OpenRice Index
  
cheokenghuat
This is cheokenghuat living in Kepong. I am a Regional IT, work in Kuala Lumpur City Center. I like to hang out in Kuala Lumpur City Center, Kepong, Bangsar. Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant, Kopitiam, Bakery and Ramen/Udon/Soba, Juices / Bubble Tea / Tea / Yogurt, Bak Kut Teh, Pan mee.
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review13 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity172 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos70 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant6 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲71 Follower(s)
cheokenghuat  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 13 Reviews in Malaysia
Quick Tasty snack Smile Sep 25, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Sweets/Snack | Bakery / Cake / Kuih

 
Kurtos Spiroll ! That is the snack i wanna try for long when everytime i passed by Publika and Pavillion. Curiousity always tempted me to go to see what are they selling but, my heart always backup as not sure what kind of food is that. 

 
I am not sure fate or what, coincidently i received 2 vouchers from Openrice and without further adieu , I rushed to Pavillion to visit Kurtos as soon as I can, with salivia dripping .

 
They have a open kitchen so basically you can see from outside what they did to your kurtos cleaniness and hygienity is what I can observed.

 

 

 
I ordered Vanilla Almond and Cheesy chicken Salami. It feels so good that you can see your Kurtos being made infront of you and the fragnance smells from the open kitchen makes u even excited to taste it.

Once they are ready, they put the spiroll in the cute box like this! On the box itself, they do guide you on how to open up the box to eat too!

 

 
I do not eat this on the spot and i took takeaway. The pictures might looks ugly because it is taken in different place. As you know, I always like to share the food with my love one, thats why dont wanna eat on the spot.

 
Supringly the warmth and the softness of the spiroll still there after 20mins of driving.
At the first bite, i can feel the texture of the bread is soft and interestingly good to chew with.

Cheesy one still the best as I love cheese and i do enjoy having it when watching TV infront of me.  If compared to Auntie Anne, Kurtos bread is softer and more flavour to choose. Almond that coated on the Spirol itself is alot and you will get really satisfying after having this.

If you are not too hungry and want to have a snack while shopping at Pavillion, you can always try this! and they do serve pizza too!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  cheesy chicken salami
 
Takeaway Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 24, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM7

Dining Offers: Voucher


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Burger crave satisfied ! Smile Sep 25, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Burgers / Sandwiches

Openrice seemed know my crave about burgers and this time introduced me about the latest burger shop in town --> The crazy bites!!!!

 
From oustide we can see the shop clearly as the signage is so best and if you hang out around ss15, certainly you will see the signage.Walk in to the shop, first impression is like, WOW, it looks like Mcd counter, you can either order at counter like Mcd or dine in so they will delivery to you. 

 
The pink little monster is their moscot, it is limited edition, not everytime can get it, if it is released again , please get it, it is so cuteeeee.

 
The calaimari ring ,it is really good starter as it is decorated with salad and it is good to eat while waiting your main dish and chat with friends. The calaimari is freshed and size is big and overcooked.It is served with salad which make the dishes interestingly taste !

 
The lamb petty spagetti ( Sorry I forgotten the name ) When i want to try, it is grabbed by another friend of us......unable to try it ...so sad

 
Honolulu burger . To those who can enjoy beef must take this, it is very juicy as described by the boss, somemore the beef is specially ordered from Australia!
One thing which is suprisingly is, sweet potato french fries! which is not served in most of the burger shop. I can feel "the crazy bites" really pay an effort in making burger to serve us!

 
Another finger food provided by the boss. It is finger licking good! 

 
The drink is called as Cappucino fredo. What the boss said is, the creamy part is made from skimmed milk. For coffee lover, now you can drink coffee and having burger now!

 
Clamp spagetti . It carries some spiciness and the clamps that used are bigger than outside. Fresh and appetizing i can said.

