OpenRice Index
  
AmandaLaurenLee
This is AmandaLaurenLee living in Mont Kiara. I am a Personal AssistantI like to hang out in Mont Kiara, Sri Hartamas, Bangsar. Japanese, Italian, European are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant and Seafood, Burgers / Sandwiches, Fine Dining.
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review163 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2063 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos468 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant133 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲58 Follower(s)
AmandaLaurenLee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 101 to 105 of 149 Reviews in Malaysia
Seafood Craze Smile Nov 17, 2015   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood

Still a little obsessed with seafood, we decided to grab some from a restaurant that is well-known for their vast amount of fresh seafood that ranges from the usual to more exotic. Pantai Seafood has been a favourite to visit whenever the mood strikes and also having a need to splurge, or we are being treated to a good dinner by the boss. 

 
We ordered half a dozen of freshly shucked oysters. This is one of my favourite seafood ever and to have it fresh with nothign more than just a squeeze of lime is absolute bliss. The one that was offered at Pantai was perhaps not as fresh as the ones I had in Sydney, but it was probably quite close and it was rather big in size. The ones that we got were about the size of my hand, from the tips of my fingers down to the start of my wrist. 

 
Although already quite pleased with the raw oysters, mom wanted to try some cheese baked ones so we got three of these. Having had a few bad experiences with cooked or broiled oysters, I was a little apprehensive about these but still tried one. The cheese that was used with I assume a tiny hint of cream was alright and though the oyster was still quite fresh, I do prefer having them raw. As the cheese on top kind of masks the fresh and sweet delicate oyster taste. 

 
We also got some Garlic Steamed Bamboo clams. The ones that I have ordered at order restaurants were rather small in size and this was huge, literally the size of the plate that it was served in. However the price was slightly high for a few of these, I think the succulent meat and taste kind of makes it rather worth it. I only wish we ordered more but by then, I was already quite full from the oysters that were had. 

Although not a place that I would dine at often because of the rather steep prices on their food, it isn't a bad restaurant to have a good seafood dinner. Especially if it is a special occasion or am feeling a little bit greedy and in need of spoiling myself to a good dinner. 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fresh Oysters,Cheese Baked Oysters
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lucky chance Smile Oct 06, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood

We actually chanced upon this restaurant while we were around Pudu. By then we were so hungry that any sign of a restaurant was almost like heaven to us, especially since we got lost a few times trying to look for another place. Plus Sek Yuen looked promising since there were quite a number of tables occupied which to me means that the food there is good. 

 
Based on the boss' recommendation, we ordered the roast duck. Apparently this is one of their very popular dishes and after trying it, I can see why. The skin is perfectly crispy without too much of fat under the skin and the meat was tender without being too dry. Plus the duck is very flavourful from the different kind of spices that it has been marinated in. 

 
Another thing that was recommended and highly sought after specifically by me is their Stir-Fried Chinese Garlic Chives with beef. I don't know why but not many restaurants serve this particular vegetable so when they mentioned that it was available, I wanted it instantly. To my surprise that the combination of beef and this veggie is actually pretty good, plus I like the flavours of it. 

 
Because two dishes is not enough for the four of us, we decided to get one more vegetable dish. A little at a loss for choice we just chose this stir-fried yao mak with what I assumed then to be bean curd. Though it didn't exactly taste like it when it arrived and was a tad bit too oily than I would like, but we still finished all of it because it was pretty good too. Just too much grease. 
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hakka cuisine galore.  Smile Oct 05, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood

Recommended by an uncle of mine, he drove the whole family up to Kajang just to try the food here because a relative came down from Singapore. Apparently they still miss the food here so it's a must to let them try some hearty home-style food. 

 
The very first order is they Vinegar Braised Pork Trotters. This is exactly how my grandparents would cook it - extremely sour, sweet and also spicy. Although I do not eat the meat because I do not know how to enjoy it, I can slurp up the soup with no problem at all. Not even bothered by the weather that had me sweating like a pig, literally. 

 
Another must order is the Hakka Style Lobak. Deep fried and crispy perfection that's bursting with flavour with every bite. Although it's deep fried, it isn't dried in the slightest bit plus the stuffing is very tender. 

