OpenRice Index
  
AmandaLaurenLee
This is AmandaLaurenLee living in Mont Kiara. I am a Personal AssistantI like to hang out in Mont Kiara, Sri Hartamas, Bangsar. Japanese, Italian, European are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant and Seafood, Burgers / Sandwiches, Fine Dining.
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review163 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2051 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos468 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant133 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲58 Follower(s)
AmandaLaurenLee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 163 Reviews in Malaysia
More ramen Smile Nov 18, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen/Udon/Soba

After spending eight days in Sydney eating western food, my stomach was dying for some really good ramen. So when I touched down in KL the first place that I wanted to go for lunch was Ippudo for some nice warm broth plus good textured noodles. 

Since the lunch set was still available and happened to have my favourite sides, I ordered that while mom had a starter to herself because she was full already.

 
I'm not really sure what this is because my brain could only think about ramen at the time. But it's some sort of spring roll with ebikko and some special sauce. Although I am not too sure what it was exactly but I do know that it was a really nice bite cause the vegetables were crisp & fresh. 

 
As always I would get the salad with sesame dressing that comes with the lunch set. It's as good as it usually is only sometimes the dressing is a little scarce. But easily overlooked since I was mainly just looking forward to my bowl of ramen. 

 
Then my bowl of Karakka-Men with Cha Siew was brought to my table, that was when I was sent to seventh heaven. The smell of the pork bone broth was so delicious and mixed with the spicy miso paste plus spring onions, it was just enough to make my mouth water. The soup never fails to amaze me as the flavours are just so strong but yet makes you want more and more.

The noodles always has a nice bite to it, especially since I asked for it to be a 'hard' texture. So by the time it's been soaked in the broth then it'll be nicely textured cause I am not a fan of overcooked and soft noodles.

Although most people have told me that Ippudo is overrated, it still remains my personal favourite place to go to for some good ramen. Plus with the option of a set lunch, it is more afforable now. 
 
Date of Visit: Nov 15, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Comfort Korean Food Smile Oct 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant | BBQ

This area of Ampang is widely known as little korean town because there is plenty of Korean restaurants and also a supermart. You are spoiled for choice of which establishment you would want to dine at when you're there. Even if you go there often, you would never be able to try them all because there are just that many. 

A friend recommended to try Korea BBQ Jal-Dae-Ji because he's dined there once before and liked the simple but tasty food that they offered. Unlike many places that has table with the roasting pit at the middle of the table, this did not have that so if you want some BBQ meats they'd grill it for you outside. That means you won't be smelling like grill smoke when you exit the restaurant.

What they do serve however is mainly simple almost home-cooked korean food. 
Ban-Chan

Ban-Chan

 
The side dishes that is offered there isn't plentiful like some other places. But it's all done well even though they are rather simple. The kimchi that they give tastes more homemade than storebought as the pungency of it was just right and then the other dishes tasted pretty good. My favourite were the fried anchovies with peanuts because they were the perfect amount of salty and sweet. 

Just the side dishes alone was enough to keep me happy with a bowl of steaming hot white rice. But of course we were looking to try their main dishes too. 

 
I forgot what this was called. But it's basically a simple soup that has some noodles in it and also pork slices. This is how I imagine the best comfort food to taste like because having this delicately sweet bowl of hot soup with rice and all the banchan made my friend so happy that night. It was not too expensive either as it only cost Rm18 and it comes with rice plus refillable sides. 

So worth eating there and I would definitely be back to try all the other things on the menu because they were not at all overly expensive but in a good sized portion. 
 
Date of Visit: Oct 18, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Very good. Smile Aug 30, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood | Desserts

Nice Soup Gang was discovered by a family member quite a few years ago. After having dinner there for the first time, we always went back to have more especially on special occasions like CNY dinners or anyone's birthday too. My grandpa especially loves the food from this restaurant. 

Plus the staff are always very friendly with my family as we go there quite often. Also the wait-staff are incredibly efficient and not just standing around staring at you while waiting for instructions. Which I give an immediate thumbs up for that because terrible service makes for a very bad dining experience which cheapens the taste of the food.

So, recently we went back for my mother's birthday celebration and ordered a few of our favourite dishes.
Prosperity on a plate.

