.Due to the set up, it makes me think that the food must be tasty and genuinely Sarawakian so I decided to change lunch venue. There is very limited food choices here having serve only Sarawak Laksa, Nasi Lemak, Tom Yam Soup Noodles and some scones and cakes.

Sarawak Laksa (RM 13.90)

How can people eat Sarawak food without having the popular Sarawak Laksa? So I ordered it but it came with fishballs and no long beans like what I ate in Kuching or the one I had in Sarawak House in One City.

 
Nasi Lemak Serai Wangi (with Ayam Goreng Berempah) (RM 9.90)

The rice has too much santan. The cracker is too big. The chicken is the one edible. For goodness sake, I wonder how does nasi lemak makes this Sarawakian? Thank god we didn't order the chicken chop which was just a slab of deep fried chicken with french fries, not very good for the calories!

 
Sarawak Coffee (RM 2.50)

The coffee is thick enough and kind of sweet. They don't even have the 3 Layer Coffee that Kuching is famous for! My companion said that the iced milo (RM 3.80) is not tasty too.

Details:

Add: 29, Jalan Bukit Desa 5, Taman Bukit Desa

Tel: 0128160003

 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 21, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30.10

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

D'Empire @ Main Place  Cry Feb 21, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | French | Restaurant | Burgers / Sandwiches


I have passed by this restaurant twice. We failed to eat at the tasty Dim Sum place in USJ which was closed on a Saturday morning, at about 11 am so we tried to look around and the other one opposite is horrible but they still charge RM 4.50-6 per plate for some meat with smell and not made properly whereby the seaweed is torn for the seaweed dim sum.

D'Empire has very artsy character with a brilliant painting on the wall. This restaurant seems to have been decorated by a great interior designer whereby the result was art on the wall. At certain corners and also near the entrance, are different types of sofa / lounges for chilling out. The ambience is amazing except that the food is too expensive and the taste didn't justify the price.

 
I was just drawn inside due to the set lunches which were not cheap from RM 19 for spaghetti bolognaise to RM 25-40-50 for lamb and meat.

Country Risotto Set (RM 26 - comes with drink and meal)

The risotto is so normal, somewhat like what I ate in Goose Bar, near Busselton Jetty, Perth. There was no seafood inside and only simple things like yellow and green zucchini, tomato and onion.

 
Spaghetti Cartocio Set (RM 37)

This set comes with a minestrone soup and also a soft drink. At least this is a little more special whereby they baked the spaghetti bolognaise inside an aluminium wrap. Inside, there are 2 pieces of mussels, big lala and big prawns. The spaghetti in Malaysia is never made al dente.

 
The minestrone soup is a little too watery according to my mother. It also lacks pasta as what minestrone soup is known for it.

 
Even the warm water costs RM 1 per glass here!

Details:

Address: Jalan USJ 21/10; Petaling Jaya, Malaysia.

Phone, +60 3-8021 5796

 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 20, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM64

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hungry Bunch  Cry Jan 03, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops


I was drawn by the advertisement of pancake for only RM 3 and went in. It is typical customer's attitude, come on!

Surprisingly, as a cafe in a shopping mall, the F&B here is quite cheap, which explains why the place is so full of people and it took so long for the food to arrive.

Club Sandwich (RM 12)

OK, my friend ordered this because I told him he needs to adopt a healthier eating diet to slim down. I mean, come on, why eat deep fried items all the time?

The Club Sandwich is average. It came with 3 layers of creamy and mayonaise-ladden ham, salad lettuce, and cheese. The bread is a little soggy.

This is the first time that I eat French Fries that are not only soggy but has a weird smell and are black. Of course there is no such thing as charcoal fries! I asked the waiter and they said it is like that originally.

 
Mint Ade (RM 6)

The Mint Ade is just average, something like fresh peppermint leaves and soda or sprite and some sugar syrup.

 
Strawberry Pancake (RM 3)

Seriously, the receipt proved this fact but I challenge you to order this and bite through the pancake. You would soon realize you are biting through cardboard pancake, which is so hard, compared to even the cheapest pancake mix you get from the supermarket. I am a person who hates wasting food but this time round, I am so sorry I had to do this. The only edible thing is the strawberry and the melted ice-cream.

 
No offense on my comments above but then again perhaps the other food are ok as it was probably not my lucky day?

Details:

Address: Hungry Bunch, Sunway Pyramid Shopping Centre, F1.75, No. 3, Jalan PJS 11/15, Bandar Sunway 46150 PJ Selangor

 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 29, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM24.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Jaads Sandwiches  Cry Oct 11, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Burgers / Sandwiches

I was here for a business event tonight so I wanted something quick and thought this sandwich would do the trick. It turned out that the Tuna Sandwich (RM 9.20) was too creamy due to overload of mayonaise. 

The 2 portions of baguette could be shared between 2 pax but I finished both myself since I was the only one there. 

I think the price is appalling for a simple sandwich with lettuce and tuna. Never going there for sure especially since the washroom has a certain smell emitting that made me nauseous. 

I glass of plain warm water cost RM 0.60! 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 8 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 09, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM11

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Xiao Long Bao @ Shanghai Ding  Cry Aug 09, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles | Dim sum

Every time I return to Penang, I would never fail to come here for its Xiao Long Bao which is quite tasty. At the price of RM 8.80, the 4 pieces were quite ok. Somehow, this time, I felt that the skin is a little too thick. 

I also tried to order to the Chicken Mushroom Pao (RM 5.80) which was quite normal. But it was better than the normal pao. 

The Pu Er Chinese Tea only costs RM 2.40 for 2 pax. 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 09, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15.90

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0