OpenRice Index
  
Max Chin
This is Max Chin living in Setapak. I work in Kuala Lumpur City Center. I like to hang out in Kuala Lumpur City Center, Setapak, Bandar Utama. Korean, Japanese, Chinese, Asian, German are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant, Stall and Bak Kut Teh, Yong Tau Fu, Steaks / Chops, Nasi Lemak, Steamboat.
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review15 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity1155 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos414 Photo(s)
Upload Videos2 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant29 My Restaurant(s)
Follow71 Following
粉絲431 Follower(s)
Max Chin  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 13 Reviews in Malaysia
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Bar & Pub | Steaks / Chops | Burgers / Sandwiches

Irish restaurant had been a stranger to me for years as we rarely had a real chance of indulging in Irish cuisine, and now we no longer need to take hours of long flight just to grab a taste of Irish cuisine, it is now made available in Malones Irish restaurant and bar. Not known to me before being invited by my friend to have Friday night hangout, i was told by friends that it is a place you rather call bar than a restaurant as most patron here drink beer, so i guess having a few pint of beer is inescapable.

Decorated using open bar and vintage concept, it is quite a comfortable restaurant bar you like to visit especially during your Friday night session with your love one or colleague. Staff here are quite busy with their work, as we enter we almost ignored by the staff and we have to personally ask for help from the staff to be seated, i guess the part of coordination was not done perfectly.
Beer

Beer

 
Served in a stylish beer glass, the Guinness served with this glass make looking at the beer itself is so enjoyable and tempting to drink it. Couple with the good environment given by the restaurant atmosphere and the patron who chat and have fun as they enjoying their beer, it is no wonder such a place is full with office worker during Friday night.
Hotdog

Hotdog

 
Drinking beer without any snack is kinda boring, so the four of us decided to order some hot dog and mini burger to feed ourselves while chit chatting and slowly sipping on the beer. Thus hot dog, which i forgotten the name , is served with chili and hot dog slices, fit in with our beer as it add some spices to our taste bud on the ice cold beer. Texture of the hot dog meat was good and juicy, definitely a good side dish to couple with beer chopstick
Mini Burger

Mini Burger

 
Well, this one isn't that great, a stack of mini meat with some vegetables and very small bun. It is quite hard to eat these burger without getting your hand dirty as its small size make the handling process fairly hard. As you chew the burger, you find that it is actually very hard to bite and the texture of the bun is not great either. I will not recommend this dish, it sound nice but it does not taste nice at all.

On this special Friday occasion, we are lucky to witness an Irish band to perform with a Japanese drummer, though it can be quite noisy but i see most of the customer here enjoying the loud music and even dance together, this scenery you won't normally find it in restaurant, but in Malones it is still possible. Enjoy the music yourself here:

Malone Irish Live Band

 


In a nutshell, pricing wise is quite expensive and not really value for money especially for food. However it is disputably a place to hang out for your Friday beer, prices for beer seems more reasonable than the price for food. Credit card and cash are both accepted, service crew is quite attentive and sometimes come over to ask you if you want to buy more beer, can be quite annoying for some customer.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Beer
 
Date of Visit: Aug 30, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM40(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Rich Herbal Flavored Soup  Smile Sep 20, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Bak Kut Teh

Located along the highway of Jalan Kuching, here sit a hidden gem, a bak kut teh restaurant. Started off as a stall and now upgraded into a proper air conditioned restaurant, Yu Yi restaurant had been in business for more than 30 years and is now run by both the father and the son together. Upon arrival, we are given a warm welcome by the restaurant owner with some introduction of his restaurant plus the cooking method, it make me learn something new today by just listening.

The restaurant seems pretty well kept, as it considered clean for a bak kut teh restaurant. all the table are wipe clean and floor seems to be very clean as well, i had a glance on the menu, most of the food here cost roughly about RM9 to RM12, which is affordable to many people considering that we are eating in a air conditioned place, it is quite value for money.
Different type of rice

Different type of rice

 
Before each bak kut teh is served, we are being spoiled with 3 different type of rice, which is the "oil" rice, the normal white rice and the special fried rice. Personally i prefer to have the bak kut teh with the normal white rice as the other 2 type of rice just kill off the original taste of the food. Pouring the bak kut teh sauce on the white rice not only make you able to fully tasted it but also make you craving for more white rice.
Dried Bak Kut Teh

