OpenRice Index
  
Pyqa
This is Pyqa living in Ampang. I am a Executive, work in Ampang. I like to hang out in Ampang, Bukit Bintang, Damansara Utama. Japanese, Malaysian variety, Western variety are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant and Sweets/Snack, Pizza/Pasta, Steaks / Chops.
Member 45 First(s)
No. of Review99 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity486 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos206 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant99 My Restaurant(s)
Follow6 Following
粉絲30 Follower(s)
Pyqa  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 99 Reviews in Malaysia
Its time to try their pasta Smile Jan 31, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops | Seafood

I used to eat sushi zanmai which i like a lot but i realize they have pasta zanmai as well. So after i finished buying clothes for my turkey trip that time, me and my friend went to pasta zanmai for dinner. Luckily my friend wanted to treat me for my belated birthday hehe.

The environment is just like sushi zanmai but it was slighly smaller as what i remember. It was fullhouse tho. We managed to get a seat at the corner, nearby their kitchen (and you can smell all the food when you sit here). 

Both of us ordered the same dish which is salmon pasta. It is not cheap as what i remembered , around RM30++ . So the services is quite fast actually. After less than 10 mins, we got our food. I can tell their specialty is salmon because when i ate their sushi before, the salmon doesn't taste raw or smelly, same goes to this pasta. They grilled the salmon quite well. A plus for that! 

 

 
Then, we ordered this green tea parfait for dessert. Look at the picture, it really does look yummy! they put some jelly, cornflakes, nuts, cream and of course the green tea ice cream. We mixed it all together and it tasted delicious. lol 

I wish everyday is my birthday so that someone can treat me with some good food everyday ;p

Overall: japanese environment, awesome dessert 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  green tea parfait
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 11, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nyonya Cuisine Smile Jan 13, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant | Noodles | Nasi Lemak

My bestfriend is a big fan of this Sepiring. They serve you different menu with some baba nyonya taste, just like Lima Blas but this shop have some western mix. We were looking for this shop for about an hour (because my friend has not been to Sepiring for quite sometime  -.-").  And finally! We found it ( The shop that my friend been pointing all the time when i asked "what is this nyonya shop look like?" and she pointed Sepiring 3x but she insisted the name was different, and it is actually this one since 1 hour ago,lol) .

So, we were very hungry since we have been walking non-stop since morning, we finally got a chance to sit down and relax a bit. My friend ordered her fav weird dish called Spicy smoked beef (which is actually Spaghetti masak chili api) that cost RM16.90 which inclusive of dessert and drinks. As for me, i was craving for Ipoh Hor Fun so i ordered that set (RM16.90).

 

 

 
The list of the food here is definitely weird and interesting. Have you ever heard of spaghetti masak lemak chili api? definitely not for me! There are some other western dishes are mixed with Nyonya delight. For example, they have this tea time set which will cost you RM40-RM60 and you will get all the old dishes but presented in a modern way (such as sagu gula melaka, pengat pisang and etc). I can say this shop is quite creative.

Okay enough of that, lets try the food. The spaghetti was actually tasted good. They are not too spicy tho (try to eat my grandma's masak lemak chili api, you are going to scream lol ) . As for my Ipoh Hor Fun, too bad the soup didn't tasted the way i wanted. In this case, Old Town Ipoh Hor Fun win. As for the dessert, they served you pulut hitam and bubur cha cha. Bubur cha cha they use santan and some fruits jelly (i don't know the exact name). As for Pulut hitam, it is actually just a bubur kacang. Both tasted good.

I am in love with this shop already! will come again to try other dishes. lol

Overall: Unique dishes, delicious, reasonable price
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 01, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Italian | Restaurant | Pizza/Pasta | Burgers / Sandwiches

Well a friend of mine just open a new restaurant at JB and we drove all the way there to get fat because its for free! lol The location is quite strategic behind the Angsana JB that will usually have some events going on at the open space field. Well no wonder he has been making a lot of money (trust me).

So i pretended to be a normal customer (ehem) and asked the waiter to suggest what are the most famous dishes here. Then, they suggested their carbonara (i have seen a lot of post on instagram about their carbonara). Well let see the list of our orders:
1) Lobster : RM160 (refer picture for size)
2) Carbonara: RM20+
3) Grilled beef nachos : RM13.90
4) Sirlion Steak : RM32.50
4) Pasta (sorry forgotten the name) tongue

*Reasonable price.

