OpenRice Index
  
mileinna
This is mileinna .
Member 6 First(s)
No. of Review10 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity111 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos45 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant19 My Restaurant(s)
Follow3 Following
粉絲8 Follower(s)
mileinna  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 10 Reviews in Malaysia
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Stall / Warung | Seafood


This is one of my favourite place to get roasted meat as it has always maintained its fragrant roasted goods and also they serves a wholesome meal that comes with vegetables and the utmost importance; their time-consuming double-boiled soup. Any better that you have to boil it yourself.

 
The coffee shop store front

 
The extended store front which they maximise the usage of the coffee shop foyer. You can see they operate their kitchen out there.

Their famous dish is roast duck but we didn't order during this visit, I shall put an update on my next visit. Nevertheless, here is the roast chicken, roast pork and char siew (honey BBQ pork).

 
Honey BBQ pork @ RM6.00

 
Twin meat set; Roast chicken & roast pork @ RM12.00

The char siew is a bit too sweet to my liking, maybe maybe they lost touch on this. But the roast pork as you can see from the photo, it has a good crusty skin and succulent meat.

 
The menu is pasted all over their kitchen stall. Very clear and convenient.

 
STAR order! Coconut chicken double-boiled soup @ RM7.50

It may seems it's pretty price-y of this soup but the coconut is actually quite big and well enough serving for two.

 
Boiled Lettuce with Oyster sauce and fried Onion @ RM5.00

They serve simple boiled vegetable which is just nice to go with the meat and soup. Also they have a choice between oil rice (rice with fried onion) or white rice at a cost of RM1.00 each.

Verdict :

Taste - 4/5
Ambience - 2.5/5 (It's like a coffee shop/ hawker style and be prepared for the afternoon sun heat during lunch.)
Hygiene - 3/5 (Pretty ok as you can see the kitchen right when you walk in.)
Service - 4/5
Value for money - 4.5/5 (They serve fresh food [not processed] and especially the soup claimed to be MSG-free!)

Details :

Name : Kedai Makanan Wing Heong

Address : 3215, Jalan Besar, 43300 Seri Kembangan, Selangor.

GPS location : 3.018908,101.703598

Phone no. : +6016-272 2196

Operation hours : Tue - Closed, Wed - Mon 10.30am to 5.00pm

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Roast duck,double-boiled soup
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 22, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM6.50

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sri Steven's Corner @ OUG Cry Jun 23, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant | Nasi Lemak | Private Party


LGB's best friend is coming to KL for a holiday trip with his Hongkie fiance (No, they are not offence by the use of that term. I have checked with her!)

They asked us to bring them for food; something that can get a taste of Malaysia. Well, first thing that popped into my mind was BAK KUT TEH! But I don't know any good BKT at night and en route from KLIA to Berjaya Times Square Hotel (where they are staying). In the end, LGB took the decision to eat in a rather hygienic mamak aka the slightly fancy-looking Steven's Corner in OUG.

I google and found a couple of their signature dishes and we try all of them! Sad to say the most recent review of Steven's Corner is quite true ie. nothing to rave about.

 
Photo courtesy of Somewordsinmyheart

 
Maggi Goreng (Fried Maggi Mee) @ RM3.50

It's rather bland if you asked me, I prefer the not-so-hygienic 868 mamak stall in Seri Kembangan compared to this. Even LGB who isn't much of a foodie can point this out.

 
Goreng Burung Puyuh (Fried quail) @ RM4.50/piece

These delicacies are quite rare to find in KL and I must say mamak always give the best fried chicken and these not much different of a fried chicken and it's quite dried out.

 
Roti Tisu (Pratha bread made into thin cone shape) @ RM3.00

It's the usual Roti Tisu that you can get from any other mamak shop. Since I am on less-sugar diet, this was rather sweet to me and 5 of us can't even finish half of this. So sad that we actually leave food on the table!

 
Naan Cheese @ RM5.00

Of all the signature dishes, I must say this is the only one worth trying. It's exactly like all the review said, it's soft, warm and fragrant with melted cheese. It's like biting into a cloud of cotton cheese~! Heavenly~Menu photo courtesy of Word-flavour

All in all, I think it's quite a disappointment to bring a foreigner to get a taste of Malaysian but met with mediocre quality of a famous name mamak.

Verdict :

Taste - 1/5 (Out of 4 dishes only one is great. This says it all.)
Ambience - 2/5
Hygiene - 3/5 (Slightly better than mamak by the road.)
Service - 1/5 (Staff are quite impatient in doing their job and it can be tasted from their food too.)
Value for money - 4/5 (Pretty much the same with mamak stall.

