OpenRice Index
  
mileinna
This is mileinna .
Member 6 First(s)
No. of Review10 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity111 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos45 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant19 My Restaurant(s)
Follow3 Following
粉絲8 Follower(s)
mileinna  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 10 Reviews in Malaysia
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Stall / Warung | Seafood


This is one of my favourite place to get roasted meat as it has always maintained its fragrant roasted goods and also they serves a wholesome meal that comes with vegetables and the utmost importance; their time-consuming double-boiled soup. Any better that you have to boil it yourself.

 
The coffee shop store front

 
The extended store front which they maximise the usage of the coffee shop foyer. You can see they operate their kitchen out there.

Their famous dish is roast duck but we didn't order during this visit, I shall put an update on my next visit. Nevertheless, here is the roast chicken, roast pork and char siew (honey BBQ pork).

 
Honey BBQ pork @ RM6.00

 
Twin meat set; Roast chicken & roast pork @ RM12.00

The char siew is a bit too sweet to my liking, maybe maybe they lost touch on this. But the roast pork as you can see from the photo, it has a good crusty skin and succulent meat.

 
The menu is pasted all over their kitchen stall. Very clear and convenient.

 
STAR order! Coconut chicken double-boiled soup @ RM7.50

It may seems it's pretty price-y of this soup but the coconut is actually quite big and well enough serving for two.

 
Boiled Lettuce with Oyster sauce and fried Onion @ RM5.00

They serve simple boiled vegetable which is just nice to go with the meat and soup. Also they have a choice between oil rice (rice with fried onion) or white rice at a cost of RM1.00 each.

Verdict :

Taste - 4/5
Ambience - 2.5/5 (It's like a coffee shop/ hawker style and be prepared for the afternoon sun heat during lunch.)
Hygiene - 3/5 (Pretty ok as you can see the kitchen right when you walk in.)
Service - 4/5
Value for money - 4.5/5 (They serve fresh food [not processed] and especially the soup claimed to be MSG-free!)

Details :

Name : Kedai Makanan Wing Heong

Address : 3215, Jalan Besar, 43300 Seri Kembangan, Selangor.

GPS location : 3.018908,101.703598

Phone no. : +6016-272 2196

Operation hours : Tue - Closed, Wed - Mon 10.30am to 5.00pm

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Roast duck,double-boiled soup
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 22, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM6.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Teochew Chendul @ The Mines Smile Jun 23, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Noodles | Halal | Desserts


Food tripping with LGB 2nd sister aka my SIL continue when we were shopping in The Mines. I have been hearing good review about this local delights franchise but were holding myself back from sugary food.

So by now, you would know I'm on low sugar, caffeine-free and raw-free diet throughout my pregnancy. LGBB, see how much mommy sacrifices for you!

But I could not hold it out any longer especially when I can take one scoop to taste this cendol and give the rest to LGB and his sister. *wuahaha*

 
Storefront @ The Mines

Don't know why they spelled Chendul with H and U.

The cendol pictured here looks a bit transparent which may gives an idea that it could be plastic-like and too chewy but it's NOT! To me, it strikes the right balances between chewiness and breaking point of my favourite cendol. Definitely will come back for this dessert and try out their Assam Laksa (another one of my favourite local delights).

 
Very generous cendol-giving @ RM6.90

 
Such a cute and very locally represented photo of cendol stall!

Verdict :

Taste - 4/5 (A very good represents of gula Melaka and its famous Malaysian local delights.)
Ambience - 4/5 (A normal mall eateries same like I Love Yoo! stall.)
Service - 4/5
Hygiene - 4/5 (Compare to mamak shop or stall this is definitely better.)
Value for money - 3/5 (Can be shared by two persons, if you're not too greedy but not as cheap as the one that you can get from stall by the road.)

Details :

Name : Teochew Chendul

Address : L1-K1,K2,K6(P), Level 1, Jalan Dulang, Mines Resort City, 43300 Seri Kembangan, Selangor. (LG floor in front of Fish & Co.)

GPS location : 3.027919,101.718227,17

Phone no. : Nil

Operation hours : Daily 10am - 10pm

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 11, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM7(宵夜)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Bak Kut Teh


Yay, in honour of this inauguration food review, I will post about my most favourite Bak Kut Teh (BKT) from Klang aka 'Klang's Under the Bridge Bak Kut Teh'. It's not literally under the bridge but it's the corner shop by the flyover bridge hence the name.