Dried Bak Kut Teh

 
but

The first one being serve to us was the Dried bak kut teh, the sauce is pretty thick but however it was quite stingy in terms of the sauce given on this dish, i would love it even more if the sauce can be given more generous than the one served to us, having said that, the meat texture was good and i love the sauce thickness, that give you the shock of taste bud with full mouth the sauce flavor, slightly salted and sweet, it was great. tongue
Yam Chicken

Yam Chicken

 
Now moving to the next one, the yam chicken. First of its kind, at least for me, the first time tasted such food. The first bite was great, i love the texture of the chicken meat, just smooth and nice to chew on. The flavor of the Yam, is overwhelming, each and every bite give you the full sensation of Yam and it also carry some spicy taste, it was a great dish which i definitely recommend to my friend to try it out. bowlchopstick
Pork Leg in Thick Soy Sauce

Pork Leg in Thick Soy Sauce

 
The Pork Leg in soy sauce is also good, however the dish given too many fat tissues part with too little meat on it. I think this dish can be more perfect if more meat is being given rather than a whole bowl of fat tissue only. The best part about this dish is the sauce, which give you the wholesome soy sauce taste, the thick soy sauce is a great companion to the white rice, it just a great appetite simulator.
Abalone Mushroom

Abalone Mushroom

 
Moving on to the next dishes, the abalone fried mushroom. Quite a normal and common food you see on steamboat restaurant but what makes it so special is the restaurant owner actually teach you to dip the mushroom into the bak kut teh soup ! Just like how you did it for the "You Tiao" the same logic can be applied here as both food are absorbent to soup, it is kind of special to eat it with the bak kut teh soup, it give you the taste of the crunchy mushroom plus the heavenly flavored bak kut teh soup, a good combination smile
Pork Stomach in pepper soup

Pork Stomach in pepper soup

 
The Pork stomach soup is served, doesn't really differ a lot with the normal one, in fact slightly poorer as the soup pepper is not too strong, so it doesn't make me crave for me on this dish. The pork stomach texture was however good but if more pepper can be given in the soup, i guess it will make it more perfect, perhaps the soup should be heated up even more as well, probably because of the air condition, when i tasted the soup i can only say it is warm instead of hot soup.
Abalone Slice Taufu

Abalone Slice Taufu

 
This Taufu is quite special, with a special name called Abalone slice Taufu. With a thick layer of sauce on top of the Taufu, and some vegetable, the Taufu is so soft than i can literally eat it without biting it, it literally melted in my mouth. The thick sauce on the surface give a boost of sweet taste to this dish, the vegetable served together with the Taufu is also fresh and juicy, definitely a good dish to have it side by side with the bak kut teh.
Nyonya Bak Kut Teh

Nyonya Bak Kut Teh

 
And now finally the Nyonya Bak Kut Teh, it is a sour and spicy type of bak kut teh, first time tasted such a new taste of bak kut teh. While the Nyonya dish is special however given a choice i will like to have the traditional soup based and the dried bak kut teh, as it give the natural and original taste of the dish. Texture of the meat was good, i enjoy the chewing process when eating these dishes.

Overall the smacking part of this dining experience will be the soup part, it give me the most taste bud shock as it has been quite long since i tasted a bak kut teh that give me such a strong herbal soup taste, however a few thing that need improvement will be the quantity of sauce plus the temperature of the soup as most of it is not hot but only warm. We also receive a good and attentive service from the crew of the restaurant, it was an enjoyable experience which i definitely like to revisit again.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Soup Based Bak Kut Teh,Dried Bak Kut Teh
 
Date of Visit: Sep 18, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops

Hiding at the back of main road, the Palazzo sit quietly, remain unnoticed until the day i am invited to participate in MakanVenture event. Served Western cuisine and a number of low to mid range wines, the restaurant is decorated fully focusing on bringing out the modern western gourmet atmosphere, armed with relaxing English musical, it is definitely a good place to relax while shaking the glass with red wine.

We are also informed by the restaurant owner prior to the start of the event that every rainy day, there will be 30% discount for all dishes, i guess it is crowd puller during rainy days as most restaurant might be empty during rainy day.