Details :

Name : Restoran Sri Steven's Corner

Address : 18 & 18A, Jalan Hujan Rahmat Dua, OUG, Jalan Kelang Lama, 58200 Kuala Lumpur

GPS location : 3.072092,101.672933

Phone no. : +60 3-7781 9762

Operation hours : 24 hours

 
Date of Visit: Jun 07, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM10(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Teochew Chendul @ The Mines Smile Jun 23, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Noodles | Halal | Desserts


Food tripping with LGB 2nd sister aka my SIL continue when we were shopping in The Mines. I have been hearing good review about this local delights franchise but were holding myself back from sugary food.

So by now, you would know I'm on low sugar, caffeine-free and raw-free diet throughout my pregnancy. LGBB, see how much mommy sacrifices for you!

But I could not hold it out any longer especially when I can take one scoop to taste this cendol and give the rest to LGB and his sister. *wuahaha*

 
Storefront @ The Mines

Don't know why they spelled Chendul with H and U.

The cendol pictured here looks a bit transparent which may gives an idea that it could be plastic-like and too chewy but it's NOT! To me, it strikes the right balances between chewiness and breaking point of my favourite cendol. Definitely will come back for this dessert and try out their Assam Laksa (another one of my favourite local delights).

 
Very generous cendol-giving @ RM6.90

 
Such a cute and very locally represented photo of cendol stall!

Verdict :

Taste - 4/5 (A very good represents of gula Melaka and its famous Malaysian local delights.)
Ambience - 4/5 (A normal mall eateries same like I Love Yoo! stall.)
Service - 4/5
Hygiene - 4/5 (Compare to mamak shop or stall this is definitely better.)
Value for money - 3/5 (Can be shared by two persons, if you're not too greedy but not as cheap as the one that you can get from stall by the road.)

Details :

Name : Teochew Chendul

Address : L1-K1,K2,K6(P), Level 1, Jalan Dulang, Mines Resort City, 43300 Seri Kembangan, Selangor. (LG floor in front of Fish & Co.)

GPS location : 3.027919,101.718227,17

Phone no. : Nil

Operation hours : Daily 10am - 10pm

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 11, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM7(宵夜)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Antipodean @ Mid Valley Megamall OK Jun 22, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Steaks / Chops | Burgers / Sandwiches


I always wanted to visit this cafe/brunch place ever since I kept seeing my friend's post on Facebook. The decoration of this place gives you a feeling that you're in a forest and that's really my 'zen' place.

 
Dining area in a forest-like decor.

 
Storefront.

Both photos courtesy of Mid Valley

But when I got to the place, I realised that it's a brunch place that serves Australian's style breakfast which make me feel a tiny bit disappointed because I have had Australian breakfast back in last year when I spend 3 weeks in Melbourne. (I don't feel like having Malaysian-cooking-Australian breakfast~)

Nevertheless, LGB's sister is in town hence we feel like it's a nice place to introduce to her.

 
Photo courtesy of LindySim.com I couldn't get a good shot of the menu from where I was sitting. As me and my bump already seated I'm so tired to get up again :-p (As of time of writing, I'm already 40 weeks pregnant! LGBB is comfortably nested in my tummy and no indication of coming out yet.)

Unique menu that is only found on their wall. It's a good neck and eyes exercise as you lift your head up and train your eyes reading from the wall which is several feet away from you.. :-p go away double chin!

 
Sister-in-law ordered the Eggs Benedict @ RM26.80 (after service charge and GST)

(Too much eggs for her apparently but to be fair, she's a light-eater.)

This Eggs Benedict is served with 2 poached eggs (Runny eggs cooked in water; this is how the Australian like their breakfast eggs.) on 2 brown toast lay over with a thick Hollandaise sauce. I couldn't have taste this because I am avoiding raw/runny eggs during my pregnancy in risk of catching salmonella. But from physical look the poach eggs look totally satisfying with the egg yolks oozing out slowly to the bread.

 
LGB ordered the Big Breakfast @ RM23.30.

From right clockwise; sauteed fresh mushroom, scrambled eggs, brown toast, hashbrown and pork bacon. I like the brown toast (trying to be healthy and avoiding white food such as bread and rice), eggs and mushroom. The hash-brown assumed to be homemade (not your usual McD's crunchy ones) is lack-lustre and taste-less meanwhile bacon is your normal bacon.

