OpenRice Index
  
jacelyn91
Member 18 First(s)
No. of Review21 Review(s)
編輯推介數目5 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity24 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos172 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant21 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲18 Follower(s)
jacelyn91  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 21 Reviews in Malaysia
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Desserts

 
Bev C is a unique cafe along Jalan Tan Hiok Nee, where food meets fashion. Cool forward thinking designer clothing store with cafe upstairs. Design and ambience of this unique shop are its attractive points with no doubt.

Bev C was founded by Beverly and Cally. It was a place for the founders showcases their talents through fashion design and food. Its unique store designs stood out from the rows of traditional showhouses.

 
Upon entering the store, you will be greeted with rows of designer apparels. They are really chic and pretty. You can take your time to browse through the boutique to satisfy your fashion need.

 
After doing so, walk up the staircase to the food heaven. There, at level 2, is where the café was located. It gives a very industrial feel.

 

 
Mint chocolate plate was served on the woodenly board and wooden utensil. It seems to be somehow similar to window by the sills. It was a popular must order item when patron visit Bev C. The slice of pastel-mint coloured chocolate pie was really delicious. It was smooth and chocolately with mint flavour in every bite. The sweetness was just right- not too sweet. Chunks of chocolate can be found within the chocolate mousse to create a layering texture.

 
Mint Chocolate Pie (RM12.90)

 
The Espresso Ice Cubes comes in three types – Milk, Chocolate & Milk and Caramel with Milk. It was really interesting to see that the Espresso shots are frozen into ice cubes and served with milk at the side. You can pour in the milk based on your preference and wait for these pretty ice cubes to melt, forming an iced latte.

 
Espresso Ice Cubes with Caramel + Milk (RM14.90)

Trust me. These two items are the “must order” if you are visiting Bev C.

Follow Me At Instagram/ Facebook: @jacefootprints

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mint Chocolate Pie,Espresso Ice Cubes
 
Date of Visit: Jan 01, 2016 

Spending per head: Approximately RM28(下午茶)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles

 
Going green is in, and plant-based choices these days are aplenty. Now, eating green no longer is restricted to eating salad. Looking for a fine dining restaurant with mouth-watering
vegetarian food?

Those want to have gourmet foods in a relaxed ambience can find pleasure in exploring Vegetalk Gourmet which make both the vegetarians and non-vegetarians ask for more. Vegetalk Gourmet was situated in Taman Molek where many hips café was situated, thus being easily accessible.

 
When you entered the restaurants, it feels very spacious and brightly lit. The staffs are fast to guide you to the seats and present you their menu.

Upon looking at the menu, there is a wide variety of food. They all look appetizing and delicious. Unlike those vegetarian mixed rice we usually see.

Enclosed herewith the menu for your reference to see how vegetarian food can be that deliciously-looking.

These are what we ordered: Tomato Corn Chowder (RM 9.80), Fruit Salad (RM 13.80), Spiral Pasta Salad (RM 10.80), Hawaiian Pizza (RM 21.80), Cod Fish with Tomato Chilli Spaghetti (RM 23.90), Pineapple Orange Juice (RM 7.80) & Guava Apple Juice (RM 6.90). My favourite was the cod fish with spaghetti.

 

 
Tomato Corn Chowder (RM 9.80)

I must say that the tomato corn chowder did well as appetizer as the sweet and sour chowder did help to draw out our hungry taste bud.

 
Cod Fish with Tomato Chilli Spaghetti (RM 23.90):The cod fish was made of the soya beans. It was soft, light and chewy. It even has light soya fragrance. The chilli tomato spaghetti was chewy yet soft. Despite its name, it does not have any spiciness at all.

 
Hawaiian Pizza (RM 21.80):The crust was thin and crispy. It was topped with generous amount of cheese. However, I find the serving of pineapple and meat small. Furthermore, it would be nicer that mock ham was used instead of “crispy chicken cube” was the crispy
cube does not stick well to the pizza and tend to be overly fried.

 
Spiral Pasta Salad (RM 10.80):The pasta was chewy. It was topped with lettuces, olives and mayonnaise sauce. I personally don’t fancy it as I’m not a fan of mayonnaise.

 
Fruit Salad (RM 13.80), Pineapple Orange Juice (RM 7.80) & Guava Apple Juice (RM 6.90)

These fruit series was very refreshing as the fruits used were very fresh and sweet.