 
The first dish to arrive, Pumpkin soup. I am quite impress with the rich and thickness of the soup. Probably one of the best tasted in Klang Valley, however the set back is that the temperature of the soup is not high enough and the absence of crunchy biscuit make the dishes incomplete or rather not satisfying enough.

 
Spanish Patas, come in second. The cracker is quite crunchy but a little bit hard to bite. Overall tasting is quite good, with my tongue overwhelmed with sour taste. If the cracker can be made softer and remain its crunchiness then i believe this dish can be great as well.

 
Probably one of the best meal starter, the restaurant has to offer. A full plate of vegetables with smoked salmon, poured with thousand island sauce, made the salad so refreshing. With every chew of the vegetable, it comes with cold fresh taste. The smoked salmon there is to add some spice to the dish, eating the vegetable with the salmon, it is just smokin good.

 
Probably one of the dishes favorite by almost everyone, the roasted pork is said to be one of the signature dish that the Palazzo has to offer. Not overly oily and yet the pig skin is so crunchy that we all literally heard the voice of pig skin crunching inside our mouth. The meat flavor is great, not the usual mouth full of oil type roasted pork. smile

 
Highly recommend by the restaurant manager, this dish had a special name "I Love Ribs" we need to wear glove to enjoy this dish, it is best to enjoy this with your hand holding the ribs and eat it. Never mind about the dish making your hand dirty, we are told to backdate to tradition. The ribs however aren't as best as i expected, probably because i tried the one in Bali before. It is not as sweet as it should be, ribs flavoring is not as strong as expected as well. However the experience of cutting the ribs by ourselves is quite good, at least now we know how to cut open ribs in a professional way.

 
This grill fish comes in second half of the event, eating by itself you can taste the freshness of the fish meat. Fortunately the dish came with the mint sauce, dipping into it, it just added the spice to the whole dish, fresh fish meat plus with strong mint taste, taste just good and great.

 
Seafood pasta is the "wow" dishes that everyone like to finish, lots of muscle there. However the sauce is not well prepared and does not bring the good taste of the muscle. The sauce is sweet but it is just too overwhelmed and i literally cannot taste the muscle, however some savior is the prawn, it will just blend well with the sweet sauce however i won't say this is a good dish though the ingredient is exceptionally generous.

 
Comes almost at the last dish, the pork chop is good on the texture but not on its flavor. Mash potato however is good, very well done on both its flavor and not overly creamy.

Services rendered by the restaurant manager is great and friendly, definitely come again for wine gathering with friends.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Roasted Pork,Pumpkin Soup,Smoked Salmon Salad
 
Date of Visit: May 08, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM50(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Birthday Celebration & Great Food Smile May 04, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Western variety | Restaurant | Nasi Lemak

Today i am brought to this location to celebrate birthday for April babies and a group of friends gathering, though they are not really my friends, but i do see and enjoy the joy of the gathering. Isn't it great to meet with friends and have good food at the same time?

The manager on duty is very helpful to help us to pull together table and chairs to accommodate a large group of more than 10 people in one seating. Now the restaurant interior design isn't very impressive, it adopted a rather modernize design but the menu that is served is traditional food like Nasi Kerabu.

Food serving time isn't that long, probably because of chit chatting with people, in my mind i ain't waiting that long to get my food served and so do everyone else. Probably less than 15 minute and we are done waiting already, food is served to us chopstick
Nasi Kerabu

Nasi Kerabu

 
Nasi Kerabu, said to be one of the best dishes here. Consist of curry sauce that is super rich, every single taste of the sauce give me incredible sensation of curry. That's not all, the vegetable, filled with spicy and sour sauce is a good appetizer to kick start your meal, and we do have some biscuit given on the dish, i guess it is just a traditional part of the dish, if you ask me that is the least fancy part of the whole dish. The chicken given, drumstick. have a good meat texture coupling with the sauce, this combination is just irresistible.

The nasi kerabu did not have much flavoring, the curry sauce just overwhelmed the flavor on rice, beside the blue color on the rice, there isn't much significant contribution of the rice on the dish, and of course i cannot forget to mention the sambal that serve together with the dish, rich with chili flavor and the spice is just great to have it together with the curry sauce together with the chicken, the sauce is really good, without it the dish is just become worthless. bowl
Nasi Ayam Goreng

Nasi Ayam Goreng

 
And when you dine in a group, you get to try other dishes as well and the one i get to taste is this, Nasi Goreng Ayam. And i can tell you, it is almost the same as Nasi Kerabu except for few part. This one without the great sambal that served with Nasi Kerabu, it also lack the spicy and sour vegetables which is part of Nasi Kerabu. However one good thing is....this dish still have the great sauce that is served on Nasi Kerabu.

