OpenRice Index
  
Pyqa
This is Pyqa living in Ampang. I am a Executive, work in Ampang. I like to hang out in Ampang, Bukit Bintang, Damansara Utama. Japanese, Malaysian variety, Western variety are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant and Sweets/Snack, Pizza/Pasta, Steaks / Chops.
Member 45 First(s)
No. of Review99 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity491 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos206 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant99 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲30 Follower(s)
Pyqa  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 71 to 75 of 99 Reviews in Malaysia
XOXO gossip girl  Smile Nov 04, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Western variety | Café | Burgers / Sandwiches | Porridge

We just got back from our friend's wedding at Rawang so we are up for food hunting afterwards. At first, we are planning to go to food gasm but it was raining and the traffic was really bad so we went to this kopi xoxo instead.

To go to this place you need to have an ample of time. First thing because of the traffic to Bangsar, second thing is there will be waiting list once you reached the cafe. The space is very limited which can fit only 20 people at one time. It is suggested for you to order first before you get a seat.

This cafe was promoted by a few Malaysian artists that makes it fullhouse all the time. So we managed to get our seat after 20 minutes waited. We ordered El Plato which has all the flavour of gorpis (goreng pisang) with additional of blueberry flavor that cost RM13.

 

 
We really don't get enough of the gorpis so we ordered another 2 tongue which only with single flavor. We ordered the gorpis cheese and white chocolate that cost RM8 per plate. The taste is very delicious. Its like you are having all this cakes flavor but only the different is you that its goreng pisang!  The idea was great. We liked it.

When we were just about to leave, the rain has just started again so we sit back and ordered another dish on the menu lol . My friend ordered aglio olio and porridge that cost around RM12 each. The taste definitely really good a bit spicy for the aglio olio and not too plain for the porridge (i guess all the dishes here taste delicious). We enjoyed the food until the rain stops.

 

 
We did not regret to not go to food gasm event, in fact, we are glad we skip it. This cafe is definitely worth the wait although the cafe is too small to fit all the hungry people lol.

Overall: small place, great food, unique dishes
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 01, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15(下午茶)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

LOKL not LOL Cry Oct 29, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Asian Variety | Western variety | Café | Burgers / Sandwiches | Desserts | Group/Family dining

Well when we were doing this food hunting, we read lokl as lol (silly us). So this cafe is very very difficult to find. We drove for 30 minutes just to look for the location eventhough waze says that "we have reached the destination"  (well you know masjid jamek area, jamn like mad) . So this cafe really need you to have extra cash. 

First thing first, the parking itself is not easy to get and most parking you need to pay it and if i'm not mistaken we have to pay RM10 for the parking only (my goodness). But for the sake of this famous hipster cafe, we are willing to. 

So what we expect for this cafe is good food. The decorations is like artisan roast cafe. If you go further in, there is outside section for smokers usually. That time it was fullhouse because it was raining so the outside section cannot be used (pfftt). So we have to wait for 20mins to get a place (some challenges we are facing just to eat here lol)

So without wasting time we ordered whatever that looks delicious in the menu. I think that day they don't have enough staff that we need to wait another half an hour for the waiter to take our orders ( another challenge). So my firend ordered chicken chop (RM20), chicken lasagna ( RM20++) and soup of the day (forgotten what soup already). The menu is very very limited just like the VCR. 

 

 
So guess what, the chicken chop looks like fried chicken but then again, don't judge the book by its cover. Well, im not judging but the taste is definitely what we expected. Theres too much flour for the skin and chicken was not fully cooked ( ;( ). However the soup i remember that time was good. Then the lasagna is also good as compared to chicken chop (fuhh..luckily)

So we hang out for a few hours since its raining. The environment is good but the place was quite small. But as long as our stomach is full, its good enough. You should try their coffee here. i can see most foreigners come here for coffee

Overall: Interior is nice, food is not as good as what we expected
Supplementary Information:
prepare extra cash for the parking
 
Recommended Dish(es):  chicken lasagna and their coffee
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 01, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM35(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

NOt just a teh tarik place Smile Oct 29, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Kopitiam | Noodles | Nasi Lemak

I just finished working and my friend ask me to go to ioi mall to buy things for her Africa trip. So i drove all the way  there despite all the jamn just to accompany a good friend of mine (sweet aite? hihi) . So i would like to have my dinner first before we start all the shopping.

