OpenRice Index
  
vkeong
This is vkeong living in Kepong. I work in Cyberjaya. Japanese, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Kopitiam and Dim sum.
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review7 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity1030 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos12 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant5 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲74 Follower(s)
vkeong  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 7 Reviews in Malaysia
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Mixed rice

Despite the obscure location, Kedai Makanan Kim Poh at Segambut is usually packed with customers. Most of their customers are loyal and provide repeat business. That explains why they are still going strong after being in food business for over 40 years.
One could expect a simple meal here and there are only a handful of food to order, and that includes their signature Kampar style claypot chicken rice and double boiled soups.

There are a couple of soups to choose from and we chose the old cucumber and pork ribs soup. It was delicious and full of flavour. I think we enjoyed the soup more than the rice actually.

Overall, Kim Poh is a decent place for claypot chicken rice. Just get your expectations straight and you won’t be disappointed if you treat it as a no-frills lunch or dinner. But if you’re a real picky eater, this probably isn’t for you smile
Selection of double boiled soups

Selection of double boiled soups

 
Kampar style claypot chicken rice

Kampar style claypot chicken rice

 
The ladyboss cooking

The ladyboss cooking

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 26, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good quality crab Smile Aug 05, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles

Our original plan was to try Fatty Crabs at Taman Megah. But looking at the long queue of customers waiting to be seated (it was even before 6pm!) we decided to detour to Hoi Peng at SS2 instead. Fortunately for us, it was a tasty affair all around; albeit their crabs are a tad expensive than what we anticipated.

From what we saw on their whiteboard menu, they are serving Indonesian crabs @ RM7.50/100g, or RM75/kg. The pricing isn’t too bad considering most seafood restaurants in town are charging about the same between RM68 to RM88 per kg. So I am guessing the crab we had was more than a kg since we were charged RM90 for it. Among the handful of cooking styles available, we picked the Sweet and Sour simply because it’s their signature and also the chef’s recommended style.

The clams were fresh, plump with a lot of flesh and most importantly clean tasting with minimal grit. Taste wise it was great – the amount of ginger that went into the dish was just nice and noticeable without being overpowering. It also had a hint of spiciness accompanied with a pleasant aroma of Chinese wine.

The crispy fried chicken wing was delicious alright. Despite looking dry, there’s a burst of juice when you bite into the crispy honey glazed skin. The chilli sauce that comes with the wings is nicely done as well and tasted like those prepared by BBQ chicken wing hawkers, and they just go well together.
very fresh crabs, taste wise normal

very fresh crabs, taste wise normal

 
Very juicy

Very juicy

 
Plump clams, tastes good

Plump clams, tastes good

 
Supplementary Information:
make reservation first
 
Recommended Dish(es):  crabs,lala,chicken wings
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 24, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM50(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Thai style stir-fried ice cream Smile Aug 05, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Café | Sweets/Snack

Stir-fried ice cream is not new in Malaysia as some hotels prepares it as part of their buffet spread, and you can even find it at various night markets. The ‘frying’ process is a great marketing gimmick to attract customers and also a way to inject fun into the overall experience.

A standard (without additional toppings) portion is between RM15 to RM17.50 depending on the flavour while the large one costs RM4.50 more. Looking at the price and difference in serving size, I think the large order is a much better deal and ideal for sharing between two.
Based on the store’s recommendation, we had the Belgian Chocolate which is made simply with their signature milk base and pure Belgian chocolate without any additional sugar. The texture of the ice cream was wonderfully dense, slightly sticky and chewy – one that you can bite into and does not melt easily. It was delicious as well with a rich, authentic chocolate taste. And the sweetness? Right on the money and we did not find it ‘jelak’ at all.