This is the Australian version of American Big Breakfast that serves a generous portion of fresh mushroom. However, this plate look a bit lackadaisical to me compared to the version of homemade Australian Big Breakfast I had last year.

 
HOMEMADE Big Breakfast - From right clockwise; Sunny side-up egg and ham on toast, baked bean with a hint of sri-racha sauce, sauteed tomatoes and mushroom and stir-fried baby spinach.
Cost AUD7-9

 
Asparagus wrapped in bacon with scrambled eggs and toast @ RM23.30

This is my version of healthy brunch and I always have loved asparagus. They baked this asparagus to the verge of crunchy skin but not dry-out and wrapped with a nice bacon. I like this dish except for the fact that it's lack of salt nor pepper nor taste. Maybe that's how it's healthy!

 
Hot Honey Lemon @ RM9.35

We're not a big fan of coffee and I'm on caffeine-free diet hence we order the hot honey lemon instead. Pretty good considering the good amount of honey and lemon.

The verdict :

Taste - 2/5 (required more taste)
Service - 4.5/5 (very friendly and helpful staff and also there is a cute Australian guy!)
Ambience - 4/5
Hygiene - 4/5
Value for money - 2/5 (approx. RM30/person but this pregger is not even full!)

Please note that all pricing is after service charge (10%) and GST (6%).

Details :

Name : Antipodean Cafe
Address : G(E)-011A, The Boulevard, Mid Valley Megamall, 59200 Kuala Lumpur. (At EAST entrance facing The Gardens and share the same row with Delicious)
GPS location : 3.117592,101.67722,16
Phone no. : +603 22023411
Operation hours : Daily 7.30 am - Midnight

 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 05, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(早餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Bak Kut Teh


Yay, in honour of this inauguration food review, I will post about my most favourite Bak Kut Teh (BKT) from Klang aka 'Klang's Under the Bridge Bak Kut Teh'. It's not literally under the bridge but it's the corner shop by the flyover bridge hence the name.

My family and I have been patron of this shop for the past 20 years as we used to stay in Shah Alam. However since moving to Seri Kembangan, we have been frequent it less and less. Nevertheless, once in a while when we have visitor out-of-town requested for BKT recommendation, we will try our best to make that 45km travel.

LGB parents are in town and we thought to recommend them this; the real true Klang BKT!

 
Storefront photo. You can see the chef is picking and chopping part of pork that was being ordered.

 
From left top clockwise, *STAR ORDER* big bone (RM10), stewed eggs (RM4), stewed tofu (RM6) and they substitute soft bones as they ran out of pork ribs (RM10). *I ain't complaining cos it's as good!*

LGB parents are watching out for the cholesterol level hence I only order 2 plates of meat for 4 persons. Usually I will order 1 plate for each pax without the tofu and egg. The tofu was quite disappointing as it was not stewed long enough to absorb the essence of the soup.

The current chef is already their 3rd generation son and I noted the soup is not as thick as I remember it to be. I guess 古早味 always taste better.

This BKT is of darker colour and I never like the other type of BKT which is of lighter soup as they don't put in dark soy sauce. *somewhat bashful* After years of being proud of knowing the real true Klang BKT, Wikipedia educated me that there are two clans that cook BKT differently ie. Hokkien cooks with stronger meat flavour and dark soy sauce while Teochew cooks it lighter with peppery taste.

 
Fried onion cooked with the rice (RM1.50/plate) that gives it nice wafting fragrant and Chinese tea (RM3/tea bag) is a must companion to wash down the amount of fat in this pork-laden dish. You can bring your own tea leaves.

Oh! I forgot the you-tiao (yao char kwai) picture which is also a must companion to be dipped and eat along with the soup which cost RM2/plate.

All in all, I'm glad that LGB parents agree with my recommendation as we order 6 plates of rice for 4. :-D

Summary of review :

Taste - 4/5
Ambience - 2/5 (It has the grandfather's-time-coffee-shop feel but the paint is peeling off the wall lah)
Hygiene - 2/5 (Lucky their kitchen is at the storefront hence I can assure the food hygiene is met but I don't dare to go to their toilet if it's not too urgent.)
Value for money - 4.5/5 (Our total spending cost us less than RM11 per person. *Where to find?*)

Details of the restaurant :

Name : Restoran Seng Huat Bak Kut Teh

Address : Jalan Besar, Kawasan 1, 41000 Klang, Selangor.

GPS Location : 3.0434026,101.4482494

Phone no. : 012 3098 303 / 012 3855 154

Operation hours : 7.30am - 1.00pm & 5.30 - 8.30pm

 
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 14, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM11(早餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0