Direction To The Restaurant~Follow me at instagram/ Facebook : @jacefootprints
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cod Fish with Tomato Chilli Spaghetti,Hawaiian Pizza,Spiral Pasta Salad,Fruit Salad
 
Date of Visit: Feb 28, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Incredible Beautiful Ice Cream OK May 19, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Café | Ice Cream / Froyo / Gelato

 
In look for pretty ice-cream? Visit this ice-cream palor for a beautiful tasting experience.

Lis gelato which stands of "LOVE IS SIMPLE" serves incredible beautiful ice cream " Love is simple" which cost about RM 12 for one scoop with crispy cotton candy or RM20 for two scoop. I'm am sure many girl falls for this ice cream upon looking at the photos. The crispy cotton candy was basically rose meringue.

But to be honest, it only look nice, the ice cream was really disappointing as it was way too milky and "wet" where it melts too quickly.

 
Love is simple (RM 12.90)

 
Single Scoop Taro Ice-cream (RM 9)

I believe it is worth only once to take the photo, but i would not visit again.

Follow me at instagram / Facebook : @jacefootprints

 
Recommended Dish(es):  LOVE IS SIMPLE
 
Date of Visit: Nov 29, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM12(下午茶)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

JAPANESE THEME COFFEE AND DESSERT Smile May 19, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Sweets/Snack

 
Miyakori Coffee, a Japanese theme coffee and desserts café located at Bukit Indah with cute theme interior design and menu, was established since 2013. They aim to provide diners with “A Taste Of Happiness!”

Bf and I chanced upon this café on our way to the bukit indah mall. The cute cartoon exterior drew my attraction making me bug bf to bring me here.

 
The
simple, white background with the use of wood furniture makes this place very cosy yet chic place to have your time spent here. The cute japanese cartoons (rabbit and grumpy bear), which I have not sure if there is a name for it, really helps to bring the inner child in me. I believe that this place will definitely be a popular hangout place especially for girls, since many of us like pretty and cute stuff.

 

 
Cute rabbit decoration

 
Grumpy bear decoration

 
The popular spot to take cute selfie

 
Grumpy bear doesn’t seems grumpy here

 
My favourite cheerful rabbit

The café do not just decorate the place with the cartoon, they also infused the food with them too. It makes it just irresistible to not order and to eat after ordering.Menu

 
Dessert SelectionCoffee SelectionSpecial Weekday
Set Meal

Oreo Cheesecake (RM12.90): The cake tends to be harder than normal. But I love how the fact that cheesecake was not overly sweet. Oreo and cheesecakes were placed in layers so that one can have a taste of both worlds in every bite.

 
Cafe mocha (RM9.50): I love how the mocha is being brew as the taste of coffee and chocolate does not overpower each other.

Even when I’m super bloated with cakes, I pester bf for another order of brownie to take photo and eat because I see how pretty the dish was from the neighbouring table.

 
Miyakori's brownies (RM10.90) : Rich chocolate brownie coupled with the vanilla Ice-cream makes it a perfect match especially under a crazily hot weather. You will be surprised to find a waffle being hidden under the ice cream which I find it complementing the desserts as it gives a “crunchy” texture to this smooth and soft dessert.

Before leaving the place, I went to the washroom only to find the washroom decoration very
interesting. I quickly went back to my seats to take my phone for a snap of these. How To Go??Next time, if you are looking for a cute place for a hangout with friends, why not give Miyakori Coffee a chance and drop by these for “ A Taste Of Happiness”.

** Updated**

They have opened their 2nd Outlet At City Square Level 5 on December 26, 2015. This outlet makes it a convenient for Singaporean to enjoy their cute cartoon design cakes and beverage as compared to their first outlet at bukit indah. While waiting for my friend to finish her hair treatment, I decided to chill at this outlet.

The place was brightly lit due to the influx of natural daylight. I have a great chilling time at their cosy and quiet place. However, I find it a little disappointing to see that the city square outlet's decoration has minimal cartoon design as compared to their bukit indah outlet. having said that, Is till enjoy myself there as I love seeing how the food is also decorated with cute rabbit and bear design.

Being tempted by the poster, I order a sakura latte to have a taste of it.

 

 

 
The only cartoonish decorationBeing tempted by the poster, I order a sakura latte to have a taste of it.