My family and I have been patron of this shop for the past 20 years as we used to stay in Shah Alam. However since moving to Seri Kembangan, we have been frequent it less and less. Nevertheless, once in a while when we have visitor out-of-town requested for BKT recommendation, we will try our best to make that 45km travel.

LGB parents are in town and we thought to recommend them this; the real true Klang BKT!

 
Storefront photo. You can see the chef is picking and chopping part of pork that was being ordered.

 
From left top clockwise, *STAR ORDER* big bone (RM10), stewed eggs (RM4), stewed tofu (RM6) and they substitute soft bones as they ran out of pork ribs (RM10). *I ain't complaining cos it's as good!*

LGB parents are watching out for the cholesterol level hence I only order 2 plates of meat for 4 persons. Usually I will order 1 plate for each pax without the tofu and egg. The tofu was quite disappointing as it was not stewed long enough to absorb the essence of the soup.

The current chef is already their 3rd generation son and I noted the soup is not as thick as I remember it to be. I guess 古早味 always taste better.

This BKT is of darker colour and I never like the other type of BKT which is of lighter soup as they don't put in dark soy sauce. *somewhat bashful* After years of being proud of knowing the real true Klang BKT, Wikipedia educated me that there are two clans that cook BKT differently ie. Hokkien cooks with stronger meat flavour and dark soy sauce while Teochew cooks it lighter with peppery taste.

 
Fried onion cooked with the rice (RM1.50/plate) that gives it nice wafting fragrant and Chinese tea (RM3/tea bag) is a must companion to wash down the amount of fat in this pork-laden dish. You can bring your own tea leaves.

Oh! I forgot the you-tiao (yao char kwai) picture which is also a must companion to be dipped and eat along with the soup which cost RM2/plate.

All in all, I'm glad that LGB parents agree with my recommendation as we order 6 plates of rice for 4. :-D

Summary of review :

Taste - 4/5
Ambience - 2/5 (It has the grandfather's-time-coffee-shop feel but the paint is peeling off the wall lah)
Hygiene - 2/5 (Lucky their kitchen is at the storefront hence I can assure the food hygiene is met but I don't dare to go to their toilet if it's not too urgent.)
Value for money - 4.5/5 (Our total spending cost us less than RM11 per person. *Where to find?*)

Details of the restaurant :

Name : Restoran Seng Huat Bak Kut Teh

Address : Jalan Besar, Kawasan 1, 41000 Klang, Selangor.

GPS Location : 3.0434026,101.4482494

Phone no. : 012 3098 303 / 012 3855 154

Operation hours : 7.30am - 1.00pm & 5.30 - 8.30pm

 
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 14, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM11(早餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Yummy infused pan mee Smile Jun 15, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Kopitiam | Noodles

Got to know about this Pan Mee stall from Astro tv show. This is not the only shop in Serdang that served infused pan mee and I have had infused pan mee in other stall but it didn't live up to expectation. However from the tv show the process of making this pan mee uses real vegetable and I decide to give it a try.

By far this infused pan mee does able to give you the taste of the vege instead of just the aesthetic outlook of a good colour.
Beside the fact that the noodle is a bit too thick and soup contain too little ingredients (vege, minced meat and black fungus), they did live up to their specialty of vege infused pan mee.
Surprisingly good rice set from a noodle stall.

Surprisingly good rice set from a noodle stall.

 
Superb pumpkin sweetness in noodles!

Superb pumpkin sweetness in noodles!

 
Clearly priced without confusion

Clearly priced without confusion

 
Supplementary Information:
5-types of pan mee are pumpkin, bell pepper, spinach, normal and carrot.

Also serves nasi lemak, tomyam, curry and fish head noodles.
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 03, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM7(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Surprisingly good brunch place! Smile Apr 19, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops | Burgers / Sandwiches

I have never wore fancy dress to dine in Serdang except for this! Accidentally bumped into a blog entry about this restaurant and immediately attracted by its concept (brunch/western) and inner decoration. 
Usually the inner decor will have a inverse effect with the food quality but this restaurant prove not. It has almost similar concept with Levain but cheaper!
I ordered the Spicy Lala pasta and it's really good. Will come back here again for brunch. 
Sadly the pizza only available after brunch hours. (10am-1pm)
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Spicy Lala Pasta,Ripped tomatoes on the beach
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 19, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0