 
Potato cheese. This is one of my favourite. Recommended to enjoy it when serving hot. The cheese that they provided is generous enough and it has a "sticky " feel when you try to eat it with the fresh baked potato. 

 
Here comes by favourite. The lamb pizza! The lambs actually is very soft and tastefully done! why i said so? because lamb petty normally is hard and not good to chew, but from what i tasted, it is extremely soft and mixed well with the pizza. The pizza is handmade therefore the shape is not fixed. From what the boss said, they can even make you the love shape pizza . Once it is served, without 2mins, it is finished. MUST TRY THIS!

 
Yes. I love lamb. You can see they serve the Lamb burger. OMG. one word - > juicy!

 
The boss even treated us the special fire fierce chicken. It is rated as 9/10 spiciness. It has superb strong after taste. Recommended for those Spicy food lover.

The Boss is very generous in this food tasting and wiling to share the idea and how they processed the food, which is very rare case. Thank you and the burger is really worth to try.

Oh ya! forgot to say the price. It is suprisingly medim low too!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  cappucino fredo and lamb pizza,]
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 17, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant | Seafood

 

 
Glad to invited by Openrice again for the food tasting. This time is with Big Baba.
When I arrived and look from far, i think it is a old vintage feel of cafe but when you see clearer, actually it is nyonya restaurant! It is decorated just like the Peranakan nyonya decoration which remain the original heritage!

 

 
Some of the members are not arrived yet but Uncle Wee, who is the owner of the restaurant already served us with some titbits . Those are my all time favourite!

There are something I would like to add on is, Big baba servicing is fast. As long as our members are all here, they directly serve the food to us all together and the foods all are still WARM! That is really well managed!

 
Bendi Masak Tempe RM15 . It is just like the way our mom cooked it.

 
Otak-otak RM12 . The otak otak is actually quite spicy and suprisingly the fish paste is more than the eggs covering! it is not like those you bought outside with less fish paste but more in eggs covering.

 
Sambal Petai Udang RM26 . The prawn tastes really damn good. It is juicy and fresh! 
For a person who dont like to eat prawn because of skin allergy, i am tempted to taste it because of the petai aroma! For petai lover, you should try this dish!

 
Beef Rendang RM26 . This one is really good too. I found their rendang is heavier on milk taste rather than just spiciness, which bring another new sensation of rendang. Good to try!

 
Curry Debael RM26 (Curry Chicken) . This one tasted abit normal but again, their curry is heavier with milk.

 
Terung Masak Tempe RM12 . Terung masak always my favourite one whenever my mom cooked. Same in Big Baba. It is cooked with moderate amount of oil and the terung is not too soft or hard. It is just good to eat with a bowl of rice!

 
Itik Tim RM26 (Soup) . How can a nyonya family dinner without a soup? Yes. This soup is boiled with duck meat and it is sourish sweet. If you taste it before your proper meal, i am sure you must be hungry by now as it will just make you mouth watering!

Overall of the food are nice and served well. If you would like to try some home based nyonya food, Big baba definately is the choice!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pong teh
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 10, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(晚餐)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Surprised Food Tasting Smile Jul 21, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant | Bar & Pub | Pizza/Pasta | Burgers / Sandwiches

Thanks for Mumbai Delights and Open Rice.

Or else i wont be have chance to know Mumbai street food is so amazing and delicious.

First dish that we have is this --> Samosa Chat

 
For a first timer like me, I not even know what is that means, but it looks like Curry puff to me. However when taste it, it is like a fried or baked pastry with savoury filling, such as spiced potatoes, onions, peas and others. When you mix it with Mint sauce, it is totally different taste and feeling. You not only can taste the spiciness from the spice, but also the refreshing taste from mint.

 
Next, Tandoori gobi (Roasted cauliflower)
It is deeped fried like the real tandoori and they have coated it with tumeric.
It is taste like roasted chicken, but abit oily.