Prosperity on a plate.

 
The first being their signature Braised Fish Maw & Belly with Sea Cucumber. Although this has never been my first dish to order, it is hard to deny that it does taste very good. They are very generous with their ingredients without overcharging us just because they can, nor are they giving us any low quality stuff. Plus the sauce is rich and flavoursome as it should be.

A definite must order at any celebrations.

 
For that day we also ordered the Sweet Soya Sauce Steamed Siakap. To no surprise that this dish was one of the favoured as the sauce was sweet without overpowering the freshness of the fish. The meat was succulent and tender which proves that the fish is not old or kept in the freezer before served to us. An excellent choice of order.

Also, almost all of their fishes are killed and cooked to order to ensure optimum freshness. If you are unsure then please do ask about it when you are ordering. 
Herbal taste was strong

Herbal taste was strong

 
One of my absolute favourite of the night was the Herbal Steamed Kampung Chicken. Almost immediately everyone at the table could smell the herbs that were used to make this dish and the flavour was pungent even in the sauce. Every spoonful of sauce felt like I was drinking some really strong herbal soup which was excellent. 

We asked for Kampung Chicken as we preferred the texture but I presume that this would be good even with the regular chicken. However it may not be as chewy and succulent as the kampung ones.
The special XO sauce is really amazing.

The special XO sauce is really amazing.

 
For vegetable, we ordered the XO Sauce Stir-Fried Long Bean with Pacific Clams. To be honest I wasn't expecting too much with this dish but chose it just because I like long beans.

But this was amazing! Literally one of the best stir-fried vegetables that I have ever had and I think it is because of the XO sauce which is Nice Soup Gang's signature secret recipe. Very very good and would definitely order three plates the next time we are there.
Again, very flavourful from their special XO sauce.

Again, very flavourful from their special XO sauce.

 
Last but not least is the restaurant's famous dish which is XO Sauce Fried Rice with Seafood. The sauce used to cook this is the same as the one used with the vegetables so it's no surprise that this is absolutely delicious also.

The rice is incredibly fluffy and fragrant cause of the XO sauce plus the 'wok-hei'. This is the one rice dish where I can go back for seconds and also thirds without caring about the carbs. Plus they add little scallops and prawns which are incredibly juicy too so every mouthful is a burst of flavours.

It's no wonder why we always return to this place for a meal because we are never ever disappointed whenever we are there. 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Double boiled soup,XO Sauce Seafood Fried Rice,XO Sauce Stir Fried Green Beans,Herbal Steamed Kampung Chicken
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately RM30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Healthy and Hearty Smile Aug 25, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Bakery / Cake / Kuih

The first time I tried BreadFruits was quite a spur of the moment and was admittedly shocked by what I got. Considering that the price was rather affordable and portions were large, it was definitely a pleasant surprise to find that my meal left me incredibly satisfied. Which is rather rare these days as restaurants are popping up like daisies.

So when my friends and I got together over the weeked, we decided to have another meal at at Breadfruits, Sri Hartamas, because I was very happy with my first dining experience. Plus I was definitely looking forward to try the rest of their extensive dinner menu - which I learned was a new addition to the place.

As always, the first thing that you are hit with when you enter the restaurant is the strong scent of freshly squeezed juice. Slightly green and citrusy but soothing in a sense. The staff readily greet you and thankfully for my second visit, the service was as good as the first. None of the servers looked like they would rather be anywhere else but at work nor were they slow.

We wasted little to no time in ordering three different entree and tried a little of each other's food. Once again I was pleased by what we got.
Incredibly fragrant, albeit slightly lacking in seasoning.

Incredibly fragrant, albeit slightly lacking in seasoning.

 
First is the Chermoula Cajun Chicken with Guacamole. Anything with chicken breast and avocado is a definite plus. The portion was acceptable for the price tag of Rm24.80, presentation was amazing as they served the poultry on the wooden chopping block which gave it a rustic feel. 

However I was disappointed as the chicken was underseasoned although incredibly fragrant from the marinating and also the pesto. The guacamole lacked any form of citrus or salt which just made it difficult to swallow regardless of how much I love avocadoes.