Teh tarik place is not just a simple teh tarik shop and definitely not a mamak stall. This shop kinda bring it to another level with all sorts of asean food there. There is no roti canai there but there are some real food. I ordered laksa penang but if you are looking at the picture below, it looks like im having mee kari instead -.-" . My friend ordered nasi ambeng which looks way much nicer lol.

 

 
But people always said don't judge the book by its cover, so i am not judging it and once i taste it, yes it does have the laksa penang taste but it is just too oily! I wish i was the one who ordered nasi ambeng because its taste good. 

When you are here, of course you would like to try its pure teh tarik. That is actually satisfaction. We ordered 2 for each hihi (plus with kaya butter toast lol) So once we have full stomach, then we set all our mood back to shopping (yeay!) 

Overall: good place, reasonable price and taste
Supplementary Information:
some casual lunch or dinner
 
Recommended Dish(es):  teh tarik
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 05, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hunger for Asam Laksa Smile Oct 28, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Stall / Warung | Noodles | Halal | Nasi Lemak

Ah Cheng Laksa has been quite well known for its asam laksa. I was looking for a new luggage for my next vacation (can't wait! lol) at KL Festival ( now being called as Setapak Sentral) and would like to have a quick dinner there. So this is actually my first time trying and i can see most of the customers just takeaway (the shop is quite small). 

So my friend told me that its longan is the best with asam laksa combo. I tried that for the cost of around RM7 for 1 set. Its quite cheap tho. I thought it was just like a penang laksa stall i usually tried but this is quite different actually. 

 
The asam laksa portion is quite a lot (thats my "quick" meal pffftt). I was talking for an hour while eating, still yet, i couldn't finish -.-  and i couldn't stop eating the longan because it is delicious (seriously!) . Not like you take it from a can and drink it lol.

If you would like to try asam laksa that contain a lot of fish in it (well, usually some stall will have some watery laksa ) with big noodles and huge portion, this is the place. Highly recommended. You don't need to go all the way to Penang to get the best laksa. So i went for luggage hunting after some good food happily cry

Overall: Small shop, huge portion, cheap, super delicious
Supplementary Information:
If you are in group of more than 5,, you can just do the take-away
 
Recommended Dish(es):  asam laksa,longan
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 23, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM7(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nasi Ayam Hailam Smile Oct 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Halal

I was craving for nasi ayam hailam that day so my friend bring me to this restaurant. They have another branch near ampang point but we forgot so we went all the way to Damansara to eat. I was surprised that it was quite full. They even open new table outside when we were there. 

The menu was just as simple as most nasi ayam shop. Below are some of the menu pictures taken :- I decided to order the Hainanese and roasted chicken (RM7.50 each) rice as my friend ordered wantan me that inclusive of roasted duck (RM7.50) (we will be sharing all since we were so hungry as we did not have breakfast). 

 

 
The price was quite okay eventhough i used to order nasi ayam for only RM4.50 at Nasi Ayam Taman Melawati. But it is worth trying some new shops. The roasted chicken rice was as good as Nasi Ayam near my house at Taman Melawati but i never tried Hainanese chicken rice before, so i  give a plus for that because the taste is better than roasted chicken rice. 

Then we tried the wantan mee. My friend liked it but not for me. The soup was good by the way. Very much worth it for what we were having as we have full stomach afterwards. Usually my food hunting will be above RM10 per dish but this is something new lol. I should look for this kind of shops more as they serve good food with cheaper price. 

Overall: Nasi Ayam specialty, Halal, worth it
Supplementary Information:
Not to worry about halal, as i can see most muslim were coming here too
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Hainanese chicken rice
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 19, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM10(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend