OpenRice Index
  
CleverMunkey
This is CleverMunkey living in Kota Damansara. I am a Photographer Blogger, work in Kota Damansara. I like to hang out in Damansara Utama, Kota Damansara, Sri Hartamas. Thai, Chinese, German, Western are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hotel Dining, Restaurant, Kopitiam and BBQ, Dim sum, Bak Kut Teh, Fine Dinning.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review40 Review(s)
編輯推介數目6 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity385 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos218 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant34 My Restaurant(s)
Follow13 Following
粉絲297 Follower(s)
CleverMunkey  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 40 Reviews in Malaysia
Yamagoya Ramen @ Publika Smile Nov 08, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen/Udon/Soba

Yamagoya Ramen provides a satisfying range of ramen with different flavor and offer good side dishes along with the ramen.

 
Miso Ramen, RM24.00
Miso Ramen is the typical Yamagoya Ramen, but miso is added into the broth. Hence, the taste is heavier and more salty. I didn't really like this particular dish though as it was too salty for my liking.

 
Char Siu Ramen, RM24.00
Char Siu Ramen is for meat lovers. There are no veges in the bowl except slices of char siu, and ramen. Specially for carnivores only!

 
Pork Char Siu RM11.00
A plate of Pork Char Siu that consist of 10 slices of juicy pork meat. It is also served in some of the ramen but just in a few slices. This pork char siu was quite good as the slices were actually quite thick and filling.

 
Yamagoya's Mukashi Special Ramen RM24.00
Yamagoya’s Mukashi Special Ramen is their signature dish. Most patrons who come here will order this as it consists of the works. Everything, all in! It has freshly made Ramen served with Pork Char Siu (sliced roasted pork), Yamagoya Soy Sauced Egg, bamboo shoot, black fungus, beansprouts, nori (seaweed sheet), garnished with fried garlic and spring onions.What more can you ask for?!?

 
Spicy Tobanjan Ramen RM22.00
This Spicy Tobanjan Ramen looks like Yamagoya Ramen served with a “ball” of tobanjan (hot bean sauce). With tobanjan mixed with the ramen, the whole bowl of ramen was spiced up and tasted so much nicer! (if you love spicy food)

 
Black Garlic Ramen, RM22.00
My absolute favourite of the night, so I must feature this first. The soup has strong garlic fragrant and taste. Considering garlic is one of my first loves (as my sisters can attest to), I immediately ordered this when I saw it on the menu. I wasn't let down because the taste wasn't too salty, and the fragrant taste of the garlic was great! This I recommend to all of my readers out there
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Black Garlic Ramen
 
Date of Visit: Jun 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM30(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Wok Dish Way @ Kota Damansara OK Nov 08, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Café | Noodles

Have you ever tried the Hakka Lei Cha before? Lei Cha (擂茶) is a traditional savory drink for the Hakka people. It is literally a type of "pounded tea" whereby the Hakka tea-based beverage or gruel consisting of a mix of tea leaves and herbs that are ground or pounded together with various roasted nuts, seeds, etc.

One of the place where this Hakka Lei Cha dish can be found is in Wok Dish Way located somewhere nearby Sunway Giza Mall in Kota Damansara, Petaling Jaya.

 
LeiCha Fried Rice RM9.40
The LeiCha Fried Rice is one of their signature dish to be found in the cafe. This fried rice is not often to be seen elsewhere or even in those typical restaurant that offer Hakka Lei Cha. Being a very unique this, the fried rice is cooked with the lei cha paste along with all the other basic Hakka Lei Cha ingredients such as the different type of vegetables, peanuts, fried bean curd and not to forget the Hakka Lei Cha itself that make the fried rice less dry.

 
The green watery texture of lei cha is filled into the traditional grindstone which is used for grinding the ingredients of Lei Cha.

 
Sweet & Sour Deep Fried Talapia RM15 - RM35
Common sense that I had is that fishes that are deep fried normally have been frozen for a period of time hence they are no longer fresh. Despite the freshness of the fish, the sweet and sour sauce taste moderately and acceptable.

 
Crispy Seaweed RM7.90
This was one of my favorite. I think combining the crispy seaweed with the chicken floss was really a good idea. Although the preparation of this dish seems to be simple but the presentation looks quite nice.

 
LeiCha (White Rice) RM7.90
The LeiCha (White Rice) ready to be eaten by me! lol

Some might like the taste of Hakka Lei Cha and they enjoy eating it because it's healthy but some people just can't accept the taste at all.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  LeiCha Fried Rice
 
Date of Visit: Apr 07, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM20(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western variety | Restaurant | Burgers / Sandwiches

I have always been a pork burger enthusiast and not too long ago, there's a newly opened Wallop Pork Burger Restaurant at Chow Yang area in SS2 Petaling Jaya.

 
Wallop Burger is located at Chow Yang in SS2, the same row with the newly renovated Ho Ho Sek Food Court and the same place where the Thursday pasar malam takes place.

 
It takes more than 10 minutes for them to bring our order to our table. Service is a bit slow but at least they send it directly to our table.

 
Our 'healthy' Wallop Pork Burgers.

 
This is the Mamma Wallop (RM6.50), the single patty grilled to mouth watering perfection. It is served with lettuce, tomato, cheese and mayonnaise.

 
My order - the Papa Wallop (RM9.00). It's the same with the Mama Wallop but it has an additional of a grilled pork patty.

My Verdict: Service was a bit slow since they have very few staff working. It's good to see them promoting healthy pork burger but it tasted something like Ninja Joe. Their interior is simple but I dislike the sharp edges of the table. Their warm light bulbs were too glaring and makes the place a little too warm even at night. Next door is blasting some 'lala' song and they also blast some mainstream songs at the same time makes Wallop Pork Burger restaurant as not a suitable place for chit chat or business discussion. It would be better if they can make the price lower as I can find better and cheaper food around Chow Yang. That's my humble point of view.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Papa Wallop
 
Date of Visit: Jan 21, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM10(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles

I discovered a friend of mine posted on Facebook about a Sang Nyuk Noodle shop in KL. I have always been craving for Sang Nyuk Mee ever since I moved to KL. Some of you who are not from Sabah might not be familiar with this noodle. It is almost as same as Mixed Pork Noodle, but in Sabah style. The meat slices are fresh, smoother and more tender. Sang Nyuk Mee literally means Raw Pork Noodle.

 
Village Sang Nyuk Noodle is a shop opened by a chap from Tuaran, Sabah. He claims that they have a shop in Inanam and this KL branch was opened just a few months back.

 
Dry Sang Nyuk Noodle - Mee & Meehoon (RM6.50/Big)
Back in KK, I will always order mixture of mee and meehoon and here is not an exception as well. The noodles are mixed with their special dark sauce and garnished with scallion.

 
Dry Sang Nyuk Noodle - Mee & Ho Fun (RM6.00/Small)
From what I saw, the big and small portion of Sang Nyuk Mee doesn't really make a lot of difference. In KK, when you asked for big portion - well, let's just say it's really big and most women I know will not order that. The noodles here are totally different from the one I had in KK. Even the shop owner knows about this and it's just like those we normally had in any common noodle shop.

 
Here comes the best part of Sang Nyuk Noodle, the pork soup. Pork slices, meatballs, livers and internal organs are given in the soup. If you are not used to internal organ, you can opt for meat-only soup. The meat is seasoned with tapioca powder and meat tenderizer to make it smooth and soft. There's also pieces of deep fried pork lard floating on the surface of the soup that gives a delightful fragrance of the soup. My comment about this is that the soup taste was not rich enough and the slices of pork meat were too thin.

 
Fried Fish Cake (RM6.00)
One of the most regrettable order, the Fried Fish Cake. The fish cake is soft but I don't really get the feeling of fish taste in it and the colour too pale to be look appetizing to me.

If you ask me will be going back to this shop again for their Sang Nyuk Mee? I'll say no unless I stay nearby or pass by that shop. For now, I'll just satisfy my craving as much as possible in my next trip back to KK smile

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Dry Sang Nyuk Noodle - Mee & Meehoon
 
Date of Visit: Aug 22, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM10(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tanzini Upper Deck, G Tower Smile Nov 08, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant | Fine Dining

Tanzini Upperdeck is located on the 29th floor of GTower. We took the lift all the way up to Level 28, enter in to Tanzini's main entrance, head right, then take a left and go up the staircase to Tanzini Upper Deck.

 
Amuse-bouches: Foie Gras Mousse & Flavoured Pearls
We had our very first dish, it's actually a Amuse Bouches. Have you heard of that term before? The Amuse-bouches are different from appetizers in that they are not ordered from a menu by patrons, but, when served, are done so for free and according to the chef's selection alone. So if you have a different dish than this, don't try to make a fool of yourself trying to get the waiter or chef for an explanation why they didn't get the same dish in this review.

 
Wild Caught Japanese Madai & Yellowfin Tuna
For appetizer, we had Wild Caught Japanese Madai & Yellowfin Tuna.
Crudo of Wild Caught Japanese Madai & Yellowfin Tuna, Simmered Ratte Potato & Lotus Root. The madai has a lighter taste while the tuna has a more flavourful taste which complement each other. Lightly dressed in a soy dressing paired with lotus root and ratte potato that is simmered in a konbu broth. It's not easy to get a good Japanese Madai dish in Malaysia since it's a seasonal fish type and also quite pricy but I wouldn't mind to have more of this.

 
Smoked & Brined Muscovy Duck
Now we proceed to the starter, we had the Lightly Seared Cold Smoked & Brined Muscovy Duck.
“Pudding” of Chanterelle, Swiss Button, Morel & King Trumpet, Baby Sardine Tuile
The pride of Tanzini Upper Deck, the Muscovy Duck is house brined and smoked. Slightly seared before serving. Pairing alongside with their very own Wild Mushroom “Pudding” which uses the gelatinous properties of the robust mushrooms. A thin slice of pressed baby sardine tuile for contrasting of texture and toasty flavour. The chef actually discovered the Wild Mushroom Pudding by accident when cooking the wild mushroom soup. The Muscovy Duck was tasty and had a nice texture but I still prefer mushroom soup over the pudding.

 
Pike Perch
We have two choices of main course. The first one that we had was Pike Perch.
Roll of Pike Perch in Baby Zucchini Carrot-Miso Marmalade, Crispy Skins. This dish was inspired by the maki rolls in Japanese restaurant. Rolled Pike Perch in Zucchinni on a bed of Carrot Marmalade infused with Miso. The Pike Perch which is more common in the western part of the world has a very unique taste compared to our Asian fish. The texture is harder but goes well with the carrot marmalade and miso. The skin of the fish has a very light taste and it's crispy.

 
Tajima Wagyu Tenderloin
The next choice was the Tajima Wagyu Tenderloin. It is a lightly Seared Tajima Wagyu Tenderloin that come with Apple-Potato Terrine, Wasabi Custard, Spinach and Morels. Using only the primest cuts, The Tajima Wagyu Tenderloin is a full blood wagyu. Plated alongside an intricate modern take on Pomme Anna. Done sous vide with layers of Granny Smith Apples alternating the potato. As you can see the two small custard like next to the garnish on top of the wagyu is actually a Wasabi Custard that is blended with Foie Gras. The wagyu is tender, flavorful but not too hard and it was one of my favorite dish of the night. I am swallowing my own saliva a couple of times by just looking at this picture now.

 
Hazelnut Praline M Sponge
After finishing our main course, we were surprised with a special pre dessert, Hazelnut Praline M Sponge. A combination of fluffy sponge of Valrhona Hazelnut Praline and Earl Grey Fluid Gel. Once again, they were very good in element of surprise by placing this dessert on a rock, by the way the rock is actually clean lah. Hahaha...

 
Reinterpreted Concorde
Finally, we ended our course dinner with a Sweet Ending - Reinterpreted Concorde. This dessert consist of Caramelized White Chocolate Namelaka, Green Tea Meringue, Violet-Raspberry Gel and Hibiscus Confit. According to Chef Eugene, this is actually their reinterpretation of the famous dessert Concorde which is created to celebrate the plane named Concorde. The 12 hours caramelized white chocolate has turned into a Namelaka. To contrast the creaminess, a green tea meringue and dallops of violet raspberry gel with hibiscus confit. After hearing about the effort of 12 hours caramelized white chocolate, we dug into the dessert immediately and found that this is a very pleasing and cooling dessert that you just can't stop eating although we had quite a few dishes before that. This is indeed a wonderful sweet ending for me.

 
Chips & Dips
A bag of “chips” our way, welcomes diners with personalized name printing on the bag. Served with a homemade Chipotle in Adobo dip. I find that the chips were a little too salty for my taste bud and the dip has a bbq sauce like taste. We were informed by Chef Eugene that the saltiness of the chips are to open up our taste buds. I think it does works on some people but definitely not to me.

Prices for this Course Dinner as below:-

RM 155++ 4 Course Dinner
• Chef’s Special
• Choose 1out of Appetizer, Soup or Starter
• Intermezzo
• Choice of Mains
• Dessert

RM 185++ 5 Course Dinner
• Chef’s Special
• Choose 2 out of Appetizer, Soup or Starter
• Intermezzo
• Choice of Mains
• Dessert

RM 215++ 6 Course Dinner
• Chef’s Special
• Appetizer
• Soup
• Starter
• Intermezzo
• Choice of Mains
• Dessert
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tajima Wagyu Tenderloin
 
Date of Visit: Jul 13, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM200(晚餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0