OpenRice Index
  
yeoheening
This is yeoheening living in Subang Jaya. I am a Student, work in Subang Jaya. I like to hang out in Bandar Utama, Kota Damansara, Subang Jaya. Thai, Korean, Japanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant and Ramen/Udon/Soba, Halal.
Member 7 First(s)
No. of Review61 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity435 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos131 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲211 Follower(s)
yeoheening  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 46 to 50 of 61 Reviews in Malaysia
LUNCHATDINTAIFUNG. Smile Jul 31, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles | Dim sum

Just recently, I had a chance to try Din Tai Fung's set lunch which recently just started not too long ago. Their set lunch was a 2 course meal with drinks and dessert with additional charges. Din Tai Fung is an award wining restaurant that is originated from Taiwan. Like restaurants like Dragon-I, Din Tai Fung is famous for it's small steam buns (Xiao Long Bao). Malaysia is just one of the many countries that have the opportunity to have a taste of Din Tai Fung's gastronomy. Some other countries as lucky as Malaysia are The United States, Hong Kong and Thailand.

 

 
So for the first course meal, you are given four choices. You are given the choice to choose between, Hot & Sour Soup La Mian, Shrimp Pork Wantan La Mian, Cha Jiang La Mian and Pork Chop Fried Rice. We had noodles for our breakfast, so we settled on their Pork Chop Fried Rice. Their pork chop was fried to perfection. Their fried rice looked pretty simple with ingredients like egg, garlic and spring onions, but do not under estimate it. The fried rice was simple but good! It wasn't too oily or too dry. The type of rice they used was very much similar to Japanese rice. The fried pork chop went really well with the fried rice.

 
The set also comes with a basket their famous xia long bao which comes in six pieces. So what is xiao long bao exactly? Xiao long bao is actually steam buns that the filling consist of meat (usually pork) and other ingredients. What's so special about xiao long bao is that, besides the meat filling, inside the xiao long bao contains a small amount of some kind of broth/soup.

 
I ordered ourselves some dessert which was an additional RM4++. With every set lunch, you are allowed to order any choice of desserts which was featured in their menu for only RM4++! I ordered ourselves a bowl of Red Bean with Black Sesame Glutinous Ball. Their red bean soup was really special and nothing like can be found in other dessert shop or restaurants. Their red bean soup was really smooth and could not taste any bits or pieces of red bean. We think that the blend the red bean to make their red bean soup. So it tasted awesomely good! Not to forget their black sesame glutinous rice balls! There are two balls for each bowl. Their black sesame tasted so fresh and the layer of glutinous was so chewy. It is a really good dessert! Very highly recommended!
 
Date of Visit: Jul 10, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

AUSTINCHASE. OK Jul 31, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Café | Pizza/Pasta | Burgers / Sandwiches | Juices / Bubble Tea / Tea / Yogurt

Austin Chase just recently started their retail store brand not too long ago, starting here in Malaysia and our neighboring country, Singapore. Their menu offers a wide variety of beverages, ranging from espresso, cappuccino, frappuchinos, teas and blended drinks. For their food, they serve cakes, pies, sandwiches, pastas and others. Besides their food and beverages, their store provides comfortable and cozy environment, complimentary Wifi, magazines, storybooks and board games for their customers. So their customers are able to entertain and enjoy themselves while dining in.

 

 
So, this was what I ordered, a Turkey Ham Sandwich with white bread. This costed us about RM15+ (including tax). Inside the sandwich contained some lettuces, a pieces of melted cheese, and turkey ham. The sandwich comes with some french fries at the side. The sandwich tasted like other normal sandwiches. Nothing special. But the melted cheese that was used was a little too salty. Their french fries in the other hand was crispy and good.

I had only tried their sandwich, so I can't comment much about their food quality. But the sandwich overall, was just average. But the environment and other service provided like the free books and magazines was something really special. They also have a breakfast menu that looks nice. Their prices are on the high side. That's about it.
 