 
Follow by that, the chef introduced us  -->American chopsy.
It is like tomato sause gravy with dried " Yee Mee", which is like chinese dried mee.
You will never imagine why it is like western food but after we confirmed with the manager,
it is really the food you can get from the street from Mumbai.

 
Then , Pav bhaji pasta (Penne) , which is my second favourite.
Why? as the paste sauce is made up with indian tradisional daal with the mixture taste like
rendang ayam. Suprise right? it is like western + east food you can get here.

 
Makhani jacket potatoes (Roasted potato topped with cheese)
Every ladies that join the gathering screamed when the dish is served.
It is so cute and topped with cheeseeeeeeeeeeeee.
Although I would like to eat more than that but it only serve a plate with 4 potatos.
You can finish one with one bite and satisfying yet you can get simply here in Malaysia.

 
Next, another food that suprised me, which is Taco chat.
It is like Mexico taco but served with potatos and spices. It is crispy and yummy when you can taste the softness of the potatoes.

 
After that, we are served one of food that made specially by the house -->Mumbai delight pizza. It taste normal and not oily.

 
Here it goes my favourite food -->Paneer shashlik sizzler (Sizzling plate with rice, skewer, sweet corn & French fried).

Have you ever eat the india rice with french fried?looks weird but it taste superb!
With the cabbages fried with spices and skewed tomoto and cheese, it totally can fulfilled your taste bud. The rice here is usually longer and more fragrance than the normal one as it is directly import from India itself. Cool and nice.

 
Last, which is the Mumbai dessert -->Shahi tukda (Dessert- Deep fried bread top with syrup)
It is very fragrance as it is topped with rose pads and walnut flakes. However, it is sweetness overload!! hahaha, but for indian, they usually like sweet desserts.

Last but not least, the boss also refreshed our memory by providing us the popular mumbai street ice cream, which is the ice stick with syrup.

It is so cute right?

 
The night end with laughter and left everyone's stomach with satisfication. Thanks Mumbai Delights and Open Rice again!

Supplementary Information:
they do serve alchohol too!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Makhani jacket potatoes,paneer shashlik sizzler
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 15, 2015 

Celebration:  屠妖節 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(其他)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Most satisfying soup noodle Smile Jul 13, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles | Group/Family dining | Special Occasion Dining

I always heard my friend said that there is a delicious soup noodle shop in PJ which can really satisfy my picky tongue yet it is reasonable price overall , but I not believe at all. End up, she finally brough me here.

Okay.  The shop is located at Jaya one and for first timer like me, I feel weird about it.
I am keep thinking  is there any delicious noodle shop hidden here? which Jaya one always are quiet and not much shops there.

However, once I reached the shop, it nearly broken my glasses.

I saw many people is Q-ing outside for the shop only and want to try their soup noodle.

Feeling suprise, i dragged her to join the Q and there is a man, who looks like the boss quicky arrange us a seats to join a table with a couple.

Needless to say, and out of hunger, I ordered Soup bursting meat ball and she ordered Spicy Bitter groud fish paste.

Below are how it looks

 

 
We both ordered Mi xian, which is what they recommended instead of Mi hun.
At the first bite , i totally fall in love with the sweetness of the soup. It is not sweetness from sugar but the sweetness of the soup which boiled with bones for hours.

The portion is big enough and the bursting meat balls are fresh and big size from market.

It makes me want to order for second bowl of it!

However, I do not get the wine from the waiter or waitress and I saw no one is having it as seen from blogger website or others comment. Or maybe it is just promotional stuff.

The price for our meal is 

Bursting meat ball 10.40
Bitterground fish paste  11.00

and Yes! this shop got GST.

Who gonna pay the bill? of cause is me, because I finally admitted that it is the most satisfying soup noodle shop I have for now. Hunger for another bowl now, this time, will try the popular pork slice soup noodle!

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pork slices Mi xian noodle
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 10, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM12(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0