OpenRice Index
  
This is tunapanda living in Petaling Jaya. I am a StudentI like to hang out in Kuala Lumpur, Damansara (KL), Subang. Asian, International/Western, Special, Anything and Everything are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant, Bistro and Pizza/Pasta, Burgers / Sandwiches, Ice Cream / Froyo / Gelato, Sashimi, Sushi, Lasagna, Dim Sum.
Member 9 First(s)
No. of Review321 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity425 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos391 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant1 My Restaurant(s)
Follow2 Following
粉絲461 Follower(s)
tunapanda  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 321 Reviews in Malaysia
The Grind Burger Bar @ Section 17 Smile Jul 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Burgers / Sandwiches

 
A really nice vintage poster.

 
The interior spatial layout. Feels really comfortable.

 
The JD Burger

The JD Burger. JD stands for Jack Daniels. The reason why I ordered this was pretty obvious, its the first time in Malaysia that I've seen a 'alcoholic' burger. I mean I knew that they may just grill the patties in minimal Jack Daniels, but I still wanted to try it.

Upon my first bite, I was expecting to taste the sweetness of the alcohol, but it just wasn't there. The patty felt as if it was just grilled on normal oil or butter. I mean, its juicy, but not what I'd expect. WHERE IS THE JACKKK DANIELS?! I ordered the JD Burger for a reason, and the reason is not that I wanted to eat a regular American Burger. I wanted to see how the JD was incorporated with the patty itself.

It failed on that part, but besides that, the whole burger tasted good. Patty was really tender and moist, the lettuce was fresh, the sauce was succulent and the cheese was melting. Its all good as a REGULAR burger, but not with the name Jack Daniels in it. I won't recommend this burger, but if anyone wants to try, please do.

 
The Grind House Burger

The Grind House Burger. It could possibly be one of the top 3 favourite burgers that I like. The whole burger felt really complete. There wasn't anything lacking.

The red mayo-like sauce was simply delicious. Spicy and tangy yet so different compared to regular spicy mayonnaise really makes a huge difference. The burger consists of beef patty, eggs, lettuce, bacon and cheese. Simple ingredients, perfect combination. I would personally rate it 8.5/10 and that is the highest I've ever gave to a burger, in comparison with other burger joints like myBurgerLab, Burgertory and Krayon Burger.

The french fries comes in herbs. I thought the fries given was regular fries, and tried to order the 'herb-fries'. The waiter then told me that the fries given with the burger was also 'herbed'. So I decided to order the Chilli Cheese Fries instead. Anywho, they have their own sauce, similar to myBurgerLab's Red Sauce. It taste pretty similar as well, just different in color. It has a spicy and zingy feeling to it, really liked it!

 
Chili Cheese Fries

The Chilli Cheese Fries. Looks and smells amazing, but there is a downside to it. The cheese in the middle was hardened before we could dig it. Therefore making our fries not sloppy enough. The flavours of the cheese can't be fully infused into the fries. Such a pity though. The cheese was quite good. Overall, I would recommend it, but just don't expect the best Chilli Cheese Fries there is out there.
 
Date of Visit: Mar 23, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM25(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Salmon Burger Smile Jun 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Burgers / Sandwiches

Salmon Burger

Salmon Burger

 
The salmon was really soft, tender and fresh. I could feel the salmon falling apart really nicely. That added sweetness that wraps the salmon gave it added flavour. Cheese was melted delightfully on top of the salmon, somehow holding it together. Fresh cherry tomatoes marinated with herbs gave the it a slight tangy kick as well. Caramelized onions and green lettuce to balanced the overall flavour.
 
Date of Visit: May 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Oxtail Soup Smile Sep 30, 2013   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Western variety | Café | Steaks / Chops | Nasi Lemak

 
Warm, hearty and rich. SAVARO's version of traditional English Soup has an added zing of hints of curry, with a distinctive beefy goodness of soft chunks Australian beef tail, slow-cooked in a special broth. Each sip is guaranteed to make you longing for more.

I have to agree with the description above (gotten from the menu). The soup was really rich and full of flavour. Dipping the artisan's toast into the soup and consuming it was just heavenly. I have no complains whatsoever about the soup. Excellent.

However, having said that, I did have a second bowl, only to discover that the second bowl wasn't as great. I've then made a conclusion that the soup was only good as a starter, even if you wish for more, don't. Also, the price is a little too pricey for me. If only they tone it down.
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hot Chocolate Smile Sep 30, 2013   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Western variety | Café | Steaks / Chops | Nasi Lemak

 
This hot chocolate took me by surprise. I've never tasted anything like it. The first few sips tasted like regular hot chocolate but after awhile, the after taste starts kicking in. It was something different, I could not guess what was mixed together with this hot chocolate and the owner/manager will not tell as well. But anyhow, it was a really delicious cup of hot chocolate. One of the few best I've tried.
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

SS Lime Smile Sep 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Western variety | Café | Steaks / Chops | Nasi Lemak

 
SAVARO's very own fruit punch creation of strawberry extract and lime juice combined and topped with soda water, kaffir lime and mint leaves. To perfect this concoction, you will need to crush the mint leaves immediately before consuming.

This was the first drink that was served to us. It is called the SS Lime, however, I prefer to call it "Bloody Mary" because of the flowing strawberry extract. It looks visually stunning as I was awed by its floating 'blood'. Taste wise, it has just the right amount of strawberry sweetness along with a little sourness and fizziness. Absolutely loved it.
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0