Perhaps it was a bad day for the kitchen. I am willing to give them a benefit of a doubt that their food can be this bland. 
Hearty and absolutely delicious.

Hearty and absolutely delicious.

 
My order was the Risotto with Prawns and Sundried Tomatoes. I have been on a lookout for a good risotto and unfortunately, have been quite disappointed by the few that I have ordered. The rice is usually too mushy or they use too much cream making the dish far too cloying. But Breadfruits got it right.

They used prawn stock to cook the rice so every mouthful is flavoursome and also perfectly al dente. They were not stingy with the seafood either which made the dish worthwhile for the price of Rm24.80. 

This was the highlight of the night in my opinion.
Healthy. But still filling and yummy.

Healthy. But still filling and yummy.

 
Another friend of mine ordered the Grilled Rosemary Chicken Caesar Salad priced at Rm21.80. Although my appetite will never permit me to order a salad, I have to say that this surprised me more than the first dish. 

They were not stingy with the lettuce or tomatoes. The chicken was flavourful with the marinate that it has been sitting in and grilled to perfection, still juicy despite being incredibly lean. Although I am not sure if the dressing was homemade or jarred - I still think that it is very very yummy.

All in all, BreadFruits is a nice place to go to for a casual dinner because the interior is nothing fanciful or anything luxurious. But the food is definitely the highlight and the fact that it won't burn a hole in your wallet is also great.

Will definitely be back again! 
Supplementary Information:
Try their fruit juice! Although a little pricey for certain fruits, it's very good and not diluted at all like you would get in some restaurants.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Aglio Olio Pasta with Sundried Tomatoes & Prosciutto,Sandwiches!,Breakfast menu
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Aug 22, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM25

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Sweets/Snack

My friend and I had chosen to have brunch at Standing Theory by coincidence as the other cafe which we had chosen was closed. She had discovered this place from a rather well-known food blog and thought it would be a good choice. From what we could tell, there were good reviews of this place and since we had time to burn, we thought why not.

We arrived rather early in the day - about 11am so the cafe was relatively empty save for one or two tables. The cafe is rather small and had floor to ceiling windows at the front so it lights up the interior which had dark oak wood coloured decorations. Quite a nice touch to the design.

Also, the staff were quite attentive, leading us to a table almost instantly and gave us the menu to look over. Though they did not let us know that orders are to be placed at the counter until we flagged down one of the staff. 

The menu is not very large but there is two, one for breakfast and another for later in the day. They all sounded pretty good but we were there for one thing only, which was the B.B.C Waffles which is a really indulgent sounding brunch meal. Plus for the price of Rm 13; that was quite promising.

There was two of us and we opted to share the waffle because we would be attending a workshop after which provides us food so we did not want to be overly full. It was a good decision because with our average female appetite, the dish was enough to satisfy our hungry bellies. 

When our dish arrived about fifteen minutes later, it smelled and looked amazing.The savoury Bacon mixed with the honey soaked waffle tastes better than I imagined. Then the hot and crispy waffle intermingling with the cold corn flakes ice cream makes the entire dish so much more interesting.
To add extra bacon will be another Rm3

To add extra bacon will be another Rm3

 
We also ordered the Iced Mocha priced at Rm12 and personally; I felt was slightly expensive. But I was comparing it to our dish which had two nicely sized waffles, two slices of bacon and two scoops of ice cream which only costs us Rm13. So I was a little baffled that the drink would be almost the same price as my breakfast. 

Though I gotta say that the coffee taste was very strong which I appreciated very much. It was milky like a mocha should be and one thing that made me happy was that the coffee was not suuuper sweet like some places usually make it to be. Although it is quite a steep price to pay for a glass of iced Mocha, the taste did make it worth it.

I would definitely go back to Standing Theory for more of their food that is for sure. :3
Supplementary Information:
Apparently the 'cold brew' from Standing Theory is made by steeping the roasted coffee beans in room temperature water for an estimated 12 hours to get all the flavours out. It's contained in odd little test tube looking things which they will pour over ice, then add milk & sugar if the customer prefers some added flavour to their coffee.

That sounded interesting but I did not try it. Will perhaps opt for this the next time I return.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  B.B.C Waffle
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 28, 2015 

Celebration:  母親節 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend