OpenRice Index
  
AmandaLaurenLee
This is AmandaLaurenLee living in Mont Kiara. I am a Personal AssistantI like to hang out in Mont Kiara, Sri Hartamas, Bangsar. Japanese, Italian, European are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant and Seafood, Burgers / Sandwiches, Fine Dining.
Member 37 First(s)
No. of Review163 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2054 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos468 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant133 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲58 Follower(s)
AmandaLaurenLee  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 61 to 65 of 163 Reviews in Malaysia
Mom's treat Smile Oct 21, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Seafood | Ramen/Udon/Soba

Japanese food is something the mom & myself enjoy having from time to time. Since I had recently gotten my salary, I decided to treat her to a nice meal and it was no surprise that she suggested going to Sushi Zanmai. It had over time become one of her top 5 place to go to for good and afforable sushi. 

It was a little over dinner time when we arrived so the place was not super packed which was something we preferred. Like always we requested for the booth seats so we can pick any sushi off the conveyor belt if we saw anything that caught our attention.

 
The first and must order for my mother is the Salt Grilled Mackerel. We both love this a lot because of how the nicely grilled fish had a crispy skin that's slightly salted and tangy from the lemon juice. Plus Zanmai's fish is always fresh without the overly fishy note which can be had at other places. 

 
Another order which we never fail to get is the Ebikko sushi. Since I could finish two pieces by myself easily, we got two order to share as we have other dishes and would rather not be too greedy. 

Although they were generous with the toppings, I was not too happy that the seaweed was soggy. To me, that's a sign that the sushi isn't freshly made like the kinds we could get off the conveyor belt, only we had just ordered it which is a little bit disappointing. However that did not stop us from finishing it all, right down to the very last fish roe. 

 
Then we ordered the Sukiyaki with Beef. This is something my mother absolutely love because of the soup and all of it's ingredients in it. So we ordered this to share and enjoyed our tender slices of beef cooked in the sweet soup then dipped in egg for extra silkiness. We love this so much that there is usually nothing left by the time we are done with it. 
Beef Sukiyaki

Beef Sukiyaki

 
Can't wait to go back for another round of sushi soon! 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Beef Sukiyaki,Salt Grilled Mackerel
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

DESSERT! Smile Oct 20, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Seafood | Noodles

After dinner, I had a really strong craving for dessert. Not just any kind that we can easily get or is popular these days like the waffles & ice cream trend. I wanted nothing other than some Thai delicacy and since I was already nearby one, my friends and I decided to pay a visit to My Elephant. 

Although I wish we had eaten there for dinner instead as the other diner's meals made me feel slightly envious. But I went straight for what my stomach wanted which were the sweet treats. 

 
First we got the Mango with Glutinous rice. I really like the sweet mango and slight salty rice combination.

This resembles the sticky rice mango only without the coconut milk which was slightly disappointing, but that didn't stop us from finishing this plate entirely. Though given that the portion is probably enough for one person with a small appetite for dessets and for Rm8.50, it is a little pricey. But we ordered other desserts to share so it was easily overlooked.

 
We also ordered the Mango with Sago priced at Rm 6.50, because I was really in the mood for it. This one also reminded me of the sticky mango rice that we'd get in Thailand only instead of rice it's soft jelly-like sago. This also came with lots of coconut milk and was super slurp-worthy.

 
Then there's the Red Ruby dessert which is my absolute favourite when it comes to Thai desserts. Those crunchy chestnuts wrapped in chewy sago in a coconut milk 'broth' with shaved ice and also slices of jackfruit is the best thing ever created. Priced at Rm6.50, I thought this was pretty worth it as it was a moderate sized portion.

However this was SLIGHTLY disappointing because the coconut milk tasted a little odd to me. Rather than those that is freshly squeezed, it tasted like something out of the packet which was off putting to me. So I mostly just ate the jackfruit and also chestnuts cause those were the star of the dish.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 16, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sushi Fixings Smile Sep 08, 2015   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Seafood | Ramen/Udon/Soba | Private Party

While my friends would prefer ordering a set meal like a bowl of ramen or a rice bowl, I prefer otherwise. My go-to is always the assorted sushis and other kind of small dishes because that way I can try different things. Variety is key even if my stomach capacity can only go so far. 

 
As always, my immediate order is two servings of Ebikko Sushi just for myself. Honestly I can eat about 3-4 servings of this and I'll be a very happy person. Sushi Tei does this well because the seaweed is always crisp when I eat it which means this was made to order and their never stingy with the ebikko toppings so paying Rm4.80 for one serving is worth it. 

 
Something else that I always like to get is a California Maki because it comes with ebikko surrounding the rice & different kinds of filling - all of which happens to be my favourite. There's avocado, cucumber, egg and crabmeat inside so for Rm6.80, it's really not bad at all.

 
Then there's this Salmon Mentai Nigiri sushi which is my absolute favourite thing to get and priced at Rm7.80, I guess it's pretty alright. There is a layer of japanese mayo mixed with mentaiko (cod roe) on top of slices of salmon belly and it is torched which gives it a very nice flavour.

Unlike some places, Sushi Tei is not stingy with both the mentai & salmon so you'd get a good bite with these two pieces.

 
Finally no Japanese meal is complete for me without enjoying a good handroll and one of my favourite to order is Soft Shell Crab Handroll. One thing I really liked about the ones they serve at Sushi Tei is how their soft shell crab is not oily nor is it hard & cold. Instead this was crispy & juicy at the same time. So I really enjoyed it.

That wraps up my Japanese dinner over the weekend and it definitely will not be the last time I visit this place.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 06, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Japanese Food Fix Smile Sep 07, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Seafood | Ramen/Udon/Soba | Private Party

After walking around and buying the things that we wanted, the few of us decided to take a break to grab some dinner. Since there was nothing else that really caught our attention, we headed straight for Sushi Tei for some nice Japanese food. 

This is one of my favourite places to go to for some Japanese food because the staff are always very polite and also attentive. They get an A for service, that is for sure. 

For appetizers, we ordered to share two dishes before our mains arrived. 

 
As always the Tamago is a must order and for 4pcs priced at Rm6.80, it's pretty worth it. Especially since the rolls are not flat and small.

There's something really special about Japanese egg because not only is it incredibly soft, the texture of it also happens to be incredibly fluffy and spongy. Something never to have ever been expected of an egg. 

Though I'm only half as excited about this plate because it is slightly sweet which isn't my favourite flavour when it comes to eggs. But Sushi Tei definitely makes one of the best Tamago dishes. 

 
We saw something on the menu that caught our attention and bravely ordered it to try. It was their Natto with Tuna appetizer and it was only Rm4.80 for this.

I've seen and heard about Natto before but never dared to try it after some Japanese people explained that it's got a very pungent taste & smell. Plus the slimy texture has always put me off, until yesterday evening. 

It is true that the bean has a very slimy like texture and also the slime gets stringy when you try to take any pieces of it. The taste is almost similar to Petai, if not a little more subtle and less bitter. But when you eat it with the tuna & some soya sauce, it is actually not too bad.

There is also a lot of protein in this small dish and the health benefits that comes from those fermented beans. It's no wonder why the Japanese people eat it so much. 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 06, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The BEST Pan Mee in KL Smile Aug 30, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam | Noodles

I daresay that this Pan Mee despite it's rather secluded location serves one of the BEST Pan Mee there is in KL. 

In my opinion, what makes a good Pan Mee depends on the soup, the density of the noodles and also the chilli belacan that comes with. All of which this Uncle's Pan mee has achieved with flying colours. Also explains why I have frequented this place over the past 8-9 years ever since it was first discovered.

Whenever I go there over the weekend, I would order my standard Pan Mee and that alone without even bothering to try anything else at the coffee shop.

Be warned that if you go there after 1pm then there is a chance that this store is already sold out because of how many customers he gets in a day. Also do not be put off by his grumpy appearance, because he is actually very kind. 

 
What I would always order is the Hand Torn Pan Mee in Soup. Plus I always tell the uncle that I want the noodles to be thicker than the usual so that it is more chewy, trust me that is the best way to enjoy this Pan Mee.

The bowl is substantially large and filled to the brim with soup, noodles, spinach, ikan bilis, marinated mushroom with mince meat, slices of meat and even fried bean curd. Everything combined just makes this the best bowl of food in the entire universe - and I'm not even exaggerating, much.

The soup is very flavoursome as a result of boiling for many many hours and I assume that the uncle uses Ikan Billis as the base before adding some meat. The belacan chilli is spicy, sharp from the garlic and also slighty tangy. Add that to your dense and chewy noodles, you have the perfect bite. 

This place is a must visit if you enjoy Pan Mee as much as I do!
Supplementary Information:
Kindly ask the uncle if you can take some extra ikan bilis and fried garlic to add to your soup - adds another extra depth of flavour.
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately RM7

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0