OpenRice Index
  
bittermansguide
This is bittermansguide .
Member 31 First(s)
No. of Review57 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity33 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos146 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant57 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲11 Follower(s)
bittermansguide  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 45 Reviews in Malaysia
Half-Decent OK Jul 14, 2020   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Restaurant | Vegetarian | Group/Family dining

Ostrasized from the main flock down a side-street, avoiding the majority of tourist dollars, means this place has to deliver to keep the locals happy. The two times i've been in, they've always been packed so something must be right. To be fair most people have been eating dishes other than dosa's, so my judgement of the entire place doesn't rest on one dish. However, this is a dosa competition and theirs was smack bang in the middle. 

A good dosa but too greasy, reminding me of more Karnataka style than Tamil Nadu. A solid sambar, and chutneys but lacking the wow factor.

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 12, 2020 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles | Dim sum | Sweets/Snack

The jury's out on this place. Regarded highly by all the locals I talked to, I went and was rather underwhelmed.

Yes they are super busy until closing, with a line of people waiting for take-away also, however I found everything was alright but nothing was exceptional.

The dim sum was all a bit on the gloopy side, and not really that flavoursome. Nothing memorable, but I guess an ok place to quell your cravings.

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 22, 2020 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Archetypal South Indian OK Jul 14, 2020   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Restaurant | Noodles

I told my local shopkeeper I'd been to Veloo Villas and it wasn't as good as I expected. He chuckled and reported proudly "It used to be best dosa in town, but new owner and cook, not same". 

That makes perfect sense, the dosa was decent, but not close to being amazing. Sure the price is unbeatable and the service is friendly but better dosa's are to be found barely 100 meters away.

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 18, 2020 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Solid, Solid Indian Food Smile Jul 14, 2020   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Restaurant | Noodles | Mixed rice

Usually my first stop on any trip to Penang, this Georgetown royalty serves excellent banana leaf's to hallways jammed with smiles. If you're in the mood for something else they do a great masala dosa, but it's not the best in town. 

Super cheap, super delicious and always packed with revellers, this is a MUST SEE spot in Penang.

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Banana Leaf
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 04, 2020 

Spending per head: Approximately RM12(午餐)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Middle of the Road OK Jul 14, 2020   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Restaurant | Vegetarian

This place is one in a long list of spots for Indian food in Penang.

They have their good sides, but I was here for a dosa and that did disappoint. There are FAR better places down the road to get your fill for the same price. However, I heard on good authority that their Thali's are solid, so next time i'm around i'll go for one.

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 01, 2020 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0