OpenRice Index
  
bittermansguide
This is bittermansguide .
Member 31 First(s)
No. of Review57 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity33 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos146 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant57 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲11 Follower(s)
bittermansguide  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 45 Reviews in Malaysia
A Nice Change Smile Jul 14, 2020   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles

The promise of Malaysian-ramen wafted through the computer screen. Pan Mee? With bacon? And egg? Sign me up. I followed the grab driver all the way to this small shopfront, walked in, people turned and looked at me in that odd "what the heck is he doing here" way, ordered, sat down and sipped on my ice-coffee. 

Of all the bowls of late this wasn't the best, or the worst. The broth was decent, but definitely encouraged greater respect after dumping some chilli paste in. The noodles were pretty standard, the "bacon" was a salty addition and the egg held a deep Chinese spice marinade which was quite delicious.

Overall not a meal that you should smash down the doors to enjoy, but definitely worth trying if you have the time and stomach space.

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 15, 2020 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good Laksa, Excellent Service Smile Jul 14, 2020   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian variety | Restaurant | Noodles

If there was an award for the sweetest owner/host in Penang, it would surely go to the lady here. Everyone is welcomed in a really kind, considerate way, her manner is so gentle and friendly, and luckily enough for us the food is also really good.

They do a couple of different Laksa, I only managed to try the Lemak Laksa because of other obligations, but it was delicious and slightly different to the Asam Bowls i've eaten in town. The prawn crisp was dynamite!!

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Lemak Laksa
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 02, 2020 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Almost Great OK Jul 14, 2020   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Stall / Warung | Noodles

Anthony Bourdain made me do it!

When people mention local, it doesn't get much more local than this. Wrapped around the corner of Air Itam market, with a few tables clinging to the walls, a drinks stall and the laksa stall out in the open with the penetrating sun blinded by a few hanging plastic tarps. Sink your teeth into this ultra-fishy concoction only if you are a brave person. It's not for the faint-hearted, put it that way. I struggled to eat it at first, but it did grow on me. 

WARNING! ONLY FOR THE BRAVE

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 04, 2020 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Penang's Best Dosa! Smile Jul 14, 2020   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Restaurant

Not just another replica restaurant on the long drag of insufferable choices, this place actually delivers quietly. Entranced slightly behind the street level, braveness ensuing walk in boldy, grab a table, order a Masala Dosa and expect to be transported to Chennai. The sambar and chutney are outstanding, and the dosa is just right even tho on first inspection I had my doubts. Stay away from the ice coffee, it's like reduced coca-cola with sugar and milk in it, and extra sugar and then some extra caster sugar.

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Masala Dosa
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 09, 2020 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Penang's Best Ramen Smile Jul 14, 2020   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen/Udon/Soba

Suckerpunched by a bowl of soup? Today I was. 

Penang has Laksa and Curry Mee spots galore, but what I found severely lacking was a solid bowl of Ramen. I tried a couple places with no luck, and was on the verge of giving up when the fight to live returned. I commandeered a cab, hurtled north, walked around the block a few times waiting for it to open, was told by the waitress "It's salty so if you want it less salty order with extra broth". I reassured her it was ok. I was right. This was top notch ramen. Everything, except perhaps the slightly dry-chewy pork, was on point.

You could easily find worse ramen than this in Tokyo, or anywhere in Japan for that matter. This is well made, and well balanced and bloody delicious.

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ramen
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 16, 2020 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0