While the ice creams themselves are pretty good, I’d recommend getting the desserts @ RM25 if your budget and appetite allow it. The Strawberry Cheesecake is definitely worth a try considering the generous ice cream portion and the amount of toppings that goes into it. American strawberries are used and the only sweetening ingredient is the syrup in the strawberry jam.
Freshy Freeze Nu Sentral Mall

Freshy Freeze Nu Sentral Mall

 
Strawberry Cheesecake

Strawberry Cheesecake

 
Stir-frying ice cream

Stir-frying ice cream

 
Belgian Chocolate

Belgian Chocolate

 
Supplementary Information:
low sugar
 
Recommended Dish(es):  strawberry cheesecake,belgian stir-fried ice cream
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 24, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20(宵夜)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles

No matter how tasty or famous their Chili Pan Mee is, I have vowed to boycott this shop forever. In KL I believe if Chili Pan Mee is mentioned, Kin Kin is the first shop to come into mind. Besides being famous for their Pan Mee (which I think is overrated anyway) they are also notorious for showing bad attitudes to customers. I have heard some incidents from my close friends where they were scolded by the owners but I have kept an open mind so far.

 
The Pan Mee we waited for more an hour. Those customers who came in much later than us were served earlier, seriously WTF. They didn’t seem to notice the four of us had been sitting there for so long too. And any reminder to them about our orders would be brushed off nonchalantly. It’s like “do you think I care” was written on their foreheads.
OK to be fair I am not expecting 5 star hotel service from a noodle stall, heck I didn’t even expect them to be nice and all. But hey, at least show us some respect like a normal human being does!
OK

OK

 
Chili Flakes.

Although I am still very angry over the incident, I am going to give an honest opinion about their pan mee.. which in my honest, non-biased, frank, genuine, sincere, truthful opinion.. NORMAL only.
nothing special

nothing special

 
Ingredients wise there were self made pan mee, some fried anchovies, minced meat, lard and a sunny side-up egg. First timers were advised by some hand writings on the shop’s wall to only put half a spoon to one spoonful of chili flakes, then slowly increase the amount as desired. For me, I taruh-ed two spoonfuls.

 
Here’s how it looked like after the noodle was mixed with the chili flakes. Looks fiery and spicy enough for you The pan mee didn’t have much taste so the only thing one can do is to put a lot of chili flakes to enhance the flavor. That would probably explain the spoonful after spoonful of chili flakes people mix into their pan mee. Heh.

Then suddenly the lady boss came over to our table and demanded me to sit on the other side of the table, because she said I was blocking the people moving around. WTF I was not the only person who was seated like that, there were other customers blocking the way too. Even if I moved to the other side of the table, it was going to be the same lah.. still blocking people what.

She: Eh, you come sit over here lah.

Me (frustrated with all the waiting): No need lah, I am fine here.

She: Can you sit over here! You are blocking people lah. It’s not I don’t want to let you sit there, later they knock you when they deliver the noodles you know.

Me: Nevermind, I will just sit in a bit.

She (shouts): Haiyo, then at least push the table a bit lah! *Carries and shifts the table, many people looking*

After that she walked back to the cooking area, where she threw us an angry look at us. We quickly finished the noodles and left.
Bad!

Bad!

 
If Kin Kin thinks their pan mee is so godlike tasty that they can treat customers the way they treated me, they are obviously wrong.

source: http://www.vkeong.com/2009/03/kin-kin-chili-pan-mee-worst-attitude-ever/
 
Date of Visit: Mar 01, 2009 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles

Came here to try the Char Koay Teow one day when I was at Mr.DIY opposite. After placing my order then I saw foreign workers frying my Koay Teow, already knew it was going to fail somehow.

Taste wise it suffers the same fate like other CKT in Klang Valley, lack of 'wok hei' and not spicy at all (even though I already specified more spicy when ordering)

Only good thing about the CKT here is that the portion is really big and you get a lot of prawns and cockles. I had the 'kah liu' version if you are wondering.

If you are a Penangite you may want to skip this and spend your money elsewhere because you will end up disappointed and unsatisfied like me. In KL so far the only CKT that can satisfy my craving is at Sun Hin Loong at SS2, the uncle fries good CKT.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 01, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately RM10(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0