OpenRice Index
  
wmlwong
This is wmlwong living in Kuchai Lama. I work in Kuala Lumpur City Center. I like to hang out in Kuala Lumpur City Center, Puchong Jaya, Bandar Sunway. Korean, Japanese, Malaysian are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant, Kopitiam, new restaurants in particular and Seafood, Mixed rice, Dim sum, japanese food.
Member 46 First(s)
No. of Review401 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity1965 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1120 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant7 My Restaurant(s)
Follow124 Following
粉絲2876 Follower(s)
wmlwong  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 401 Reviews in Malaysia
Delectable dessert Smile Nov 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Stall / Warung | Desserts

Ahem! Most of the times, once we used NSE (North South Expressway), without fail, we would stop by at Ipoh town for a tea break in the morning or early afternoon. This year itself, I have stopped by had it 4 times so far. There will be another round coming in the December 2013.

This drive-through stall with no dining tables and chairs available is known to all that it serves very good Tau Fu Fa (bean curd dessert) (TFF).

We usually have 2 bowls of TFF to our satisfaction 'cos they served in small bowl with affordable price. tongue

The appearance of the TFF is like all others and they served no fancy sugar. Business is good and selling like hot cakes each day. You would see the crowd is a row of cars lining up to get their TFF, a Drive-through concept. But I have also seen consumers enjoying the TFF in their own car before they drove away.

Texture of the TFF was certainly silky smooth. Once it's got onto my tongue, it's immediately sliding down into my throat. If u wish to taste the TFF slowly in each scoop, ensure your tongue is flexible to hold it, it is just too slippery.tongue

This bouncy TFF that best to consume when it served warm. The freshness of the TFF and the taste of soya beans. I usually ask for less sugar to enjoy the purity of the TFF.

The best time to go is during its business opening hours at 11am. Usually, the TFF will finish by early afternoon say, around 3pm. Whilst stock last!

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately RM1(下午茶)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Roasted Suckling Piglet Smile Nov 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood

Oh! Heavenly Roasted Suckling Piglet..... It has been too long for me to find the taste that I always had way back in my hometown Kampar.

Now, I found this long lost taste at Gold Dragon City Seafood Restaurant in PJ. Before I elaborate further on the food, let's give a short intro of the restaurant.

My 2nd visit to this restaurant. It is indeed an older restaurant which I believe they still survive till today due to its quality of food & price affordability.

I could see they have a lot of loyal customers with them. A lot of elderly having their family gathering, celebrations etc. The restaurant can only accommodate up to roughly 10-12 round tables (min. 6 - 12 pax). Do not expect too much on the ambience & first class service. smile

Parking is not an issue. There are open parking bays available at the Giant Supermarket which is located just opposite the restaurant. Just a min walk to the restaurant from the open parking across the street.

Now, come to the taste. It was almost to fat free of this crispy skin piglet which came up the top in the list of our 9-course meal. It was non oily and done it so well inside out. In appearance, golden brown colour dish that made everyone got attracted to the dish. As you know piglet, hardly has much meat to enjoy but only a thin layer pork meat beneath the skin and it was not salty until we could not taste the original pork meat. The pork meat was tender and fresh. Due to its freshness, I enjoyed bit by bit without the dipping. Love the crispy texture a lot smile

Best!

Best!

 
 
Date of Visit: Mar 02, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Recommended Dessert Smile Nov 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant | Steaks / Chops | Noodles | Nasi Lemak

Cendol, cost RM7.90++.

Quite sometime I never visited Madam Kwan's & not like I like to go frequently but out of limited choices.

I always think, paying that kind of price for hawker food is a bit outrageous. One thing I must praise the owner for having good business development skill who are smart to have their outlets located strategically.

For tourists, if they really care about the ambience, Madam Kwan's is certainly a good choice to be recommended. I do agree they served above average taste of hawker/local food. In terms of quality, she can't beat the authenticated places, say about Cendol, I still find the best found in Melaka & Penang.

Talking about having a nice, not the best yet in town, Madam Kwan's is so far I would rate the highest compared to most of the local dessert stalls I have tried so far.

These days, you can't simply find quality food, mostly you would see is the appearance in terms of presentation but they have forgotten about the main point is still fall back to the taste & quality.

Madam Kwan's Cendol served with real taste of gula melaka, definitely not syrup. The portion can be shared by two persons being a small eater. They served generously the gula melaka.
Dessert

Dessert

 
 
Spending per head: Approximately RM8(其他)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Japanese delights Smile Nov 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Desserts


According to its FB, described "Sweet delights made from glutinous rice flour, pure extraction of fruits, kidney bean and fresh cream"

I am a Mochi lover. I have been seeing one of the stalls at Tokyo Street, Pavilion. Stopped by the stall a few times but never attempted one as I worried on the sweetness.

One fine day, we saw a new outlet, a bigger Kiosk located at the centre of The Gardens. They displayed their products so exclusively like a piece of precious jewel.tongue

Due to many flavours in the list with different prices, taken us quite awhile to choose one. Finally we decided to try their signature item that is Sakura, cost RM4/piece.

You are advised to thaw your mochi for 10 minutes before consumption as it has been kept in the chiller cabinet that set in a lower temperature.

My first bite, the Mochi was certainly soft in texture and chewy... this is the kind of feeling that I fancy Mochi in particular.

Then my next concern was the filling, whether it would be very sweet, but it's not... I have not tasted Sakura before, hence, what I could taste is of mixture of flower tea fragrance while at the middle of the filling, the white in colour is more like fresh cream to me (luckily it was not the condensed milk). All mixed it in the mouth gave the presence of flower tea & milky taste. It's delectable! tongue

Well, I will return very soon to try their best seller items. smile

Japanese Delights

Japanese Delights

 
Japanese Delights

Japanese Delights

 
 
Spending per head: Approximately RM4(其他)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood

A medium size restaurant lot with wooden dining tables & chairs. It has only 2 round tables which can accommodate up to 10 diners. 5 smaller dining tables fit up to maximum of 6 pax and the rest are small dining tables that fits to 3 pax at the most.

It is a place for tea lovers & health conscious diners.

Their food are simple & affordable in price as well as the portion. They only served green tea rice. Every single dish has the content of tea.

Rose Egg Custard, revised cost to RM5, (last seen in Feb 2013 was about RM3+only). It served in a chinese tea cup with cover.

Only in my third visit I got to try this wonderful dessert. In my previous visit, the waitress told me that this item is not available daily. I specifically ordered to serve me after my main meal 'cos egg custard is good to consume while it is warm.

Taste of tea fragrant but not entirely covered the presence of the egg custard. Texture of the egg custard was indeed smooth & soft. Sweetness level was up to my liking.

The portion is just nice for one person consumption.

I would give a rating of 9/10.

 

 

 
 
Spending per head: Approximately RM5(下午茶)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0