OpenRice Index
  
spherepiece
Member 3 First(s)
No. of Review6 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity45 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos18 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant6 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1017 Following
粉絲1294 Follower(s)
spherepiece  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 6 Reviews in Malaysia
Delicious thai milk tea Smile Jan 13, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Sweets/Snack | Special Occasion Dining

 

 
What is it with this container cafe that stopped me in my tracks? I guess it’s how the kind folks can actually deal with that unbearable tropical heat and still serve some very good iced milk tea in the midst. Do you know that Chaiwalla & Co. is the first container cafe in Malaysia?

When you’re on Jalan Tan Hiok Nee of Johor Bahru, also known as the hipster lane of the city, it’s unlikely that you’ll miss Chaiwalla & Co., sitting right smack in the middle. It is the best that I’ve found in the vicinity. Oh the glee when everyone was staring enviously at my mega cup of milk tea. Now you know where to find it. A cup in my hand, there’s nothing I can’t conquer.
 
Takeaway Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 19, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

My first JB cafehop! OK Nov 18, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Steaks / Chops

For more food reviews: www.amiehu.comIf wanderlust is striking you hard and you can't get away too far due to financial or time constraints, this is what this travel series, My Next Door Neighbour, is all about. Just a day trip out of the country, even across the causeway, can be rejuvenating for your overworked souls. Don't be bogged down by inertia, start planning now. Where to go, what to do?! Here: Faculty of Caffeine is one of the hot favourite cafehopping comfort ground in a land away from home.

 

 

 

 
Some pictures of the interior at Faculty of Caffeine, which consists of three portions: the main cafe area in front of the counter, a connecting room which can play up into a private space if you're coming in groups of 8-10, and a balcony which overlooks the busy Jalan Wong Ah Fook and City Square. The balcony usually services smokers, but non-smokers can enjoy clean air in the other spaces. They have washrooms made available to guests as well.

 
I decided to be adventurous and try the Salted Caramel Affogato (RM11.50) which was admittedly a weird combination. The half-melted vanilla ice-cream was sprinkled with a good dose of butter cookies, sea salt and topped with a pretzel... all sitting in a pool of espresso. It feels a little like something you eat for a game forfeit. This is one of their seasonal items and possibly still in the trial period of how customers take to it, so don't take this as a benchmark of their standard. Their signature item is the Generous Breakfast (RM17.50) so you can try that if you are feeling hungry!

 
The hot mocha was pretty good as well, a strong-bodied Arabica blend that was generous with its chocolate sauce.
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 10, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Burgers / Sandwiches | Desserts

For more food reviews: www.amiehu.com

 
Ah, where do I even begin? I chanced upon The Replacement while getting lost (which happens pretty often unfortunately) and obviously, felt completely in my zone with the minimalist exterior.. I feel like I am stepping into a Kinfolk magazine. Literally. In an alternate universe, I might be. Of course, when I entered, I didn't know I was heading right into my new favourite cafe because I was starving and slightly angry for being lost.'For the wanderlust to rest between wanders', it reads. Right down my alley, this is the face of the cafe I would probably continuously head back.

 
I had my usual - the mocha (RM11), as a lunchtime perk-me-up, which was unexpectedly very, very good. This part of town continuously surprises me. They use a blend of El Salvador, Brazilian, and Columbian coffee beans to create this baby, and guess what? When I returned a week and a half later, the baristas actually recognized me, note on my preference (I told them I didn't like it too sweet - the default is the mainstream version which is more palatable to all) and even remembered what I ordered the last time. And I get what I loved the first time, but even better. /Instant swoonThis is their menu which I mulled over - oh my goodness, I want EVERYTHING. But I guess there's plenty of return trips for me to try them out slowly one by one. I think they changed their menu recently again, but there is not a huge difference except for newer sauces for the churros.

 
Churros original (RM12.90) included a dip of your choice - we went for dark chocolate ganache which was the classic one. There were other local spinoffs, such as gula melaka, but well, next time (seriously, this place makes me want to camp here and wait for my stomach to reset itself). Their churros, which are highly recommended by a few and themselves, were indeed hot and freshly fried, crispy and crunchy all at once, and the interior is incredibly soft too. The dark chocolate was premium and satisfyingly bitter in a good way.

 
Berries Compote French Toast (RM17.90) doesn't look like what it's supposed to be, but what the hell, it was delicious anyway with all the ingredients in there made for success. Buttery, warm and fluffy on the inside of the 'bread', its texture really feels more like cake. Accompanied with cinnamon powder, sweet and sour notes from the berries compote, maple syrup and vanilla bean ice-cream, it was a wonderful pick indeed.

 
This cafe strikes a chord with me somewhere, especially because it is always not jam-packed like most Singapore cafes, its service is much more personal (it feels so good to have the barista remember my choice by memory), extremely photogenic, and their food is pretty awesome as well. On this street, The Replacement is the place to go.
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 13, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

"Best Moroccan Restaurant" Smile Jul 06, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Restaurant

La Casa Blanca has undoubtedly the best-known Moroccan food in Johor. With classic Moroccan prints lining the walls and the fragrant wafts of tagine in the air, this restaurant has an endearing, homely atmosphere that make guests feel welcomed. Of course, when at Casa Blanca, you have to try their famous tagines stews. It comes in fish, seafood, lebanese green bean stew, beef, lamb, egg or cheese versions served in the earthern pots. We tried the beef tagine which was well-executed, infused in flavourful spices, cumin, prunes, dates, almonds, tomatoes, onions, and more other ingredients to make the delicious stew. It took some time before they managed to serve it, but it certainly didn't disappoint. Pair it with the moroccan tea.
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 21, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

"Best atmosphere" Smile Jul 06, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Bar & Pub | Pizza/Pasta | Steaks / Chops | Sweets/Snack

This fancy seaside wine bar and restaurant is located on a hill, with a romantic alfresco garden setting. It looks like the perfect setting for a dreamy garden wedding. At night, lights blink from the edges with a warm soothing glow. Despite how it is quite secluded, this restaurant fills up quite fast with other diners. I had the Fungus Mixed Mushrooms which I found to be quite tasty with foam and salad on the side. It was a bit one-dimensional after a while and felt more like a side dish. The Gourmet 'Hen' (RM58) comes served with a lovely smoking presentation, roasted chicken, gnocchi, baby vegetables and jus natural. The service here is impeccable, leaving a deep impression as they went out of their way to help us flag a cab after our meal. It was really difficult to flag a cab outside because Eight at Lido Hill is located along a highway.

For more reviews: www.amiehu.com
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 17, 2016 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0