OpenRice Index
  
Pyqa
This is Pyqa living in Ampang. I am a Executive, work in Ampang. I like to hang out in Ampang, Bukit Bintang, Damansara Utama. Japanese, Malaysian variety, Western variety are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant and Sweets/Snack, Pizza/Pasta, Steaks / Chops.
Member 45 First(s)
No. of Review99 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity492 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos206 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant99 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲30 Follower(s)
Pyqa  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 61 to 65 of 99 Reviews in Malaysia
NOt just a teh tarik place Smile Oct 29, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Kopitiam | Noodles | Nasi Lemak

I just finished working and my friend ask me to go to ioi mall to buy things for her Africa trip. So i drove all the way  there despite all the jamn just to accompany a good friend of mine (sweet aite? hihi) . So i would like to have my dinner first before we start all the shopping.

Teh tarik place is not just a simple teh tarik shop and definitely not a mamak stall. This shop kinda bring it to another level with all sorts of asean food there. There is no roti canai there but there are some real food. I ordered laksa penang but if you are looking at the picture below, it looks like im having mee kari instead -.-" . My friend ordered nasi ambeng which looks way much nicer lol.

 

 
But people always said don't judge the book by its cover, so i am not judging it and once i taste it, yes it does have the laksa penang taste but it is just too oily! I wish i was the one who ordered nasi ambeng because its taste good. 

When you are here, of course you would like to try its pure teh tarik. That is actually satisfaction. We ordered 2 for each hihi (plus with kaya butter toast lol) So once we have full stomach, then we set all our mood back to shopping (yeay!) 

Overall: good place, reasonable price and taste
Supplementary Information:
some casual lunch or dinner
 
Recommended Dish(es):  teh tarik
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 05, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hunger for Asam Laksa Smile Oct 28, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Stall / Warung | Noodles | Halal | Nasi Lemak

Ah Cheng Laksa has been quite well known for its asam laksa. I was looking for a new luggage for my next vacation (can't wait! lol) at KL Festival ( now being called as Setapak Sentral) and would like to have a quick dinner there. So this is actually my first time trying and i can see most of the customers just takeaway (the shop is quite small). 

So my friend told me that its longan is the best with asam laksa combo. I tried that for the cost of around RM7 for 1 set. Its quite cheap tho. I thought it was just like a penang laksa stall i usually tried but this is quite different actually. 

 
The asam laksa portion is quite a lot (thats my "quick" meal pffftt). I was talking for an hour while eating, still yet, i couldn't finish -.-  and i couldn't stop eating the longan because it is delicious (seriously!) . Not like you take it from a can and drink it lol.

If you would like to try asam laksa that contain a lot of fish in it (well, usually some stall will have some watery laksa ) with big noodles and huge portion, this is the place. Highly recommended. You don't need to go all the way to Penang to get the best laksa. So i went for luggage hunting after some good food happily cry

Overall: Small shop, huge portion, cheap, super delicious
Supplementary Information:
If you are in group of more than 5,, you can just do the take-away
 
Recommended Dish(es):  asam laksa,longan
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 23, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM7(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nasi Ayam Hailam Smile Oct 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Halal

I was craving for nasi ayam hailam that day so my friend bring me to this restaurant. They have another branch near ampang point but we forgot so we went all the way to Damansara to eat. I was surprised that it was quite full. They even open new table outside when we were there. 

The menu was just as simple as most nasi ayam shop. Below are some of the menu pictures taken :- I decided to order the Hainanese and roasted chicken (RM7.50 each) rice as my friend ordered wantan me that inclusive of roasted duck (RM7.50) (we will be sharing all since we were so hungry as we did not have breakfast). 

 

 
The price was quite okay eventhough i used to order nasi ayam for only RM4.50 at Nasi Ayam Taman Melawati. But it is worth trying some new shops. The roasted chicken rice was as good as Nasi Ayam near my house at Taman Melawati but i never tried Hainanese chicken rice before, so i  give a plus for that because the taste is better than roasted chicken rice. 