 
Sakura Latte (RM13.50): It was my first time trying sakura latte. I was surprise by the taste that it was sweet with some floral after taste. However, the natural taste of coffee
was completely eliminated in this drink.

Follow me at instagram / facebook : @jacefootprints

Location
Miyakori Coffee
Johor Bahru City Square Shopping Mall
(Level 5, J5-19)
106 - 108 Jalan Wong Ah Fook, 80000 Johor
Bahru
Operating Hours: Daily: 1200 -2200
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cafe mocha,Oreo Cheesecake
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 06, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM15(下午茶)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Café | Pizza/Pasta | Burgers / Sandwiches

 
M2escape = Escape Room + Mickey Cafe

Bored at night? Finding a hangout place with your buddies? M2escape is the place to be. It is the cafe for you to chill and play with board games. If the board games are not challenging enough, why not be slightly more ambitious, join in their escape room. Escape room are basically adventure games where participants are locked in a room. You have to solve a series of games, puzzle and finding of clues to aid you to escape from the room in a given time limit.

We are not adventurous enough so we are satisfied with just having our high tea in this mickey themed cafe after visiting the 22 Korea Fried Chicken Factory (read more). It is located at the newshop areas at Mount Austin. You need to be on a lookout for it as it is located at the 2nd storey. Alternatively, you can plot your way to "DISTRICT 7" as it is situated opposite from the cafe. You will realise that it is beside 7 eleven store.

 
Exterior of the Cafe

 
The signboard of M2escape
Credit: M2escape

 
After parking our car, we have to walk up the stairs to the 2nd storey. Their entrance was locked, so you will need to wait a minute for the staff to click their auto gate for entrance. The cafe can definitely satisfy mickey lovers as the wall are decorated with mickey wall art. Even the menu, cakes and drink cups are also in line with the theme.

 
It was too crowded for us to take a photo of the surrounding. But i managed to find this photo online.

Credit: M2escape

 
The soft toy at the sofa

We look through the cute menu and finally decide on the Opera Cake (RM15.90), Tiramisu (RM12.90), strawberry yogurt (RM6.90) and matcha latte (RM9.90). We did not order those milk drink which enable us to use the special mickey cup, neither did we order tea set which comes with disney teapot. But I went over to other customers that order and request to take a photo of their cute teacup/ teapot.Cute menu which is in-line with their Disney theme

The entire place was very children-friendly where boxes of board games where provided. There are also wall-arts painted. Which waiting for your food, why not take some selfies.

 
Food We Order

 
The Cute Milk Cup If you order the Milk series

 
The cute teapot if you order tea

 
The cute teapot if you order tea

I am attracted by the decoration of the place. However, food has always been my priority. Thus, I was hoping that the food would take extraordinary. But I was kind of disappointed by it.

 
The Coffee Tiramisu (RM 15.90) comes with a scoop fo vanilla ice-cream and a slice of tiramisu cake. This café has another flavor to choose – Matcha tiramisu. But somehow, I feel that tiramisu tasted the best in its original flavor, thus I order the coffee Tiramisu. The vanilla ice-cream was yummy, but it melts in my mouth too quickly and disappears. It is slightly milkier and you can still taste bits of vanilla beans in the ice-cream. As for the cake
itself, it was served cold. In fact, I believe it was frozen before being served. The spongy cake was moist with creamy mascarpone and espresso – liquer. It was really tasty.

 
The opera cake (RM 12.90) comes with a layer of chocolate fudge on the top layer. The cakes are then layered with cream in between. It was slightly sweet to my liking. Nothing fancy about this chocolate cake, as the cake layer was tad dry and hard.

The opera cake lack the “chocolate taste”, apart from the top layer of thin chocolate fudge, it taste more of a usual buttercream cake. It could have been better if it was served cold enough. RM12.90 for this cake was slightly pricey to me because the satisfaction I get from this cake is somewhat similar to the RM3 buttercream cake that I can get from normal bakery store. With the same price, I can even get 4 slices. But I believe that the effort to decorate the cake, helps to increase customer experience in this cafe. OF course, for people who prefer drier cake, this maybe suitable for you.

Despite the food standard falling below my expectation, I do believe that this place is worth-going due to it s pretty interior , the pretty Disney theme food as well as the ability to play board games & escape room games.

Follow me at instagram/Facebook : @jacefootprints
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 29, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately RM23(下午茶)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0