 

 

 

 
Lets start with grilled beef nachos. The nachos is not that crunchy but i ignore it as the beef taste awesome. Then i tried the Sirlion steak, i asked for fully cooked and i regret it because it is a bit chewy. It was not one of my fav dish tho. As for the pasta, theres nothing much special about it except for the prawn that is well cooked.

Now, lets jump in to carbonara. To be honest, i am a big fan of carbonara despite all of my diet list when it comes to carbonara it will be the first thing i would like to try. I admit, at steakout, their carbonara is super duper delicious! The sauce is creamy but with a little bit of spice. I love it instantly.

Lastly, the hero of the menu, LOBSTER, we save the best for last. When the waiter is bringing it to our table, its already looks delicious. So we couldn't wait but dig in afterwards. I can tell you this, it is soft and they cooked well. I am not a lobster expert but i can at least tell whether it is good or not haha. We finished it within half an hour tho it was just a small size (sharing for 4 people). 

At night, they will usually open more tables outside because the space is quite limited inside that can only fit around 20 to 25 people. We leave at 8.30p.m and we started to see the crowd. From what i heard, it will always be fullhouse for dinner. 

Overall: Not bad for first penetration, awesome food, small spaces

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Lobster,carbonara
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 19, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM40(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

My 1000++ visit to food foundry!  Smile Oct 21, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Steaks / Chops | Sweets/Snack

Food foundry was actually the shop that introduced me to this crepe cake. This shop located at Jalan Happy Mansion and it was around flat area, the least expected place to search for some hipster cafe. When food foundry starting to build up its name, i can see that more hipster cafe were open from time to time at jalan happy mansion.

The first time i was here, they only selling their crepe cakes and the flavors changes overtime. My most fav flovor was the blueberry and vanilla. But now, there are too many flavors to choose from! From small cake shop to a big cafe and very well known! i am so proud to have eaten the cake when the shop was only have 10 seats back then. 

Enough said, as they have expanded, i would like to try some dishes that they are having here. Well, i tried the salmon carbonara that cost less than RM20 and of course the crepe cake but this time i tried salted caramel and of course i ordered my favorite blueberry ( RM10 - RM15)

 

 

 
Well, the salted caramel is actually intrend now the reason for me to try and my friend is accompanying me for my craving  tongue .  The tasted was actually really good. Definitely a new favorite. As for the salmon carbonara, i would really like to give 12/10 as the taste doen't get bored. the salmon is a bit salty but in combined, the taste is delicious.

This cafe has never disapoint me since the first time i came in year 2010/2012 if i am not mistaken. So there goes my most favorite crepe cake shop that has turned into a cafe. 

Overal: The best crepe cake ever! , western food was good
Supplementary Information:
Definitely a growing cafe
 
Recommended Dish(es):  crepe cake
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 14, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Alexis birthday dinner! Smile Oct 21, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Bar & Pub | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops

Well it was my dad's birthday that day. So we don't really want to go somewhere far for a fine dining experience. Me and my family decided to bring my dad to Alexis. I think it is a perfect place to celebrate a birthday!

So as always, i will order the western dishes here because they are superb delicious. I ordered sirlion steak. It does look small but trust me, it will fill up your dinner plus supper lol. Then my mom ordered her normal spaghetti bolognese and as for my dad, he ordered Nasi Kerabu, he wants some asean taste for his birthday. 

 
Spaghetti well of course it doesn't taste anything special just some plain spaghetti. For sirlion steak, it is very tender and can you believe me i was very full once i finished it all? haha. Then as for Nasi Kerabu, my dad said the rice is not as what he expected and the kari is definitely a no. But overall everything else was good. 

Well, the most important mission is to have our most favorite pavlova! We ordered 2 by the way as my dad would like to have one all for himself (you can't just reject birthday boy wishes right? ). So yes, i admit, the pavlova is not too creamy or too soft or too hard. It was just nice. Definitely worth it for something less than RM15. 
The best pavlova in town

The best pavlova in town

 
The total bill was around RM100 plus if i am not mistaken. The most expensive one is the sirlion steak that cost around RM28. Nasi Kerabu is just less than RM20 so as the spaghetti.
As for drinks, we just ordered ice lemon tea that cost around RM10.

While enjoying your dinner with some entertainment (live band), definitely worth it for someone's special night. Well dad, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! May your wishes come true.

Overall: nice environment with live band, western food, the best pavlova 
Supplementary Information:
The best pavlova in town !
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pavlova
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 12, 2015 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0