Date of Visit: Jun 21, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

PORRIDGETIME! Smile Jul 31, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Porridge

 
Shredded Chicken and Century Egg porridge [RM6.50]. The century egg pieces given was very disappointing. We think they only gave us half on a century egg for such a generous amount of porridge. This porridge was really smooth and good. The pork innards porridge had more taste. I had also have tried before their frog porridge, which was also not too bad smile

 
Pork Innards Porridge [RM 7.50]. This porridge contains of pork a mixture of pig innards. That brown thing on top of the porridge are actually fried pork intestines which was really crunchy and crispy and went really well with the porridge. The additional slices of ginger and spring onions just made the aroma of the porridge better.
 
Date of Visit: Jun 11, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

TEATIMEATSECRETRECIPE. OK Jul 31, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Western variety | Café | Burgers / Sandwiches | Bakery / Cake / Kuih

Their tea time special is a promotion where by you're allowed to choose any cake you want and then you'll get a cup of coffee or tea for FREE! So it's like RM7+ per person. Which in our opinion is so worth it! Because for usual price a cup of coffee or tea costs about RM5+ per cup. And one slice of cake cost about RM7+. So this promotion is really really good! But, it's only available for dine in only from 3-6PM.

 
This is their Twinings's Jasmine Green Tea. Nope, it's not refillable. You only get one cup.

 
This is their Black Forest Cake. Black Forest is a layered sponge cake with whipped cream and blueberries. This one was just so so only. Nothing very amazing about it. But the sponge cake was really fluffy and light.

 
This is their White Dark Chocolate Cheese Cake. In this one slice of cake, there are three layers. The lowest layer, is the darkest colour, which we presume is dark chocolate or some kind of flavored digestive biscuit being very crunchy and harder compared to the other two layers. The second layer which is a lighter brown colour is their dark chocolate cake and the top-est yellow-ish layer is the cheese. The three combo together when it goes in our mouth, it's like really heaven. The cheese layer was slightly strong and we like it that way. It was a good cheese cake!
 
Date of Visit: Jul 15, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

XIAOBARWANG. Smile Jul 31, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Taiwanese | Café | Stall / Warung | Noodles | Juices / Bubble Tea / Tea / Yogurt

Taiwan is at the top of the list of the few countries that we MUST go some day in our lives. The main reason is that that country is famous for it's food. Now, with all the technology and how the world is improving, we don't only get to eat Taiwanese food in Taiwan itself. We already can have their food in our country. Honestly, the Taiwanese food is starting to conquer the food industry in Malaysia. Like the bubble tea, taiwanese desserts like Snowflake and not to forget their snacks like the XXL chicken and the mee sua that can be found in various stalls like Shihlin, Farmosa and Xiao Bar Wang, the stall that we are going to talk about today.

 

 
I ordered their Jumbo Set [RM15.90]. Their Jumbo Set consist of a bowl of Mee Sua with meat balls, one Tea Egg, Crispy Chicken and a drink of you choice, which you can choose from Flower Tea, Black Sugar Lime and Milk Tea. Let's start with their Mee Sua. Comparing to other Taiwanese stalls, the smell of the Mee Sua isn't as strong because they didn't use Oyster. They replaced it with meat balls. But we really like it. The consistency was good and the noodles were soft and the soup had the right amount of seasoning. With additional cilantro and a little chili paste, the mee sua tasted even better with a better aroma. Not to forget the amount of mee sua was so much, it can be shared for two people. For the Tea Egg, it was just average, nothing special. But I really like the drink we ordered! We had their Black Sugar Lime. It wasn't too sour. Had the right amount of sweetness. A suitable drink for a hot day.

 
This is their Crispy Chicken. Something really good about it is that, they do not fry the first. It's when you order, then they fry it on the spot for you. So when it's served, it's hot and crispy. It's really good, because the layer of the flour is really crunchy and crispy. It had the right ratio of flour and chicken. You know sometimes they have too much flour and too little chicken. This is really good. One more good thing is that it comes in small pieces. So you don't have to tear the chicken with our mouth and get our mouth dirty and oily.

 
I also ordered their Bento Pork Rice [RM10.90]. It comes with steam rice top over with fried pork, steam vegetables, half of the tea egg, salty vegetables and a piece of potato steamed with a certain sauce. The pork pieces went really well with the steamed rice, and the vegetable was not bitter at all, meaning it's fresh. The salty vegetable was a tit a little too salty. The potato tasted good, but it was a little cold already.
 
Date of Visit: Jul 14, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0