 
This is the Five-layer pork belly braised with yam, a favourite of my grandpa's and something we love to order when it's available. Although I've had better, this is also pretty good because the meat are tender and so is the yam. Though I would prefer it if the yam is so tenderly cooked that it's borderline mushy. 

The food here is definitely worth the drive up and also to endure the heat for. 
 
Date of Visit: Oct 03, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Heritage! OK Sep 22, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Malaysian variety | Kopitiam | Steaks / Chops

I recently found out that Yut Kee's food had always been grandpa's favourite. Since I'm older now and working, I thought that it'll be nice to bring the grandparents there for breakfast. Though I think it is a bad idea to go there during the weekends because of the crowd.

Unless you like being in the midst of a sea of people and enjoy hasty/bad service, then by all means please go on a weekend. Especially for brunch.

 
The first thing we got was the French Toast that comes with a side of their in-house made Kaya. Honestly, I remember this being very good but somehow the bread was more on the soggy side that day. However the kaya was absolutely addictive and would have happily mopped it up with just plain bread if I wasn't thinking about all the fats & calories I would be ingesting. 

 
We also ordered the Hokkien noodles, particularly just plain meehoon rather than a mixture with mee. It is actually not that bad and if only the noodles came a little darker, then I would really like this cause there was a pretty good 'wok hei' to the dish.

 
Then there's the Chicken chops that came with a side of what I assumed to be roasted potato wedges and mix of corn & peas. It's my grandpa's favourite so this dish was super good to him even though I feel like it is only so-so in my head.

Though it may be because I am not a fan of chicken chop at all. But I have to admit that the gravy that came with it was pretty alright.

Will I go back there again? Probably, on any day except the weekends where people flock to the restaurant as if they were giving out gold. And only will be back for their butter cake & swiss roll cause those are really good.
 
Date of Visit: Sep 20, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Japanese. Yums! Smile Sep 21, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Seafood | Ramen/Udon/Soba

After a good long round at the batting cages, my friends and I were exhausted on top of starving for something to eat. Since we were already on that side of One Utama so it's to no surpise that our first choice happens to be Sushi Zanmai. 

It was a very early dinner so that explains why there was no line to dine there, though the interior was already quite full which meant the staffs were a little busy. Took a while to get the waiter's attention and also took some time for most of our food to arrive.

 
As always my first choice to eat is definitely their sushi rather than any of their bento or ramen sets. Funnily enough my order all came in a single plate which is weird but also good in a way because this takes up less of the table space. 

A thing I like to do is order off the menu because it is my personal belief that this means the sushi is made to order rather than those on the conveyor belt which I assume has been there for a while already.

 
One thing that I always order is the Ebikko sushi and priced at Rm4.80 each, I straight up ordered two in a go. Honestly I could sit down and eat several of this in one sitting but I would not try anything else which is a little of a waste of stomach space. 

 
Another order that I like is the Ika Mentai. There is nothing wrong with this combination as the raw squid is nice and crunchy, plus nicely lathered with a layer of bruleed mentai. The only thing is, I wish there was more of the sauce on top of the Ika because this time they gave really scarce amount. 

 
Here's something that's fast becoming a favourite of mine too - the Ikura sushi. Basically ikura is Salmon roe which is bigger in size compared to the Ebikko so each little egg has more 'juice' inside and has a more fishy flavour.

While I really liked this, here's something that I find wrong with this. The seawed was damp and soggy that had me wondering how long has this been sitting around before it was served to me. The Ikura was scarce and also in the picture on the menu, it's supposed to come with cucumber slices to give a hint of freshness so the flavour of the roe isn't too overpowering which you can see did not come with mine.

Sushi Zanmai had always been a favourite place for me to go to for a good Japanese food fix, especially since their prices are not too exurbent. However I do feel like some of the standards have dropped significantly which is kind of disappointing. At least to me. 

 
Though the Saba Shioyaki was good and I am glad to see that they serve two pieces of the fish now. Before it had only been one piece for the price of Rm16.80 which I find to be a bit on the steep side and as much as I like how this tasted, I do not have so much money to fork out all the time. 

So I am happy to say that this pleased me greatly and I enjoyed every bite of my grilled Saba fish with some lemon juice. 
 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 19, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0