The chicken had a poorer texture, the one given is not drumstick. The chicken meat given on this dish had a middle range texture, not too good and not too bad. bowl

This restaurant definitely worth the time to travel, definitely a restaurant on my revisit list, however pricing wise is on high side compared with other restaurant and this keep customer from visiting the restaurant frequently, but i guess the good service given gave some justification to pay higher price for a good food smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nasi Kerabu
 
Date of Visit: Apr 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Kung Fu Ramen  Smile Mar 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Food court | Ramen/Udon/Soba

Deciding where to eat in 1 Utama can be difficult for sometime, especially when there is a lot of choice under one roof. All of sudden i heard a man shouting as i walk pass shops in Isetan food paradise, at first i though someone is fighting ?! after a closer look, i realize that it is the chef in this Ramen shop shouting as a preparing Ramen. Now they got my attention and i like to find out more, which i gladly went in to try out the ramen prepared here.

They do accept Credit card for any amount and Isetan Member card to collect points which i find it good to practice, people do not bring a lot of cash out now, and customer get to collect point in their spending is a plus point for me to revisit this shop again.
Overview of Restaurant

Overview of Restaurant

 
.

The ordering system here is that, you pay before you get to dine. This system is not common in modern restaurant management, usually we dine in first and pay later, isn't it? That is not a turn off point for me, but i rather dine in first and pay later, it is a better service flow for me. There isn't much variety here, choices are Ramen, Dumpling and rice. After seeing the chef shouting as he prepare the Ramen, it only make complete sense for me to order their Ramen.

The staff here is helpful in helping out with orders, good in recommending dishes to the customer who came here for the first time. And after seated down, you can be serve with drinks in less than 5 minute, that is very efficient of them smile And the crew is very friendly, including the chef themselves which regularly greed / welcome customers as they came in and out of the shop.

The shop is very well maintained, with crew member cleaning up plate once customer had left the restaurant and done with their meal, there is no wet surface on the table, the one we usually see right after crew member clean the table with wet cloth. This one don't have, it is clean and pleasant environment.

Now wonder how the chef shouted as he prepared the Ramen, watch this video smile

Ramen Preparation Shouting

 
Japanese Gyoza

Japanese Gyoza

 
First to arrive is a side dish, a Japanese Gyoza. It is grilled timely, not too long or too short period. The meat inside the Gyoza, is very nice. The meat is firmly hold on inside the Gyoza, it does not fall apart after the first bite on the Gyoza. The meat also had a very good flavored, marinated with seasoning and grilled. However the Gyoza is a little oily for me, it will be fantastic to reduce the oil used to grilled it, having oil around and inside your mouth as you chew the Gyoza is not a pleasant one.
Japanese Ramen

Japanese Ramen

 
Second one to arrive, the main dish, Ramen. There is three type of soup available here namely Soy sauce soup, Black sauce soup and spicy sauce soup. I heed the recommendation given by the staff and i go for the black sauce soup, my Ramen comes with an egg and 2 pieces of pork meat, all this cost RM30+, kinda expensive though but it is a price i don't mind paying if the dish taste great. The soup taste is very fantastic, full of flavored Japanese soy sauce. The texture of the pork is great, especially the fat tissue part where it melt as it enter into your mouth, Great flavored pork meat and not too many fat tissues, a rather healthy choice for those who care about health. Look at the green vegetable provided, generously given to drink along with the soup, it just added a Vege flavor to the soup. Though the Mee look like the normal "Wan Tan Mee" but the soup and the other ingredient just make this dish, a great one that no Ramen lover should miss.
Egg Yolk

Egg Yolk

 
Now the golden part, the egg. tongue The first bite, a wave of egg yolk Tsunami wash through my mouth. Wow~~that is my favorite part. As shown in the pictures, the soft egg yolk is really appealing. Not too salty, tasty egg yolk and the Tsunami wave of Egg yolk is the best, you don't want to miss it definitely.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Black Sauce Ramen
 
Date of Visit: Mar 30, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM35(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0