Then we tried the wantan mee. My friend liked it but not for me. The soup was good by the way. Very much worth it for what we were having as we have full stomach afterwards. Usually my food hunting will be above RM10 per dish but this is something new lol. I should look for this kind of shops more as they serve good food with cheaper price. 

Overall: Nasi Ayam specialty, Halal, worth it
Supplementary Information:
Not to worry about halal, as i can see most muslim were coming here too
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Hainanese chicken rice
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 19, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM10(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Everyday is Sunday they say. Smile Oct 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Asian Variety | Café | Burgers / Sandwiches | Desserts | Group/Family dining

It was my ex-housemate birthday. As always, when it comes to someone's birthday we willl plan a surprise for them. So this time we pick Rimba & Rusa. Well, the name makes me think of having a jungle kind of environment but i was wrong tongue. The cafe got a modern concept that makes it look spacious tho i think it is just as big as VCR cafe.

The decorations is simple and nice. We booked the table earlier as i was informed the cafe will usually be fully booked especially on fri, sat and sunday. Oh! i almost forgot, this cafe is actually by wondermilk, the one that got the best red velvet cupcake and rainbow cake in Publika. 

So lets jump into the menu. Below are the photos that you can refer to:-We have no idea what to order, so we ordered what is being suggested by the waiter. Below are the list:-
1) Soft Shell Crab Linguine (RM34)
2) Suka dukkah meatballs ( RM30)
3) Ciao Carbonara ( RM27)
4) Spaghetti meatballs (RM28)
5) Pineapple roasted spring chicken ( RM29)

I have tasted all of them and i believe my most fav one is soft shell crab linguine and the suka dukkah meatballs. The dishes are unique. The presentation is also as good as the taste. As for spaghetti meatballs, they put too much tomato for the sauce and carbonara taste was just okay.Lastly, the pineapple roasted spring chicken was good too but not in my fav list hehe.

 

 

 

 
Well they said it right, where you will really feel like everyday is sunday here because we stayed at this cafe until it closed ( the decorations will want you to take pictures non-stop) . We didn't get the chance to try their special dessert because it has sold out (i have forgotten the name of the dessert that they suggested, sorry). Will come again for different menu next time tongue 

Overall: Great food, worth it, great environment
Supplementary Information:
Come early as it will be full house over the weekend
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Soft Shell Crab
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 10, 2015 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately RM40(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mad about afro Smile Oct 25, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Desserts

The first thing that make me wanna go into the shop is because of the logo. Very cute (the afro i mean, how creative). I thought that this is some barber shop for the afros yuk 
I was looking for a place to kill some time, waiting for my friend to arrive. So i pick this mad about coco.

Well first you need to order at the counter. I was not that hungry so i go for their churros and a hot milk chocolate with marshmallow. I feel like it is a little bit expensive. The small churros cost you for RM16 and the hot choc with marshmallow cost you for RM15 ( i can get something really good with these price).

 

 
Oh well, its worth to give it a shot. the decorations of the shop is very cute. The mixture of the colours makes me feel relaxed. Well now, lets talk about the churos, yes it does look good but the taste is slightly dissapointing for the churos itself. Its just too oily for me. But they covered it good with the chocolate dip (which is very little) that taste absolute chocolate.

You really need to order plain water as well just incase it was too sweet with the marshmallow and the hot chocolate all together. Well i like how they presented the food. Very simple yet creative. How did they make the afro and the sunglasses? i am quite interested to learn this kind of things lol Maybe one day i should take classes for this (maybe). 

However, they will not be able to compete with salon du chocolate because their chocolate is more exclusive (in my opinion) than mad about coco. But the menu is definitely different. No harm trying tho.

Overall: The environment makes you feel relax, fullhouse on weekends, try all the chocolates you can 
Supplementary Information:
a place for chocolate
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mad About coco chocolate moist cake
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 04, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(宵夜)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0